Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
31
Price:$29.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 28 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 31 reviews
on October 3, 2015
This Protoman is indeed very cool, like the Megaman. There are a lot of spare parts, which the manual does not really say about it.
If you want it 100% colored, you'll have to use some color on this one. The back side of the Protoman's head has some green color if I recall, this one is purely red.
It is very nice for collection, and like Megaman, it has those annoying break dots that appears when you snap the piece from the frame.
Anyway, I like it. And it is a recommended buy.
review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2015
Great model kit. Doesn't even really need too much paint if you don't feel like painting it. The shield is the only part I would suggest painting, and a pot of black will be most of the color you need. The scarf also does well from a paint job. Lots of great parts, good price, easy to put together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2011
This was the second model kit I purchased from Kotobukiya's Mega Man / Rockman line, I had already built Mega Man( Kotobukiya Mega Man: Rockman Plastic Model Kit ), and I purchased Roll( Kotobukiya Mega Man: Roll Plastic Model Kit a short time after I bought Protoman. For those unfamiliar with this style of model kits, the majority of the pieces come on plastic sprues, and you need to cut out the pieces and assemble them according to instructions. I recommend using small wire cutters for removing pieces from the sprues and either an x-acto knife or sanding paper to file down the excess bits of plastic as needed. This kit took about an hour to assemble, and it looks really good. It is a little meticulous for those unused to the kind of kit, but it really pays off.

The first thing longtime Mega Man fans will appreciate about this kit is the size - it stand about 5.5 inches tall. I also have the Mega Man 8 Bandai Proto Man kit from the late 90's, and he only measures up at around 3.5 inches. This kit has a much more durable look to it simply based on the size. Now let's talk accessories. Protoman comes includes three different face plates - a smiling face, an annoyed face, and a signature "whistle" face. They're a little tricky to switch out because you use the same visor each time, instead of removing the entire face section, but its not too bad. He comes with three pairs of hands, an open hand, a clenched fist, and a hand to hold the E-Tank. The E-Tank is the only part of the kit I'm not crazy about, it's a dark grey color that is obviously not the correct color, and you have to use a wet-apply decal to actually put the "E" on it. However, I don't display him holding the E-Tank anyway, so it doesn't bother me. He also includes the Proto Buster, which easily switches out with either normal forearm piece. Finally, he has his shield, which doesn't look superb(all bright red plastic on the inside), but is held easily in a hand or attaches to his back no problem. If the coloring really feels off to people, they always have the option to paint the kit after assembly, and I'm just not that concerned about it looking perfect. The instructions do include a recommended color guide for those interested in the painting outlet, though. Finally, there is a pretty neat translucent yellow energy shot which can attach to the tip of the Buster Cannon.

Overall a great model kit! Joints are solid, posability is great for a plastic kit, and it looks really good with no additional work after assembly. Please note that I only gave the kit 3/5 stars for durability because, although this is pretty impressive for what I've come to expect from plastic kits, it is a model kit first, action figure second, and needs to be treated appropriately. This is something for collectors/serious enthusiasts, not kids. Check out the photo which I will upload shortly after this review with all three of the currently available Rockman/Mega Man kits.
review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2017
This figure comes with a lot of accessories, all directly referencing the abilities Protoman used in the Megaman series.
Protoman himself is relatively easy to build and is very flexible, allowing for a variety of poses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
I had never built a model kit before, and I didn't really look into this product much before hand because I was SO EXCITED for a Proto figure! The model kit is very easy to put together thanks to photo instructions and its absolutely gorgeous, the materials are sturdy and I felt so accomplished after. If you're a fan of Megaman, I highly recommend getting Protoman for your collection!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2013
Loved putting this together! So-detailed; it was insane to see how all these parts would make the famous Protoman. I would definitely like to get Megaman/Roll if they weren't so jacked-up in price. Regardless, I managed to get one of the last Kotobukiya Protoman Model Kits. I'm very happy with this purchase. Shipped literally over-night and had nothing wrong with it. Thanks Amazon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2015
By far my favorite character in the series, Protoman is molded very well. The plastic model kit was easier to follow after having put Mega Man together, though I can see where there would be some confusion as the instructions were not in English. Still, the finished piece, while still slightly fragile, is wonderful. Very poseable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2016
I just finished building Protoman and it was a lot of fun! The pieces are easy to detach from the runners and the kit is also easy to assemble.

I'm really happy with how the figure turned out, I look forward to building Mega Man too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
This was extremely fun to put together. I really liked the final product.

From the display it looks great, but if you get too close you can see small spots where the pieces were taken out of form the plate, but I am sure those can be masked or even rid of, I am a newbie at model kits and wouldn't know.

Overall I am extremely satisfied.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
While I'm a big megaman/rockman fan, there's just a little left to be desired even for Protoman.

Construction of the model will take barely an hour if you build him straight up. But if you want him truly accurate to not only the box display but to videogame art work you'll need to paint him in several areas.

To get the best results just get a small detail brush, a little tape to seal off areas you don't want colored and maybe just a bit of primer.

By half the day you'll have a really good looking and accurate representation of such an iconic figure in the video game industry.

But on a down side, do becareufl with areas such as the shoulders as they can explode into pieces just like his Megaman counter part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here