Customer Reviews: Jan Marini Lash Eyelash Conditioner, 0.25 Fluid Ounce
Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Halloween Candy Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship LoveandFriendship  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle for Kids Edition Elvis Presley Shop Cycling on Amazon STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 11, 2009
RevitaLash - Eyelash Conditioner- BRAND New, Sealed.

I was using the "old" formulation of Jan Marini Eyelash Conditioner. It really improved my short, sparse, light lashes. I actually grew an extra row of lashes behind my original lashes, and it filled in spots where I had lost lashes due to eye surgery. An amazing product.

I recently purchased the new formula that Jan Marini has put on the market to replace the "old." It does nothing, nothing, nothing! I was puzzled, so I actually looked up each ingredient on the box. They were all some type of conditioner. None of the ingredients had anything to do with lash growth.

So, that explains it. The old formula contained an pharmaceutical ingredient (for glaucoma), that has a side effect of darkening and growing eyelashes. Marini did not have permission to use it, and it was seized and pulled off the market.

I bought the new formula, certain that it was true to Marini's claim that it would grow longer, darker, thicker lashes. I have been using it for six weeks, and really feel ripped off. It does not work!

I personally recommend that you do not waste your money on this new formula, unless your goal is to have softer lashes. It does not support lash growth of any kind.

Revitalsh has also re-formulated, but it is getting rave reviews. I think I'll put my money on that one! Do not buy this new Jan Marini!
55 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2008
I am a skincare guru. I've tried a lot of products with miracle claims. Most don't work and are a waste of money. I have never written a review but I believe this product deserves my time. I don't have long lashes and never have. I have thought about lash extensions, but the results are costly & temporary. I have dyed my lashes (had a reaction, all but 3 fell out). Lashes falling out is nothing new to me either. So with nothing to loose (except $120+) I purchased Jan Marini Age Intervention Eyelash Conditoner. Within one week, I noticed less eyelash shedding. Within three weeks, I observed virtually no shedding. Then we moved and I absentmindedly packed the eyelash conditoner. Within the next two weeks many of my lashes fell out and I had bald spots throughout. To say the least I was dissapointed and discouraged. I was sure I had bought another product with false claims. I unpacked and started to use the product again (with no expectations). The same results as the first time appeared (no more lashes falling out). Then after a month they began to look thicker, then longer. Now at two months I am amazed at the transformation. With mascara they look fake (which is a good thing). Today, I am purchasing brown mascara to tone down the dramatic lashes and another tube of Jan Marini. Skincare tip: TNS Recovery
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2008
I didn't think this would work--or at least not live up to the hype, but it is absolutely amazing. My natural lashes were blonde, sparse, thin, and short. I didn't feel comfortable leaving the house without carefully applied eyeliner and mascara, and I'm not particularly vain. Enter Jan Marini: after three weeks of nightly use, I could clearly see my lashes becoming thicker, and there were simply lots more of them. Where there used to be one "row", now there were layers starting to come in. The continued growth has been gradual but exciting. Now, at the completion of six weeks, my lashes are significantly longer, thicker, and I don't need liner to define the lash line. They are, however, still blonde, so I need mascara to show them off. I found that the texture of the lashes has also changed slightly, and a light mascara product (consistency, not color) works best. Dying the lashes would also give the desired effect. I still can't believe the results I've achieved in a few short weeks. Just be careful not to get the product in the eyes when applying, since there is obviously something potent in the formula and it hasn't been around long enough to determine long-term effects. I apply it like a liquid liner, being sure to get it right along the base of the lashes. A lighted magnifying mirror (the kind that sits on a table) is very helpful both for application and for monitoring progress.

Update 3/2009--my review, and I suspect others as well, was for the original Jan Marini Age Intervention Eyelash Conditioner-- NOT the new "Marini Lash" pictured above. I can't speak for the new one; the original was fantastic, but was discontined. Dermatologists carry a new prescription product by Allergan, but it is extremely expensive. Hopefully there will be more options down the road.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2010
I used the old formula of the Jan Marini eyelash conditioner--had fantastic results--eyelashes up into my eyebrows!! Everyone noticed. Just finished a tube of the new formula (5 months of daily application) and I am sad to say my old eyelashes are back, the thickness and length are gone :( I will not be buying this product again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2012
I purchased a years' supply of eyelash conditioner and received a product that expires in one month, therefore rendering the product useless and a waste of money. I didn't notice the expiration date until after I had opened it and the company refused to take it back...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2008
I am an avid false eyelash user. I have dark, short eyelashes and love the effect of having long, thick lashes. I contemplated getting extensions, but didn't want the costly hassel of going back every 3 months to reapply and touch up.

I ended up trying this out while working at a wellness center. I decided to be the guinea pig and we decided to note the changes. After 3 weeks of using this product nightly, we noticed that my lashes were getting fuller. I actually saw a new row of lashes sprouting. I was soooo excited that I tried to use this product in the morning and in the nightime one day... Big Mistake! I got a rash on my upper lids for a day. DO NOT USE MORE THAN RECOMMENDED!

I went back to my normal regime and love the way my eyelashes looked. No more false eyelashes for me and this tube lasted me a year.

You only need to apply to the upper lid like liquid liner because in the night, the product melts and get ditributed to the lower lashes as well.

My cousin used this product to grow back her eyebrows after a rigorous plucking session.

I will never be w/out this product!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2012
I never tried the old formula, so cannot compare the two.

My lashes had become super short and pale, giving me a ghostly look.

It took about 3-4 weeks for the results to kick in. I am about 3 months in now and my lashes are MUCH fuller and back to their original color. I went to put falsh eyelashes on for my Halloween costume and found I didn't need them after I applied mascara to the ones I now have.

I think this is the sort of thing that works for some and not for others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2008
My daughter and I were faithful users of the original Jan Marini formula and loved it! We've been using the new formula for several months and not only are our lashes not growing, but they seem to be weaker than ever. We've switched to the Talika eyelash conditioner which is only $40. and IT WORKS!!!!
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2011
I used this product EVERY DAY for 15 weeks and saw SOME improvement. I followed the directions to the letter, and finally I could curl the lashes on my left eye for a bit more definition. I also had to use a lash-building mascara to get these results. Not sure if I'll buy more. Maybe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
The tubes are almost empty. There is almost no serum on the wand when it is pulled out of the tube. I have used this product in the past (and liked it) and those wands were very wet when pulled out and the product lasted the amount of time specified. I've only used these two weeks and it is practically empty.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here