Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Foo Fighters PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 362 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 381 reviews
on November 4, 2014
Had high hopes for these shoes. They looked perfect for casual dress for work, no obnoxious logos visible on the shoe. They fit well and felt ok until a huge crease formed above the toes right in front of the tongue.(see attached picture). I read some of the other reviews and found a few others that mentioned a crease or wrinkle in the same spot. It is very uncomfortable, constantly rubbing the top of my foot and irritating the hell out of me. Its worse when you are driving and putting on brake or gas, when shoe bends at front of shoe it makes it even worse. Never had a shoe do this before. Well I wore them for one work week and I cant take it any more, back they go. If it wasn't for the obnoxious crease I would have been very happy with these. Hopefully the Brooks Addictions I'm waiting on are better.
review image
22 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2012
They are comfortable shoes. But I was asked to stop wearing them by coworkers, because they squeek with every step.... loudly. As in they can hear me coming from the other side of the lab. The leather does pop when I'm not on Tile floors, but I suspect that stops after the shoes are sufficiently broken in. However, the squeeking has gotten louder since day one. I would suggest buying them if you don't spend your work days on polished tile floors. These will replace my old running shoes for running errands.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2012
I bought this product last November to have a stockpile (already using 2 pairs). Last night I took them out to put them into service. The fit is good, exactly what was expected. (narrow "b" and size 14, one over my normal measured size as NB shoes have tended to run short). They look good and fit well but I immediately noticed they are squeaking even more than new shoes usually do. The right one makes a regular popping sound that could be a problem within the sole itself. I hope this goes away. I count on this shoe exclusively to wear at work and at home. It would be a real disappointment if they don't improve. I was going to buy another pair this morning, but am holding off until I see how these new ones are doing. This is my first pair since the re-design over a year ago. In the past changes have meant improvements in the sole and finish. I don't know about this one yet. I'm stuck for the moment as I have to have something to wear immediately. I wrote to NB about the issue and will pass on the response when received. ---- Just received this tip from New Balance:

"I'm so sorry that your 706's are squeaking abnormally. Often what alleviates this problem is to take out the (liner) and put in a little baby powder. The powder helps work the air out in a couple of days. Hopefully, this will work for you. If not, please let me know, and we'll find a different solution."
66 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2014
I've become quite a fan of New Balance sneakers and so when looking for a new pair of shoes for work, I was really excited to see that New Balance offered not only a set of oxfords but a set of postal-certified oxfords. The price was good and the reviews were generally good. I purchased the item and hoped for the best.

I like the style and the fit first thing in the morning. They're really comfortable then, much more so than my uniform oxfords any day. These shoes fit as expected, as I have come to understand that New Balance shoes run a bit smaller than other manufacturers. I ordered one half size larger and have a good fit. The shoes squeaked up a storm when new which went away with time. Previous NB shoes required the talc trick to quiet them. These shoes also squeak up a storm on the cheap "school-safe" wax that many public institutions are now using. This does not go away and it's almost a joke when the floors are wet or its damp outside. I gave serious consideration to going around in my socks, it was that noisy.

I find the tongue padding to be a bit thin and as a result, the laces tend to grind on my upper foot. I can't wear this shoe more than two days in a row without discomfort in that area. Moleskin padding helps a bit but not much. The forefoot padding is also somewhat thin and I've found forefoot pain after a few days wear as well. Finally, these shoes tend to be a bit hot on my feet, almost as if they had synthetic uppers, which they apparently do not.

I alternate these shoes with several other marginal pairs and have good success and comfort that way. It's even in keeping with advice heard about alternating shoes so that you don't wear the same pair two days in a row. That said, I would not buy a second pair.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2015
I thought I wore comfortable shoes, until I tried a pair of these on at a shoe store a few years ago. Now I'm hooked.
My Converse All Stars which were my favorite shoe for forty-five years have taken a back seat to these.
Being as New Balance started as an aftermarket insole manufacturer, the comfort, and support is as good as it gets.
After having a life altering accident where I lost a leg some years ago, I've found I can't use just any shoes.
These give my prosthetic leg more stability than any other shoes I've tried, and the list is long, and full of quality name brands.
The quality of the shoe is unsurpassed. I wear them daily, doing farm work, and a pair will last me two or three years.
Others gave up in nine months to a year. As long as New Balance keeps making them in the U.S.A., I'll keep buying them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
Work for the USPS and am up on my feet more often than not.These shoes are light weight and supportive.Fit for me is true to size.These are the only brand of shoes I've worn since I started working for the Postal Service.Happy with these shoes.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2015
These USA made walking shoes strike the right balance between casual and work. I work in IT and while we are allowed to wear jeans and a polo, I often still find myself wearing dress pants and a button up shirt. These aren't the kind of shoes you'd wear to a dance or if you were meeting the CEO, but they are just dressy enough to be good for my day to day job. Aside from coming in wide widths, I really like these shoes for the soft leather like material. Most dress shoes even with the correct width are too stiff for my liking and I've spent years seeking out something that's dressy but also comfortable and work site appropriate.

Wearing these shoes 5 days a week, year round, they seem to last about a year before the bottoms start to wear thin. They are still usable, but I tend to like to replace them each year. The one downside to the softer leather like material is that it easily scuffs and scrapes, especially at the end where your toes are. So be prepared to buy some shoe polish to minimize the scuffed appearance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
I've been using New Balance for the last 6 years or so and I normally take a size 8 2E for most of their athletic shoes. This is my first pair of walking shoes from them. The first pair that came in were much too big. My foot slid around from front to back, so they went back and I ordered size 7.5 2E. This pair fit much better, but I sometimes wonder if there is still too much space at the toe box. I was concerned that size 7 would be too small and I'd have to send it back and start all over again.

So far I've been wearing these everyday and they are comfortable, but they do squeek on some tile floors. The really loud squeaking from when I first started wearing these shoes went away after the first few days as the soles of the shoes broke in, but there is still some squeak depending on the surface you are walking on.

UPDATED: I eventually decided to purchase size 7 and these fit perfectly where as the 7.5 was a still a bit too big for me. I've been wearing them for about a year and I liked them so much I decided to get another pair. I was using Spenco PolySorb Heavy Duty in my previous pair, but decided to try Dr. Scholl's massaging gel Work insoles this time around. They fit great after cutting to size and these shoes are just really comfortable for all day use.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2014
I am on my feet for the better part of the workday, with a mixture of standing indoors and walking outdoors. I would rate these shoes 4 stars for comfort and overall construction, and they provide good traction in the rain. I deducted one additional star based on the following issues:

* The shoes developed a deep groove on top of the toe box just below the laces after about two wearings. (Take a shoe in hand and flex the toe about 45-60 degrees -- this is what the groove looks like when just standing). This happens with all shoes, but not to this extent. Doesn't affect the comfortableness of the shoe, but makes them unsuitable for a neat business casual look.
* My size 11-D pair runs a little short, more like a 10 3/4, which fits well for me but might be a problem for others.
* Had the squeaking issue that others have noticed, but eliminated the problem by applying a little saddle soap to the edges of the tongue.

Shoes are wearable, but definitely will be trying something else for my next pair.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
I find these shoes very comfortable and the solid black leather uppers do not draw attention to the feet as the multicolored styles of walking shoes that have large manufacturer emblems on the outside the shoe. The only thing I have discovered is the tongue of both shoes migrate from directly under the laces at the time I tie the laces to a position toward the outer side of each shoe after walking for a short while. I have not experienced any discomfort from this but have only owned these shoes for a week so I have very little experience with wearing them.
I want to correct my observation about the shoe tongue. Upon closer inspection, I discovered a portal in the center of the top of the tongue leather, that is obviously for threading the laces through, which is designed to keep the tongue centered. I am changing my rating to 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here