Industrial Deals Beauty Silent Corner STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Final Fantasy XIV Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on May 6, 2011
I purchased a pair of these for my hiking boots after the original laces wore out. As other reviewers have noted, the black laces are really a dark gray and not true black. I'm OK with that as they don't look bad in my black boots, but it might be an issue for those in uniform.

They are about half the thickness of the original laces and much stiffer. I've used them for a couple weeks so far and they're working well. They hold a good knot that doesn't undo and they don't seem to stretch much, so my boots don't loosen after a couple miles. I'll update this on how they're wearing after I've put a few months on them.

July 1, 2011 Update - I've used the boots these laces are in about 40 times so far with just over 150 miles of suburban park trails. They are now a very light gray (especially the sections that rub on the eyelets or speed hooks) but show no signs of real wear. Even when soaked, they still stretch very little which minimizes adjustments on the trail.

December 2011 Update - I just purchased a brown pair for my brown boots. The 63 inch laces are a perfect length for my Timberland boot Timberland Men's Chocorua Gore-Tex Hiker. These started as a medium chocolate brown but, as with my black laces, the color wears off, in this case exposing a light tan. Other than the color fade, the laces show no real wear and I expect them to outlast the boots they're in.

2014 Update - Both pair of laces are still working! Now called Ironlace, you can still get them here on Amazon: Ironlace Lace (1-Pair,9-10 eyelets). If these ever wear out or I get a third pair of boots, I'll pick up another pair.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
I have to wear steel-toed boots for work, and have for almost 6 years now. With all of my previous boots, the laces have just about lasted as long as the boot. (Usually just about a year) The latest pair I bought seemed to almost cut any boot laces I put in them within a couple months. After buying a couple of replacement laces and not having them last too long, I found these ArmorLace Boot Laces on here with some pretty positive reviews. So I decided to take a chance and see if these laces would work better. Well, it's been almost 5 months now and these laces have done well so far. There's some wear on them where the other laces were being cut, but it's not damaged these ArmorLace laces to the point of them failing. In fact, I'm about ready to replace these boots with a new pair, and I'm pretty confident that these laces will still be around!

So, if you're looking for some high quality boot laces that are tougher than normal laces, these will definitely do the job. They are stiff at first, but once you break them in they are just as flexible as normal laces. I was hesitant with their higher price, but I would have probably spent almost the same amount with regular replacement laces at the rate I was going.

UPDATE, November 2014: I wore the boots that I used these laces on for about a year at work and they were great, never frayed or broke. I've been using them the last couple of years when I'm doing yard work on the weekends and the laces are still solid. They did get a lot less stiff with wear and tear and they do show some wear in the places they'd rub on the boots, but they are still as strong as when I first got them. I'm finally to the point of throwing out the boots. lol. But you better believe I'm keeping these laces in case I get another stubborn pair of boots!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2011
I bought these laces for my husbands work boots because I was tired of buying shoe laces every other week. He wears his boots everyday for work and likes to tie his boots very tight. As a result regular boots laces, break in only a couple of days. So we "upgraded" to Kevlar laces. These laces ranged in price from $7-$15 per pair and they only lasted a month!
Finally, fed up, I did some research and found the ArmorLace. My husband laced up with these laces almost two months ago and other then being dirty, they look brand new! He says hes never been able to tie his boots tighter and he loves the extra length that 72in laces provide him. I have since bought ArmorLaces for all the boots in the house and even purchased a "back-up" pair. But I don't think I'll need to use them :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2011
These laces are going to last you forever. You can tell the second you open the package that they're virtually indestructible. I'm certain that they'll last me through several pairs of work boots.

There's only one problem with them; as mentioned by other reviewers, the Kevlar fiber itself is white, and has been coated with a black coating. This coating is far less durable than the Kevlar, and begins to wear off immediately. I fixed this by purchasing two of those honking huge Sharpies, and staining each lace black (time consuming, messy, but worth the trouble). The stain from a sharpie seems to soak into the fiber and stay.

Once they figure out how to keep the laces black, this will be a 5-star product, for sure.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2011
Well, if I die with my boots on, it'll be with these laces. They're sturdy. I dropped a star, because they're ugly. I replaced the new, too-short laces that came with the hiking shoes, and hated to downgrade the total appearance of the shoe.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
The laces for my Hi-Tech Magnums tend to die within several months of ownership. Honestly, I'm just not sure what damage and abuse I put them through, but they don't hold up.

The Armorlace laces are solid, durable and feel like a tiny corded steel ropes. You can feel the quality the moment you open them. As others have said, they're not black and are more of an ashy gray color. That said, if you can live with that and need laces that can take the abuse (and then some) they live up to their name.

On the downside, given their durability, they don't tend to flex much and are somewhat rigid. As such, if you hold onto them too tightly and the laces slip through your fingers when tying your shoes... it's one hell of a rug burn. Just saying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2012
I've had these laces for a few months now and other than a very slight bit of fade where they rub on the eyelets of my boots they are like new!
I've had them in the rain, mud, dust, sand and so on with no fear of breaking which is important when dealing with rough terain long walking hunts.
The laces I had prior to these were broken in less than three months so for my ArmorLaces to still be going strong kind of speaks for its self.

I would recommend them to anyone.

They do cost a bit more than other laces but in the long run they are way cheaper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2011
I have owned these boot laces a little less than a month but I can tell you that they are superior to the previous laces I have used. I have a pair of Danner USMC Rat Boots and I use the 72" Black Armorlace laces with them. The combination is unbeatable. The people that are posting the laces aren't really black must be really picky. They are very close to black and only get a little grayed in the area where you are pulling them through loops. As a boot lace I find this completely acceptable, and do not care about the color issues (if you consider it one).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2011
These laces cost you a pretty penny, but may be worth it.

I work in EMS and I wear black boots w/ tight metal lace connections. My boots have torn through many laces, but not these. These are strong enough to withstand the tension and metal scrapping of my boots.

On the other hand, I ordered these laces in black, but they are definitely not black. They are grey; not even a shade of grey that is anywhere near close to being black.

These are the facts I can give. You decide whether you still want to buy them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2011
I was looking for some replacement boot laces for a recently purchased pair of used boots. The laces in them were a little too short, and honestly the main reason I ordered these is because they were the only ones I could find on Amazon that were Prime and 96" long. After receiving them, I'm quite impressed. Number one reason being they are Made in the USA and have a lifetime guarantee--which is rare. The second reason I like them is the smaller diameter, it's much easier to secure in the hooks on my Danners. I will continue to support this company.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here