Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Vegemite (220 gram)
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now

Price:$6.66+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 25, 2011
I'm an American and had heard of, but never tried this stuff. Well thanks to the magic of the internet I decided that it was time to see what was up with all this Australian hoopla and get some for myself.

When it arrived, with much trepidation, I made some toast, added copious amounts of whipped margarine, and then carefully scraped a blob of Vegemite onto it and mixed it around. And then I ate it.

Its a very salty type stuff, with a flavor reminiscent of soy sauce and/or beef bullion, and maybe mushrooms. All I can think of is that this is like instant biscuits and gravy in a spreadable form.

Weird but kind of good. I'd get it again!
44 comments| 120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2010
I bought some Vegemite to send to friends in Chicago as part of an 'Aussie' gift package to send with my daughter who was staying with them when she came to the US. For Australians, Vegemite on toast is regarded as one of life's staples. We eat it for breakfast, after-school snacks and late night suppers. It's a cure-all when we're sick and great when we're hungover and can't face anything else. One note of caution - Vegemite is not designed to be spread thickly on toast - it has to be spread in a very thin, even layer, otherwise, it's unpalatable. Enjoy!
44 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
I was thrilled to find I could buy vegemite on Amazon. I'm an Aussie, been in the USA many years now and had the 'craving' for a lot of that time. Alas it's very hard to get here so I was amazed I could get it through Amazon. I bought 3x 220g jars for around $32 with free super saver shipping. Still very expensive compared to buying it off the shelves in Oz but it's worth it to me! My craving been sated finally.

Malty and salty, just the way I like it! It's primarily a breakfast spread that's great on toast but it can also be used as bullion cubes for cooking. It has consistency a little bit firmer than peanut butter but it's quite smooth to spread. I certainly love the stuff but it's an acquired taste, definitely. Keep it in the cupboard and not the fridge.

A US colleague of mine loves the stuff, because it reminds him of the tasty pan residue/drippings after cooking meat. Others I have let try it make such a screwed-up face you'd think I had given them sour warheads! Each to their own I guess.

Anyhoo... I will be buying it here from now on. Im a happy little vegemite =)

*UPDATE* I am on my last jar in the cupboard. The expiry date was some time in 2013, some 2 years out-of-date, but it's still just as good as the day I bought it. This stuff lasts a heck of a long time! If you're wondering why I stopped eating it to let it expire like that, well... sometimes you just gotta be in the mood for Vegemite. My mood has returned... haha! I need to stock up on some more now.

Ingredients: YEAST EXTRACT, SALT, POTASSIUM CHLORIDE, MALT EXTRACT(FROM BARLEY), COLOUR(E150d), CONTAINS PRESERVATIVE(SULPHUR DIOXIDE), VEGETABLE EXTRACT,(CONTAINS ONION, CELERY), NIACIN, THIAMINE, RIBOFLAVIN, FOLIC ACID.
review image
22 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
Oh baby, baby I love you, I love how you are an excellent source of vitamin B, how you put a rose in every cheek, how you're basically nothing but salt and the taste of yeast... Would that I had known how terrible it would be to be parted from you, forced to be with you only on sweet, american bread which is just so weird. If only I had brought more of you from home, I'd eat you by the spoonful even though I'm fairly sure that would eventually kill me.

I want to hold you in my arms again... Calll meeeeee....
55 comments| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
Of course I love it. My whole family loves it. But we are Australian and were raised on it from birth, almost. Scrape a little on a crust for babies. The thing to know is to use very little on some buttered toast, or bread.
I mean a scraping here and there, till you are used to the flavor. Then if you like it you can add a little more or not.
It is not sweet like Molasses, or Nutella, it is more like a beef stock flavor, so be prepared if you are new to Vegemite, and soon you may be eating it like a true Aussie!
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
Wondering what it tastes like from the jar? Like salty beef bullion with a hint of black Liquorice.
Wondering what it tastes like spread lightly on buttered toast? Like a heavy aged cheese spread with a slightly bitter taste. Thats why its delicious. I blasted through my first 220g jar in a week.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2014
Vegemite is condensed beer malt.
Amazingly, it tastes like a salty, condensed, beef extract.
The jar is small.
Uses are only limited to one's imagination.
UK residents use this as a breakfast spread with butter on bread.
I ate it with crackers.
I think that it would be delicious added to stewed beef or a roast.
After decades of wondering about this product, I'm glad that I finally tried it.
I would reorder this again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2010
The Kraft Vegemite definitely tastes better -- it has "depth" of flavor, compared to the other faux Vegemites like Marmite. I spread it on whole wheat matzoh (believe it or not) and love it on roasted unsalted almonds for a really good snack. I must be the only non-Aussie within 200 miles who has gone through several 220 gram jars of the stuff already! Love it!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2014
Not typical for the American taste buds. I had a jar sent to me from Oz by friends of my wife. Hated it at first. You spread lightly (at first) on buttered toast. I figured "hey, an entire continent loves this stuff I'm gonna keep eating it and figure out why". Glad I did. It's actually a yeast extract, a byproduct of brewing beer. That's what it reminds me of...a salty, toasty, breakfast beer. Mmm...Who could ask for more than that? I love this stuff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
I was very excited to receive this product having never tried it. It arrived on time and in perfect condition. However, im only giving this a 5 star rating for the arrival and quality. I cannot explain how hard this is to swallow. Some people say t's salty I wouldn't say that. It's kinda like bad beef jerky. This tastes AWFUL! WHY DO AUSTRALIAN'S EAT THIS? please don't try to tell me i''ll get used to it because nothing makes this better. Maybe it'll be different for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here