Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Save $20 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now SWMTVT18_gno



on January 5, 2011
This jacket is supposed to be waterproof, but after a while in even a drizzle it starts to absorb the water just like any other material. If this were actually waterproof then it would be AMAZING. I wear every now and again when I'm going to be outside for short amounts of time, it's good for that, but isn't much better than that.

I love the fact that it's packable, very easy to store in your car under the seat or a backpack. The hood packs into the collar so it's not in the way all the time, that's another awesome feature.

It's light and since the thickness is minimal I would recommend possibly getting a size larger to wear a sweatshirt under if your going to be wearing it in Fall weather.

LIke I said, this would be an awesome jacket, if it were waterproof. But without that important feature, this is nothing more than an expensive windbreaker. I would recommend spending a little more money in order to get better quality, that's the general rule isn't it?
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon January 7, 2012
Bought this Columbia Men's Cougar Peaks II Jacket in charcoal, as it seemed to be a decent three-season garment that would offer some protection from the elements. The main purposes for this jacket were for general wear, cycling in questionable weather, and as a jacket that could stow away comfortably and in a compact fashion so that I could stuff it into a camera bag for those occasions when an unexpected shower might hit.

Let's clear up one thing to start: I did not expect this lightweight jacket to be waterproof. That said, I did treat the inside seams with a seam sealer withing a few weeks after receiving it. Try McNett Seam Sealer or some similar products, but be sure that (1) you apply it to the inside seams only, and (2) that your product will work with nylon. If you're looking for a truly waterproof jacket, if there's such a thing, then look elsewhere. This one is water resistant, regardless of what might be claimed on some sites.

Pros:

* Extremely lightweight
* Machine washable (cold only)
* Decent stowaway hood in the collar
* Good main sipper that doesn't jam
* Pocket zippers close up - things less likely to fall out
* Adjustable elastic drawcord at the hem
* Rational styling, and the "Columbia" logo doesn't scream at you

Cons:

* Back shoulder vent cannot be closed when it's windy
* No armpit vents; not very breathable
* Seems to trap condensation

If you want to stay really dry, then look at the Columbia Men's Watertight Jacket or the Carhartt Men's Waterproof Breathable Acadia Jacket. These are examples, but you'll spend more than this one.

All things considered, didn't expect much for the price when I ordered it, but it's a fairly decent lightweight windbreaker that doesn't have much bulk, so it can be stowed away when necessary. If this is what you're looking for, then it's worth it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 14, 2012
This jacket is an "ok" model for occasional use and as long as your expectations are low. I bought this jacket to wear when I go to the shooting range. I don't like dressing up in tactical/camouflage type clothing and I needed a lightweight jacket to wear inside because the ventilation fans inside the range cause a constant breeze. Also, I didn't want to wear my more expensive gore-tex jackets because after shooting you should wash your clothes to get rid of the chemicals, all the constant washing would wear out the DWR in my gore-tex jackets (I go shooting 2-3 times a month).

Overall the jacket has done an acceptable job for the price.

The main issue as others have mentioned is that the jacket just does not breath well (particularly in the arm area.) Once you start doing anything remotely rigorous, you will start feeling the moisture building up inside of it. Keep in mind I normally wear this jacket with the front open and the moisture still builds up.

I would definitely NOT take this jacket hiking or use it for an extended amount of time outdoors. Like others have said, if you were caught out in a rain storm this jacket would not be of much use since the seams are not taped. When I go hiking I take a gore-tex type jacket with me that has adequate ventilation and water resistance.

I'll continue to wear the jacket a few times a month though, and it's not that bad as long as you don't expect too much out of it given the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 4, 2013
It is what it seems to be, a very light, medium quality wind breaker.

CONS There is an inner lining, very thin though, it also kind of sticks to the skin if you get too warm.

PROS Has a nice cinch for the waist,
all pockets are zippered,
nice left side chest pocket.
Hood stays in collar very discreetly.
If you need layers, a single long sleeve T shirt combined with this jacket/and or hat would be very effective.
If you need just a light wind breaker to cut the breeze, its works fine.
Very light and would packet very small.

Exactly what I was looking for. You can get cheaper ones but they are not Columbia fit and finish.
A GOOD CHOICE FOR ME.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 28, 2010
I have only one complaint about this jacket and that is the mesh lining does not fully cover the back of the jacket, otherwise it is the perfect outerwear when for cool to warm temperatures. It will not do in a torrential downpour but anything less it stands up to water. It breathes well for tough hikes when your body warms up but the weather is wet and cool. I have had it a few weeks, and it worn it in as cool ast 48 degrees and as warm as 72 comfortably. This is not a winter or hot summer jacket. The shell is lightweight. It looks very nice and fashionable but durable and well made.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 24, 2012
First off, I'll say that overall I'm pleased with the purchase. However, I expected better wind protection. Not good even when layering in temperatures below 45 fahrenheit with moderate wind. I like that it is very waterproof and fits really well. I have short arms and it isn't a problem. Zipper is good overall. It is really loud or noisy at first but will become quieter with wear. The stitching is shoddy. May be reason for relatively low price. There are loose threads though out and patterns are sometimes obviously a corrected mistake.

I would only recommend this product for light backyard duty or early fall errands in the rain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2012
My sons each needed a waterproof, breathable, packable jacket that could be worn in warmer weather for active use. Specifically backpacking, golf, fishing, and kayaking. The Cougar Peaks II seemed fit the criteria, so I bought two. So far it's turned out to be a great purchase.

Pros: very lightweight, packs into a small bag when weight and space are issues. Fits very well even when bundled up underneath for cold weather. Very comfortable. Upper back section is mesh lined (would be nicer if entire body was mesh lined). Good price.

Cons: In a downpour, the waterproof capability is not as good as a top-line Columbia jacket I own (but being damp underneath is still better than being soaked!)

Would highly recommend!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2011
This jacket is rugged, and well made. I was stuck in a rainstorm on the ocean, and was glad to have this jacket on. It's light as a windbreaker, but 10x more waterproof. This is great for warm climates where a heavy raincoat would be way too hot. You can layer clothes underneath if it's cold.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 31, 2010
I purchased this as a gift for my brother. He wanted a wind breaker. He is hot natured and wanted something light with no insulation. He loved it. He also liked the fact that it had a hidden hood that you can unzip from the back. These run true to size no need to go smaller or bigger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 9, 2014
I have been complemented many times with these and personally absolutely Love Them! Fit perfect and solid construction. Wish them cam polarized, Id pay more but the lens are great quality and vision is good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here