Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 45 reviews
on June 12, 2012
Like most have said, definitely order up one size. I wear a 46 jacket and a normal XL t-shirt fits me nicely. I do not wear "athletic fit" clothing. I wear middle-aged man clothing. (i.e., spare tire fit.) I bought an XXL in this shirt. The shirt is not baggy, but is comfortable and will definitly cover up my farmers tan and keep me from bursting into flames at the beach or on the river. If you really want baggy, go up two sizes. I would have given the shirt four stars, but I realized that the snug fit in the middle was caused by Milwaukee, St. Louis or Golden Colorado (take your pick,) not O'Neill.
88 comments| 167 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 24, 2013
I've had this rash guard for over a year and with no special care It's held up fairly well although it's gotten a little stretched out and there's some yellowing around the collar. I wouldn't buy a white rash guard (of any brand) again because of yellowing. This rash guard is fine as a beach shirt or for casual swimming but it's not for doing laps because of it's loose fit. It fits like a t-shirt and it will drag you down. Also, loose rash guards look pretty silly when paired with a tight swimsuit. So if you want a rash guard for casual use then this is a great option but if you're going to do laps I recommend the Quicksilver All Time rash guard because it's form fitting.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
This shirt saved my life.

I've been bullied by the sun most of my life. It follows me around, waiting for opportunities to exploit my weaknesses. I can't think of one day that's gone by in all my years that the sun hasn't been there, even if it was hiding behind the clouds, waiting for the right moment. It really burns me how he thinks he can get away with it all.

Then I got this shirt.

Take that, sun. I've gone on a caribbean cruise, played in the sweltering midwest US heat, and ran with teenagers at summer camp....all while laughing at the suns' lame attempts at pushing me around. I will not be bullied any longer. I will go outside and play with people who enjoy summer weather. I will not cower any longer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2014
These O'Neill tops are the best but can be difficult to size. I think one of the reasons reviews here vary on sizing advice is that several different O'Neill styles have been grouped together.

The solid black, white, royal blue, and graphite tees are style 3402-093 with 89% polyester and 11% elastane. As a guy with a 34" waist and 40" chest, the large royal blue was a good fit: comfortable on land, a little snug so as to hold shape in the water, but not so tight as to define every pore.

The Burgundy solid and Heathered Comp Stripe are not style 3402 but rather 4326SD-Z05 and 4326SD-B-Q76 respectively with 93% polyester and 7% elastane. They are part of O'Neill's Graphic tee line, are a little less huggy, and have a woven, synthetic feeling, quick dry texture rather than the 3402's smooth spandex one. I wear a medium in this style's burgundy and I wouldn't call it snug..

I've not ordered any composite color tees so I am not sure about them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2013
I normally wear medium shirts. I'm 6'1" 175lbs. I ordered a large based on other reviews. It fits perfect. Loose enough to fit like a normal t-shirt, but still form fitting and not baggy. Super comfortable. I wear this for just normal non-surfing beach days to protect my skin and not have to apply sunscreen all day. Love it. Ordered 2 more in different colors. Dries quick and very breathable.

My biggest reason for buying these was having to deal with melanoma 2 years ago, now I'm a nut with sunscreen. These give me piece of mind for a lot of my skin. I have been in the sun for 6-8 hours with this shirt on with no sunscreen underneath, no signs of tanning of any kind under the shirt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2013
I was worried about this fitting correct, because every other review on here says to buy a size up, or buy a size down, etc. I always wear a LARGE size T-Shirt, and have some decent room left over. I purchased the LARGE version of this "T-shirt" and it fits perfectly. I am 6'0" and 215lbs with about a 44 inch chest / 36 inch waist.

This isn't too loose or too tight. The arms are slightly longer than a standard T-shirt, but they aren't tight or anything. I was worried I'd look like one of those muscle heads that wear little boys' T-shirts to make their arms look bigger, but, this looks almost like an every day T-shirt. I look forward to NOT getting my shoulders burnt to death at the beach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
Used this on our vacation on Maui and it held up very well. I'm 6'4" 215lbs and ordered the XL. Fit was as expected, form fitting, but not overly tight. (I generally wear Large Tall in shirts). Mine did not have the board short loop in the front, but it was not needed, as it didn't ride up (even in heavy surf conditions). By the end of the trip, it had gone through several wash cycles and was showing signs of stretching a bit, but I expected that.

Saved the few gallons of sunscreen that would've been required to cover my torso ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
This shirt is good quality and is designed to be a t-shirt fit, not a tight wetsuit shirt. So, don't do what I did and buy a bigger size than you usually wear because so many reviews say the item runs small. If anything, the shirt runs big and the medium was really large. So,while I like the shirt, but now have to return for a smaller size and since it is not free shipping to return, I had to pay $5.00 to return. I have other O'Neill shirts in my usual small size so should have gone with my normal size and not gotten swayed by the reports of having to go up a size or two for the proper fit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2012
The quality of this rash tee is above average. It looks good so long as you are fine with the giant O'Neil logo (which you should be since it's clearly shown in the photos). One downside is that this is labeled as a "tee" yet fits much more tightly than other rash tees. I got one of these, along with a Speedo and a Kanu, all in size large. All are rash tees. The Speedo and Kanu had a very similar fit -- slightly loose and comfortable, as you would expect for a tee shirt. The O'Neil fit more like a tight undershirt. This is something to be aware of, depending on what kind of fit you're seeking. If you want an "athletic" fit that is much like and undershirt, get your size. If you want it a little more casual and loose, order one size up. Or go for one of the other brands.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2014
I was recently diagnosed with breast cancer. After my surgery, I was informed that I had to have the area covered with at least 30+ SPF suntan lotion. I hate wearing suntan lotion, so purchased this shirt to wear over my swim suit. It worked great and my doctors approved of this method. It is very comfortable, and dries quickly. I have since purchased another shirt, so I have two. I would highly recommend this shirt for sun protection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse