Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 38 reviews
on August 29, 2011
I purchased this air-conditioner from Amazon a few weeks ago and although it does cool our apartment down, it's really not as effective as I expected.

I'm most disappointed how the air-conditioner was advertised as being "library quiet," because it's definitely not quiet at all. I've used many air-conditioners before but this is definitely the loudest air-conditioner I've ever heard.

I would not recommend this air-conditioner to anyone who wants to be able to listen to a tv or is trying to sleep next to one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2014
I got this unit three years ago. My top floor apartment gets to 90 degrees in no time in the summer. This unit cools down the bedroom in about an hour. It's very quiet. I've never had to empty the water tank.

My only complaint is that the remote died after a few years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2011
It did a great job right out of the box and was fairly easy to set up.I have only had it a little over a month so I could not give it 5 stars. I will have to see how it holds up over time.But for now it does the job I bought it for.It cools the downstairs portion of my home kitchen,diningroom and livingroom not sure of the square footage.The unit is quiet for its size and looks pretty good.There were units that were a little less money but I know people who bought those units and sent them back because of noise and perfomance.I have had luck with Sharp products and so for this one is no exception.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2011
I used the 2 reviews that were already here to help me buy this product. I was not disappointed. The Midwest is in the middle of a heat wave. I installed this unit around 6 PM and our berdroom cooled down enough to sleep well that night. The next night was even better, as we leave the unit on. We have a second floor bedroom that is above our garage, so there is heat coming from everywhere. We were freezing out the rest of the house using the central A/C, but now have turned that up to 80 degrees, and use this unit in the bedroom.

The unit is very quiet at night. We put the fan on low. It provides a very nice "white noise" which covers up the traffic noise very nicely. The unit works so well, we have to burrow into the covers. Plus the ion generator leaves the room smelling fresh and clean.

Unit is very heavy, so you need to be careful when you get the package. But once it's out of the box, it does have wheels so it does move around easily.

My only complanit is the part that attaches in the window. I had to trim some off the flange, as my window was narrower than the flange, so that weakened it a little. I'm going to build my own and attach the exhaust hose to that as soon as the heat wave is over.

All in all, I highly recomend this unit. We're sleeping better than ever.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2011
Just got this today and tried it out. Sharp usually makes good products, I wanted to like this a/c but at best it cools so/so.

Styling is sleek, the louvers are nice as air direction can be adjusted (a feature not available on all portable a/c's). Remote control is more robust than most, but at the cost of no real on board controls. Like many televisions today, if you lose the remote- good luck getting it to work the way you want (there's only an on & off button & no on board display).

Amazon shows the unit as 9,500 btu's in the title, but then 10,500 in the description. The model is the CV2-P10SX which, according to Sharp- is 10,500 BTU's. Unfortunately it only seems to have the cooling power of a 9000 BTU unit.

I've now got three portable A/C's. One is a Haier I bought from Best Buy years ago @9000 BTU's (still running strong), the second is an 11,500 Friedrich and the third is this Sharp. I figured I'd try the Sharp this time b/c it had the air ionizing feature. Ionizers alone can cost $100 so I figured it was worth it. Upon reading the manual I was disappointed to learn the ionizer doesn't work when the unit is in a/c mode. It's either a/c or ionizer. I ran the ionizer for a while and it definitely gave the air that charged up feeling and does seem to neutralize odors (I have an old window that can smell moldy and the smell seemed to dissipate after running the ionizer).

The unit arrived quickly from Amazon and came with the flexible vent (which has a larger diameter than most portables), window bracket & even weather stripping (which was nice). The window attachment is different than most as it's a rectangular opening and is made of a few pieces of plastic. When stress is placed on the hose, the plastic pieces tend to separate a bit- causing the flexible hose to fall out. I had to use a small wire clamp to prevent the pieces from separating, but it's still not quite stable & I have to be careful not to put any stress on it.

The hose gets very hot during operation which would lead me to believe it's removing a lot of heat- but the air coming out of the unit into the room is only coolish- not really cold. I think perhaps the exhaust doesn't move enough air to allow the unit to cool properly.

My 9000 BTU Haier cools better than this (supposedly 10,500) Sharp and my 11,500 Friedrich cools MUCH better than both of them. Of the three, however, the Sharp is the most quiet. Given the choice to do this purchase over again, I'd go for another Friedrich.

Still this is only the first day with the Sharp, if anything changes I'll post an update.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2011
I got this for our son's dorm room. But I didn not have transpotation to take this to his room. So I used it for our dinning room. It is very quiet.I live in PA those weeks of heat wave the house was cool. I also have another A/C unit {LG} for the kitchen and familyroom.

I highly recoomend this product. Fast Delivery. Thanks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2011
IT TOOK ME OVER 10 DAYS DOING RESEARCH OVER THE BEST, MOST QUIET, AND MOST RELIABLE BRAND AMONG ALL THE PORTABLE AIR CONDITIONERS. I ENDED UP BUYING THIS UNIT CONSIDERING ALL THE REVIEWS AND THE DESCRIPTION ABOUT IT. WELL, THE VERY NEXT DAY AFTER INSTALLING IT, I REALIZED THAT IT WAS A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. UNIT IS NOT AS QUIET AS THEY DESCRIBED IT. IT ONLY BLOWS COOL (NOT COLD) IF YOU ARE JUST STANDING IN FRONT OF THE LOUVERS. I SET IT IN MY 200 SQ/FT BEDROOM AND LEFT ON MAXIMUM COLD WITH TEMP ON CONTROL SET TO 67 WHICH IS THE LOWEST, MY ROOM TEMP WOULD NOT GO BELOW 84 ON A 100 DEGREE HEAT DAY. TOO FRUSTRATED. AM OPTING TO REPLACE IT WITH A WINDOW TYPE WHICH IS CHEAPER AND MORE EFFICIENT.
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2011
Pros:
1. The unit showed up in two days!
2. Easy installation.
3. Cools effectively.

Cons:
1. I live in California and the weather has been quite warm. The unit's water tank fills up in 2-3 hours which automatically turns air conditioner off. To further compound my challenges with the unit, the only means to drain the water tank is wheel the entire unit outside. This is not an easy task due to the size of the unit. I would have expected a removable water tank at a minimum. Even better, would be a drain hose or other means to remove the water from the unit allowing it to run for longer periods of time required to allow this unit to cool the room. All in all, unless I am open to wheeling the unit outside several times a night to drain the water tank, this unit is ineffective for my requirements. The support line, although I received conflicting responses, indicated I can attach a hose to the water tank drain allowing me to drain the water tank either outside or to an indoor drain.
55 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse