Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 34 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 41 reviews
on February 7, 2012
I have worked in Military/Para Military & Security Industry for nearly 30 years. During that time I have experimented with all manner of boot at all price points. Some have been winners; some have fallen appart within days of hard use in tough conditions. What I can say is I wish I had these boots 15 years ago. I am not a shoe salesman or cobbler but here are my feelings. Priority one is fit and comfort and these boots exceeded all expectations. They feel like a very secure sneeker all be it slightly heavier. Next for me is weight. This is a light boot for it's construction. This all leather, waterproof boot is outstanding, the midsole and cushioning is second to none and the shank provides great support. The sole provides traction and is non scuffing so I can wear them in my office and out in the field. With some of my boots I had to change before heading out to shoot or taking the boys out for some PT or I would upset the office cleaning crew. The combined factors, all positive make me a very happy camper. I was so satisfied with these boots that I also purchased the Newport sandals and I am seeking a pair of Oregon PCT boots for when I am not hiking for a client or my employer. I can't find anything negative to say about these boots. As far as price, those in the security community have paid more for boots that are far heavier and do not even come close to the performance of these boots. enough said.....
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
keen has always been among my favourite shoe brands because of the comfort level. these boots are great, unfortunately the pair i received was defective. the lacing lowest lacing hook on inner part of the left boot was located directly over my ankle bone, making the boot unbearably painful to wear. the other boot was perfectly comfortable. after comparing the two, i noticed that they were put together very unevenly - the troublesome lacing hook being 1/4 inch or more higher than the same hook on the other boot... i have noticed similar asymmetry issues with keen boots manufactured in China before. i usually let it go because it tends to be a solely aesthetic issue, but this time it made the boots unwearable. i have decided to quit shopping for shoes online and just buy them in a setting where i can try them on first.
As for Keen, their design is good, i just wish they would pay more attention to the production process
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
There is another review (1 star) citing the middle buckle as an issue with his ankle - this issue can be addressed by lacing the boots in a non-traditional manor.
Here is a little guide ... count the top three lace buckles, #1 being the buckle closest to your knee #3 being the buckle closest to the end of the looped laces (closest to your toes)
You are going to want to cross the laces hooking into buckle #2, then buckle #1 and use buckle #3 (the one closest to where the laces come out of the looped lace holders) as the buckle to tie your laces.

Doing this will alleviate the tightness/pain that is felt by your ankle if you lace the boots up in what would be considered the traditional, #3,#2,#1 (tying the laces at the ending at the top of the boot).

I hope this helps, and the 1 star reviewer tries this and reconsiders his 1 star rating - these are truly stable and comfortable boots that are sized correctly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
I knew going in that this would be a serious hiking boot and was not disappointed. It is a moderately heavy shoe that provides excellent foot and ankle support over uneven trail conditions. As others have noted, the last is designed for comfort but is not soo roomy that you are swimming in it. Its unconventional look contributes to wind, water and cold protection. It took a few days and some mink oil to break the boot in, but again that is what you'd expect of a serious hiking boot, and once at that point was very comfortable to have on all day. The one negative I experienced was the tongue on the right boot refused to stay centered, and would creep around the outside of my ankle, causing pressure, rubbing and irritation. This was easily remedied by the local cobbler, but is not what you'd expect given the general quality of fit and construction. True to sizing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2012
I previously had a pair of Rocky boots that I wore for over 15 years. When that book gave way and my feet began to hurt, I started the long dreaded search for a new pair of hiking boots. I tried several other brand before ordering this pair of Keens. When I first received them, the right boot hurt around my ankle, so I skipped that lacing and the hurt went away. A few days later I added it back in but didnt tighten it as much as I normally would and everything has been great since then. These feel great on my feet and are pretty sold boots so far. I have taken a couple of 5 + mile hikes with them and my feet never hurt. I have high arches, so it is hard for me to find a great fitting pair of boots. These seem to fit that bill so far. They also look great on my feet. I wear them with jeans to work several times a week when it looks like it may rain. Highly recommend getting a pair if you are considering them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
I purchased this pair of boots specifically for a mountain hike where I knew I would encounter some snow and rain. The boots arrived 2 days before the day i was supposed to leave for my trip. I wanted to wear them out as much as possible before my hike, so I put them on right as soon as I got it out of the box. They felt comfortable from the very first time I put them on. I had planned to take a pair of sneakers along for my trip, to wear on my drive to the mountains, but then I ended up just taking these boots with me. During the entire day long hike, the shoes protected my feet well. In fact I feel that I would have definitely been limping back had it not been for these well built boots. Through rain and snow i hammered them to the limits, but they kept my feet warm and cozy and unhurt. I would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a pair of waterproof hiking boots.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2012
The stiff leather uppers required a little longer break-in period than a lighter boot would have, but after backpacking for several days on boulder strewn, rain soaked trails in the high Uintahs, I came to love these boots. They kept my feet dry and saved me from what would have been numerous twisted ankles.
When you are backpacking in the wilderness, it is extremely important to take good care of your feet. These boots will do that, even in the most rugged conditions.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2017
Haaven't used them yet, but appear to be well built and designed. Good value!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2012
I love these boots! I already have had several pair of the Keen Oregon PCT but got these all leather Ericksons for an upcoming trek to Everest Base Camp. These are men's boots and I called KEEN to find out if they intended to come out with woman's of this model. They said there were no plans but told me which size to buy of the men's. They are built on the same last as the Oregon PCT (which is the same last for men's and women's of that model.)

I pulled them from the box and put them on, alced them up and wore them around the house. I felt they were more stable than the Oregon PCT but every bit as comfortable.

I have no doubt that they will be great in the trekking environment I am headed to and will update this boot as I use them pre-trek and then post trek.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2016
I absolutely love these. I work outdoor in rugged terrain most of the day and have had many pairs of boots and I still use these boots every day at work and while hiking a year and a half after I purchased them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here