Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 170 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 188 reviews
on December 19, 2014
This product is of horrible quality. The first time I used it (this morning) in light rain and wind, the material started popping off the spokes. Then, a slight gust of wind turned the umbrella inside out and snapped the metal handle/rod in two. It cut my hand all to pieces which bled for a full 30 minutes before I could find a band-aid and get it to stop. Save your money and buy a "quality" one from IKEA.
review image
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2011
I purchased this product based on reviews already posted and because it was within my price range. It arrived in good condition but after two uses the stitching that attaches the umbrella to the ends of the spines began to break. In all, four of these attach points failed - I have reconnected them using safety pins. This is something that happens to many of these collapsible type umbrellas (at least when I've owned them) but had not expected it to happen so quickly. May have been a faulty umbrella to begin with - am pleased that the seller is replacing it.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2012
On my first use, the fabric detached from three of the "arms" and on my second use it detached from 3 more. Because I am on a trip and couldn't buy another one I just sewed the fabric back together and it works fine, nevertheless it is a poor quality product that won't even last for a slight rainy day with no wind.
DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT, you can get much better products for less money.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2011
I got this umbrella as part of a Christmas gift for my boyfriend, and two days after Christmas he was able to use it. It was not a rain storm in any way, just some steady rain. Within five minutes, tho of the spokes ripped off the material and were sticking straight out with no way to reattach it. On our way back home, it happened to two more spokes which lead the umbrella to turn inside out and in turn completely caused all of the metal inside to bend, resulting in what looked like a pancake with 4 metal spokes protruding from it. I opted to return this item rather than exchange it, because there I just can't trust this brand or product again.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
I bought this umbrella for a trip to Iceland last spring. After stepping off of a bus and opening my umbrella the handle broke away from the umbrella piece and the umbrella rolled across the sidewalk. I was able to get the umbrella piece back and put it into the shaft of the handle, but now it never stays high, it always slides down towards my hand. This just seems to be a poorly built umbrella from a company I'm surprised would have such poor quality in one of its products.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2015
These were the most poorly constructed and worthless items I have ever purchased. I bought two because I commute and stuff just happens to umbrellas when you commute sometimes. One the top clip would not deploy and nothing I could see to do would fix it, so it never stayed open. The other only lasted a couple openings before the wire frame gave way and busted on one of the supports. You would be better off just using a newspaper over your head because then you dont feel bad throwing it away after one use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2015
Cannot be operated with one hand, as there is no button to press to open/close it.
You must manually slide the umbrella open with your fingers (requires a good deal of force too), and if that wasn't annoying enough, you have
to close it by pinching the stopper at the top, causing your fingers to become pinched violently as the umbrella collapses.
I was so angry when I discovered this after the first rainy day I almost threw the thing in the garbage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
I wasn't expecting much from this umbrella, so it met my expectations. It is great for light drizzle, but it will not stand up to moderate wind or rain. The nicest thing about it is that it is compact, the worst is that it doesn't always fold properly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2014
If you are expecting something along the lines of Totes quality, you will be sorely disappointed. The quality is much more what you might expect a street vendor to be selling at a subway exit on a raining day. There are worse umbrellas, but this is an exceptionally bad value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2014
I usually love everything we buy from Swiss Gear. This umbrella seemed cheaply made. I am not sure how well it will hold up. We gave these as gifts to the "grandpa's" this year. It seemed a little flimsy, and the mechanism was a little tricky. We'll have to wait and see what the recipients have to say after they have a chance to try them out in the weather.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here