Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 13, 2000
In an age when so many Americans rely upon pharmaceutical drugs to cure their ailments, Dr. Weil has suggested a sensible, proactive approach to healing yourself and maintaining excellent health.
I will admit that I've not been totally successful in incorporating all his suggestions, but everything here is at least worth a read. Especially notable to most are Dr. Weil's recommendations regarding supplements and his dietary admonitions.
Initially, I was drawn to this book after seeing Dr. Weil on TV. At first, my critical mind wanted to cast his ideas as folksy mumbo-jumbo, with just enough medical rationality to make it seem legitimate. But the more I listened, the more I became intrigued. The next day, I picked up this book, wondering if it could do more for my recurring stomach problems than what doctors had done for me.
I had been in pain daily, and had even (wrongly) thought I was having a heart attack (several times). I was saddled with a bevy of drugs and antacids to give relief of this gastro-intestinal reflux disorder, which is VERY common, and is OFTEN mistaken for heart attack.
Within 2 weeks of ceasing ibuprofen and caffeine intake, and taking a few recommended herbal supplements, I was pain- (and drug-) free: I was even able to eat a spicy Thai dinner with no repurcussions!
Today, I rarely suffer any stomach discomfort, and feel much stronger and healthier in general, thanks in large part to this book. It makes so much sense.
I recommend this book to anyone who wants to take an active role in their overall health, rather than just let health problems happen to them.
22 comments| 266 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 6, 2000
If you know you need to give your lifestyle a "health makeover" but aren't sure where to start, this is the book for you. Dr Weil's eight-week plan helps you gradually phase out unhealthy habits and foods, and start enjoying a more health-enhancing lifestyle. By guiding you through moderate changes over eight weeks, rather than advocating radical change overnight, Dr Weil creates a plan that is easy to stick with. His well-researched, easy-to-read book is an excellent foundation for a lifelong commitment to healthy living. Following Weil's sensible plan won't result in "cold turkey" feelings, just a steady improvement in your physical, mental and emotional health. His lifestyle prescriptions will also result in weightloss. But the book's nutrition plan centres around abundance, not denial. Dr Weil's mantra is "quality" when it comes to food. If you're already leading a healthy lifestyle, and seek to expand your knowledge, this title will probably be a little basic for you. Dr Weil's new title "Eating Well For Optimum Health" may be a more enriching read. Dr Weil's eight-week plan, on the other hand, strikes me as being perfect "entry-level" material.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 27, 2017
Eating a well balanced diet rich in nutrients the body needs seems to be difficult these days, but this book helps with so many decisions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 10, 2006
Overall, I think this is a very good book for someone who is trying to turn their health habits around, but is overwhelmed by all of the possibilities. It also a good track to run on for someone who wants to implement important life changes in an easy step-wise fashion. There is nothing fanatical about the recommendations and they can be easily implemented by almost anyone.

One of the things I most like about this book is the encouraging tone and the prioritization of various changes that are made little-by-little in eating habits, exercise, etc. This book recommends walking as the main source of exercise and gives some great arguments for why this makes sense. I think there are also some good and simple nutritional guidelines e.g. eliminated trans fatty acids, eating more fiber, using more olive oil, etc.

Mixed in with some well researched conclusions are Dr. Weil's opinions. For example, he recommends a fairly simple supplementation regimen. While it is true that not everything he says is necessarily supported by corresponding studies, it is also probably that some of it is on the mark, but the data is not all in or all of the variables are not possible to isolate. At the least, I don't see where this level of supplementation would do harm to most people.

I also like that Dr. Weil takes a holistic approach to health. He not only looks at and talks about the body. He also addressed stress and relaxation, life attitudes and other ingredients of a healthy life that impact on health. While he is very commercial, he is also a Harvard trained physician and I do think that he has some very good insights to share.

While in some ways I think this book can be better. I would still recommend it to almost anyone, especially people who are intimidated by the idea of exercising and changing their life habits. While not every suggestion might be on target, I am sure that if someone implemented ALL the suggestions over eight weeks, they would undergo a big positive change in the state of their health. I have certainly found this to be true and I cheat on some of them ;)
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 1, 2017
Reading this for the 2nd time. Fantastic tips and advice. Easy to follow
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 29, 2000
Are you drinking all the water you should be? Well, I thought I was, but now Andrew brings up lots of issues with tap water. Other interests I foud: the dangers of sleeping too close to your clock radio, standing next to the microwave, "nuking" food in plastic, the list goes on. Lots of good details for health.Andrew's 8 week program is realistic and easy to follow. You slowly move into a healthy life-style, this is not a loose XXX pounds in 8 weeks book. It's not really a diet at all, this book teaches more important lessons that you'll retain long after you've read the book.The tape is easy to listen to, Andrew's voice is great. Many times he says, "Try to....", that's someone I can trust and WANT to listen to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 6, 2011
This little book contains on every page, valuable and interesting information on how to maximize your healing potential. Most of this advice, I had already put into operation, but it is good to have it confirmed by the inestimable Dr. Weill. I dogear and underline on just about every page. The information on adaptogens was especially enlightening. Worth easily twice or three times what I paid for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 10, 2005
I first saw Dr. Weil on the Wisdom channel and I was impressed by his programme. I bought the book in late 2003. I was pregnant at the time and I was surprised to see a section for pregnant women. I'm sorry that I did not get a hand on my copy earlier. As it was, during the last month of my pregnancy and first month post partum, I followed his advice on eating salmon, kippers, sardines etc. Today my daughter is 14 months old, healthy and thriving. I recommend this book to all pregnant women. If I had all his information from the beginning of my pregnancy, I might have had an easier delivery. It's a great book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2015
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 12, 2013
I like this book and it has been added to my collection I recommend it I gave it 4 stars as i already have a bit of this knowledge
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse