Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: ALPS Mountaineering Lightweight Series Self-Inflating Air Pad (Steel Blue, Short MC)
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 12, 2010
It was difficult to find the measurements online for the different sizes of these pads.
Here are the details that come with the product when you buy it.

Short: 20" x 48" x 1.5", 1 lb. 9 oz.
Regular: 20" x 72" x 1.5", 2lbs. 5 oz.
Long: 25" x 77" x 2", 3 lbs. 15 oz.
XL: 30" x 77" x 3", 6 lbs. 10 0z.

I purchased the Regular size and I love it so far (only used it once). Very comfortable and lightweight.
1111 comments| 975 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2010
I have a Thermorest I spent twice the money on, This Pad is LIGHTER, THICKER, and better built. I am back to buy another because now my daughter even refuses to use the thermorest.
This pad give great R factor in added warmth, has a large valve for inflation/deflation. It is built like steel and weighs like silk.
I am a 350 lb backpacker and I never touch ground with the support this pad offers.
88 comments| 575 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2010
My husband and I purchased two of these for our church youth trek last week. I'm NOT an outdoors person and was dreading sleeping at night on the ground. We've tried lots of other camping pads through the years including Thermarest, but these XL size pads (77 x 30) meant my sleeping bag didn't slide off the pad during the night. The pads are remarkably comfortable and as a side sleeper I didn't once feel the ground on my hip or side. My husband's a big guy and he also loves this pad - tall enough and wide enough for him. It is easy to inflate (most of it inflates automatically) and easy to roll back into its compact size. Lightweight, durable materials too. Almost convinced me that sleeping in the great outdoors is worth it!
22 comments| 324 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2012
We ordered 2 regulars and 2 longs, figuring we could use the regular for backpacking and our kids could use them in the mean time. Wow what a difference $15 makes! The long was WAY more cushy and comfortable. It was not much bigger rolled up in size (but twice as thick inflated). Both were comfy to lay on but if you're trying to decide, get the long!
33 comments| 120 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2015
Was very disapointed. After 15 mins the pad blew up. Created a loud tearing noise like it was being torn from the outer layer and inner pad. Then you can see what the cause of the noise was. A large bubble of air was formed. Had high hopes for the product because it was highly rated but I wouldn't purchase. No idea how this happend. Was just sitting on it, and then this happend. It didn't happen when rolling it up because even when we deflated it you can still see the air bubble.
review image
33 comments| 128 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2010
I'm a big guy and I bought the "Long" version of this pad. For years I've slept on foam when I backpack. I can get comfortable about anywhere, so it was never a big deal. This summer I decided to splurge on a new pad and what a difference!

Because I'm heavy, I was afraid that I'd puncture (or even burst) one of this little "blow-up" toys. The "Long" version has an even higher loft at 2", making it more susceptible to failure, but I figured Amazon's guarantees would protect me from whatever failure might occur.

Not only did I not have any failures, but this thing performed admirably. It inflated easily. I did (on occasion) blow a few "extra" puffs into it to firm it up a bit. It took up about as much space as my old foam pad and weighed only a couple of ounces more, but the comfort was incredible. The kids and I even set it along a fallen log and used it as "The Couch" while reading and playing games out in the woods.

I was impressed and I'd buy another one.

**UPDATE**
I've had this sleeping pad for 6 years, now. It's been on numerous backpacking trips (took one summer off, due to injury), and it's still going strong. There's been no holes or damage, and it holds air just as well as it did on the day I bought it. This sleeping back is truly a great value. I never would have though I'd get this much use out of an air mattress. It's tough as nails, and sleeping on this beauty gives each trip a taste of luxury I never realized I was missing before.
0Comment| 145 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2011
Initially i loved the product, in fact i've never slept on a more comfortable air pad, i absolutely felt no ground, even on my side (using the long version, im 5'11" 160lbs). But after about a week and a half of nighty use in a tent on plywood, it stopped staying inflated through the night. I read the convenient repair package in the sleeve and it suggested inflating it and submerging it, so i did just that, only to find that there were roughly 30 minute holes all over the place on the bottom! The material seems like goretex, its a lightweight synthetic material, but it clearly wasn't strong enough for a little dirt and sand in my tent, and if this is for camping it should be able to handle more than that. I'm going to contact alps and see what they think, and depending on how they respond, I'll update my review. I liked the product and hope they don't disappoint.

--EDIT--

I contacted Alps about the holes, the companies customer service was great, I mailed in the product and they sent back a new one without any charge, despite the product being sold by amazon! Hopefully this one will stand up to the test.

--UPDATE--

The second one stopped holding air just like the first one. This time was while sleeping in a field in Austria, woke up and it was flat. I assumed I had just not tightened it enough. The next night, on a bed, i slept on it to test it, and it was flat in the morning. It had been in stored for about a year (1/2 yr spread out, vent open. 1/2 yr rolled up in sleeve) after I got this replacement, only used it once in a field in Oregon. Then took it to Europe backpacking, and lasted less than a week. Just threw it away this time. Done with this brand, hate to say. Now I have some blow up one from Denmark an its doin' swell.

Pro:
Comfortable
Thick enough for lying on side
Lightweight

Con:
Not durable
Not wide enough for broad shoulders
88 comments| 230 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
Allow the mat to inflate, close the valve, roll the mat toward the end away from the valve forcing air into the foam. Re open valve and it will fully inflate. Everyone who gave this 1 star aside from a tear or receiving an open package complained about how it would not inflate past .5 inch. This is all they had to do. This is a great light weight product. I would highly recommend. It always works better when you know how to use your gear!
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2011
When the mat arrived today I opened it up and tested it out, as I've never owned a hybrid air/foam pad before. It does inflate maybe ~60% by itself, but to make it really nice and puffy you do have to blow air into it. Overall though it took me maybe a minute to inflate it fully. It's narrow, but the regular was a great size for me (I'm 68 inches tall, female) as I could sleep on my stomach with my arm under the pillow and still be entirely on pad. The width didn't really bother me. It was really comfortable considering it's only 1.5 inches thick. I'm not normally someone who does well sleeping on floors, so the fact that I took a 20 minute nap on it on the living room floor gives this mat some points.

Perhaps after I go camping in May, I'll update my review. But for now, I'm impressed at how small it packs and it was reasonably easy to get it back to original size.

**Updated review - I used this for two weeks camping out west. It's decently comfortable, but if you're car camping definitely go for a regular four inch thick blowup mattress. For backpacking, this thing would be great. It's light, it doesn't let the cold from the ground through, dirt and water resistant, and easy to set up and pack away.
11 comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2015
This item failed after only 2 uses. The seam along one side separated so that the foam inside was exposed. The pad has valves for holding or releasing the air pressure. Because the seam separated, it cannot be inflated, nor can it be rolled tightly for transport without difficulty. I bought this item just a few weeks ago, but I am unable to return it because it became defective while I was camping over the past week. I just got back home and learned that the date to return had expired on October 4, 2015. If you buy this item, there is a good chance it too will fail. I just hope, if it does, that it happens for you before the return date expires. This was a total waste of money at $80 for what is now just a pad of foam.
review image
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 96 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here