Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Shop Popular Services masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 36 reviews
on November 4, 2014
The end cap came off quickly and they fixed it for us. I believe the shipping was covered both ways so kudos for that. I don't think a bat should come apart that easily though. It was used lightly and broke during the season after only about 8-10 games at most. It was not used in practice. It would be 4-star without the defect.

My son likes it. We play on a team together and I've used it as well a couple of times. It has some juice but like any bat, you must square it up. Let's face it, you can get a hit with a chunk of wood too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
I bought this bat for around $140 and it has been worth every penny. For the price, it is easily 5/5 stars. However, as a bat, I can not say it is a 5/5 star bat overall as there are bats with a little more pop. I was using a team Easton Salvo SRV5 26oz and that bat has serious pop. The problem is, it's a little too light and too fast for me as I was having a hard time with timing it and keeping it fair as I'm a dead pull hitter. I bought this bat in 30oz and with it's maxload it's been fantastic at keeping me in play. I now hit to left field but closer to left center than straight down the line like normal for myself. I've used this bat in around 5 games and it's quickly becoming a team favorite even though most of the team would easily be better suited for a 26oz bat or similar. 30 oz is heavy for a lot of people, for me, I like the weight (I'm 6'1" and around 185lbs, athletic build). I am not sure of bat speed but my golf swing is typically around 115mph if that helps in comparison.

Like I mentioned earlier, it doesn't have the same pop as some other $300 bats and even a similarly priced Easton Salvo SRV5 (the only other $200 bat that performs as well as many $300 bats in my opinion) seem to have a bit more carry for me but on a 300ft field I can hit about 50% for homeruns and the rest right to warning track. With the Salvo, I hit farther more often but since the team bat is also so much lighter, I tend to hit more pop flies as well.

Great bat...go get one!

****EDIT****
So after approximately 6 weeks (6 games) the bat literally broke in half just at the beginning of the taper, right on the "E" of "MADE". I take great care of all of my belongings and this bat was never once grounded or even remotely tossed after hits. I am sending it back to Miken for a replacement but unfortunately they do not offer the Freak for an exchange, only the ASA Ultra and NXT. I'm hoping the Ultra is as consistent as this one was. I'll re-edit once I get a return from Miken.

Update:
I did end up getting the Ultra as a replacement to this bat and they are not surprisingly similar. I still get good overall pop out of this bat and it still feels solid on contact. I will review the Ultra here: (http://www.amazon.com/Miken-Balanced-Composite-Slowpitch-Softball/dp/B009J5TJZ4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1391617614&sr=8-1&keywords=miken+ultra). Thanks for the help Miken.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2012
I purchased the bat last week and so far I love it. I went with the 34" 26 oz Supermax because I was looking for a light-weight bat with "pop". I've used Miken's before like the Psycho, Freak DTS, and the infamous Freak 98. Having success with them all I knew this would be a good choice. First thing I did was cut that ugly white grip down an inch or two and wrap it over with black tape, feels great and looks way better! I don't know what Miken was thinking with that but they blew it. I've only played two games with it so far. After being out for a few months I took the first game easy and just made solid contact. Two hard singles to LF and a line out to RC, the ball jumped off the bat though. Next game was time to open it up, two triples smoked to CF and RC, a hard single to LF, dribbled an out to first swinging at junk (my bad) and last at bat was a bomb to LF 350ft or so. Just an FYI this bat is not going to magically help you hit the long ball. If your thinking you can just stick the bat out and it will fly over the fence your wrong. As the old saying goes "It's not the arrow, it's the Indian". Very satisfied so far and I'm sure it's just going to get better as it gets broken in, definitely recommend it to anyone interested.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2013
I have had this bat for about a year now. I have never been a power hitter and the purchase of this bat has not changed that. It is end loaded which took some getting used to as I have always used balanced bats. It is also 26oz but feels like 28oz because of the end load. I put about 75-100 swings on it through soft toss before using it in a game and it felt very nice when I squared it up in that first game. A year later I feel like it is still a great bat. There are so many bats out there that it just seems to me it all comes down to the personal preference of the person as well as their type of swing. I know some guys that hit bombs with this bat. That just isn't my swing. I have always been a line drive hitter and I consistently do that with this bat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
I have used bats that are "illegal" and hit the ball to the moon. I didn't expect that from this bat and early on, it gave me no indication of being much at all. Mid-season, after some batting practice and game use, it has come to life. Solid feel, solid hits, and when you connect, it goes, not like a triple walled comp beast, but like a good solid bat should. Last game teammates actually started using this bat and commented on how poppy the bat had become...

Short story long...be patient, let the bat break in for a little while and you'll like it. This won't make you a home run hitter, but if you are close, this might put you over the top.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2013
I bought it and then it kept snowing and snowing, and so on. Finally, it's time to use. At first when I started to use it in practice I didn't think it was as hot as what I read as it would be. I hit with it at a couple practices later and the FREAK has come to life. I would recommend this to anyone. It's a little slow to start, but when it finally warms up it's on. Consistently hit the 350 ft. mark without trying to swing full out on. (I don't know if I have to.) This is definitely a budget sleeper for a performance bat!! Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2012
This bat is okay.

And that is it.

I used it in two leagues, and everyone that had heard of The Freak was dying to use it. Pretty much everyone switched back to their old bat. Honestly, I got much more pop out of my Wilson DeMarini Steel (34") (EA).

Maybe the bay just needs some more time and love, but so far, it is just another bat.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
I love this bat, the ball goes much further than it did with the other bat I used to use. However, after only a few games it already has some chips in it. The warranty is pretty specific and I'm not sure it's damaged specifically enough to be replaced. It's a good bat, but I hear there are some new ASA bat rules coming out, hopefully this is still legal otherwise I wasted a lot of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
The bat adds like 30 to 50 feet more in distance. Furthermore, it adds velocity to the hit around twenty percent. In addition, the bat does not take long to break in. The bat had some discount which made the bat a better buy for the quality of it. It is a good investment especially if you can get the bat on sale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
Took it out of the wrapper today for batting practice and it had all the pop I had expected,Just slammed the ball/felt great. I have very high expectations when we start league next week . I would recommend this bat to others..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here