Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 257 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 285 reviews
on October 24, 2011
This is a nice recorder, everything works as designed...however, the product description is slightly misleading - it says "Records in MP3 (320 kbps-8 kbps)" which implies that the audio files can be downloaded or transferred - but this is NOT the case! If you want or need to download your recording, you will need to get a different model - the ICD-PX312 model is the version of this recorder that allows download/transfer via USB.
3131 comments| 798 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2012
This little voice recorder works okay, but if you are an occasional user, the batteries will be dead every single time you want to use it.

You see Sony cheaped out and didn't include a power switch, and its standby current is way too high. A brand new pair of name brand alkaline batteries lasts about 4 days while the unit is supposedly off! I used it for only 20 minutes, then turned it as off as it goes (its screen shows "off" then goes blank). And 4 days later it's beeping about low batteries.

Its low-battery beep, by the way, is loud enough to wake you up. And persistent enough that you will get out of bed and rip the batteries out of the evil little device. Then, unable to get back to sleep, you may find yourself publishing its well-deserved negative review!

As a side note, I knew when I bought it that Sony had also cheaped out on the interfaces -- no USB. I didn't think I'd be bothered by that (it was for my wife, and she wasn't interested in saving the recordings on the computer), but I was wrong. Invariably, you'll want to save something at some point. It's annoying to have to re-record from analog out in order to get the data onto your computer.

But it's the lack of a 10 cent power switch that's the killer.

Badly done, Sony, badly done!!
33 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2013
I bought this Sony digital device to record songwriting ideas.The sensitivity of the microphone is incredible for a unit of this price, and the speaker is loud and clear enough for ideas, meetings, etc. Plus, it provides virtual 5 virtual folders named "A" to "E", to help you organize your recordings. Although the memory is not expandable,I guess 22 hours at maximum resolution is more than enough!(it goes up to 570 hours on minimum resolution, but I would skip that). Even has a "divide" function for a quick audio trim. Plus, it's small enough you can take it in your pocket. Highly recommended. For more info, check [...]
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2011
I only gave it 4 stars because of battery life. Since the unit is so small, it only takes 2 AAA batteries. Even the best Alkaline batteries gives it enough play and record time for a few days. I use it a lot. To try to save on batteries, I got the rechargeable Nickel Metal Hydride batteries. They even have a shorter life than the alkalines, but can be recharged 100's of times. I would get an AC adapter, but that would tie me down close to an outlet. Too bad the unit didn't have a means of using solar power to charge the batteries. Then while I wasn't using it, it would always be fully charged. This is my first digital recorder, and I do love it a lot. No tapes to wear out, change, turn over, or get tangled in the machine.And the sound quality is excellent from such a small speaker.
It also has a lot of features in the menu.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2012
I have owned two Sony recorders that were purchased 2005 and 2007. One I gave away, the other I tithed to the washing machine. They were identical and had 34 hours of recording time. They had essentially the same features as this newer model though the new one is easier to navigate. The older model was $60, I bought this one for $32. And for only being 15% larger the new model has ten times the memory. But who needs 534 hours of memory? That's 22 days and 6 hours of recording time! If you have dozens (or hundreds) of hours of recordings, they must be worth keeping. So you would want to back them up on a hard drive, right? Yet the old version came with this PC connect wire while the new one does not. With the older model, every year or so when I would approach the 34 hour limit, I would back it up. I am very happy to have a decent recorder for nearly half the cost of the older model but I would rather pay $5 extra and have a wire included than have to buy it separately. I would also rather have a bit less than 534 hrs memory and have it as small as possible since it shares a bed with my wallet. Having said that, I would still recommend it. Sony is still quality.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2012
You get what you pay for with this little item. Put it in your cart and wait for the price to come down to around a double sawbuck if you don't need it urgently.

Nothing special or fancy, just makes quick and easy recordings that sound fine. If you want to transfer the recordings to a computer, you'll have to use/purchase a mini-mini cable to connect this to your computer and transfer to something like Audacity in real time. I mostly use it to hum or play little musical melodies or hooks into so that I don't lose track of them before I can get them coded into the music composing software that I use.

If you want a high quality recorder that generates easily transferable digital files, please consider spending at least 3-4 times as much as this. Bums me out when people give negative reviews for products just because the product is what it is instead of what they wanted it to be.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
We homeschool and whatever requires memorization goes on the recorder and the child can work on it on his/her own. There are four sections A B C D and you can use them to divide by subject or by child if needed. We have had our for about three years, it gets packed around a lot and has been dropped although we try very hard to take care of it. It works perfect except the door to the battery case is loose. It is very reasonable on batteries, I use the cheap Dollar Tree batteries and even they last longer than you would think. Would replace it with exact duplicate if breaks no questions asked.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2012
First, KUDOS to Amazon for lightning fast delivery. I ordered on the 13th and received the item on the 15th - and that was with the FREE ground shipping!

This is a great little recorder - especially for the $$, but it is more complex and has way more functions than I need or want. I ordered it to replace my old Sony microcassette tape recorder which I had misplaced, and have since found. With the tape recorder, you always pick up where you left off recording, it is easy to back up and listen to, and the "record" button is easy to find, even in total darkness, as is the shutoff button. On my old tape recorder there are no multiple files to place things in and no way (nor reason) to "divide" recordings.

In other words this just too complicated for the purpose for which I needed it. I write music and often ideas will come to me in the middle of the night and I need a SIMPLE and EASY way to notate them in the dark, and without hassle. This recorder will not fill that bill, as it requires too much "futzing around with" and it appears that it would be very easy to inadvertently record over something previously recorded. I'll keep it, though, because it was inexpensive to buy and appears to be of good quality. Nevertheless, I'll be using the old microcassette recorder until it stops working. Maybe this new one would make a good gift for one of my friends/relatives.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2013
These Sony recorders, even this cheap one, are great. Very solid, easy to use, and incredibly convenient. I carry one in the car, so that I don't have to be distracted writing notes and one in my workout room so that the workout is not interrupted if I need to make a note. I use them for a variety of purposes, such as dictating letters and other docs for my staff to transcribe, dictating new ideas about my laboratories and research, and noting purchases that we need to make, such as specific grocery items - and for many other things. I also keep one by the bed, in case I wake up in the middle of the night with some "brilliant" idea that I don't want to lose. Get one; you'll find many uses for it. I recently tried a comparably priced Olympus that turned out not to be anywhere nearly as good as the Sony. In fact, I'm returning the Olympus.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2013
This recorder seems to be gentle on batteries, and has excellent sound reproduction. Unlike the unit that it replaced, it does not display the time and date when the recording was made. I truly miss this feature; I need to remember to state the time as I am recording. Additionally, I have not found a way to erase a file (one of five) in just one step. I miss this feature as well. Typically, I make a number (5 to 12) of short recordings each day and use one file for each day and erase that file several days later. This unit just isn't as convenient (as my old unit) for this purpose.

UPDATE: I have re-read the instructions, and it is possible to delete a full file at one time. It is also possible to day stamp OR time stamp recordings, BUT NOT BOTH. So I have the functions that I need, but they still aren't as convenient as my old recorder. So I have increased my rating from 3 stars to 4... still not quite a "5".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse