BCA Month Salon Beauty Best Books of the Month Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Dirty Heads $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment TNF TNF TNF  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 18, 2013
I have been running for over 20 years and have tried just about every major brand out there: NB, Nike, Adidas, Ryka, Avia, etc. Asics has by far delivered the most consistent, comfortable running shoe for me. This particular model has been the best, hands down. It is the only shoe that I can run 10+ miles in and not have any knee, foot pain or blisters. I just ran 11 miles the other day, and had a few muscle aches and that's it! The Asics Kahana shoe has also been great for me, but this one wins hands down! Have ordered a couple extra pairs to keep on hand, since this one is no longer being made.

I am editing this review to add: I have tried both the pink/gray color and the blue/white color. The blue/white shoes seem to run a bit smaller than the pink/white shoes and gave me blisters in the toe area. The materials in the pink/white shoe seem to be more flexible, and the toe area seems wider than the blue/white shoe. I'm not sure how that can be, since they are the same exact model and size only just different colors (maybe they are manufactured in different places???). I have not tried the purple version of this model.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These shoes are for my wife, who has been using Asics shoes for years (the Cumulus, Nimbus, etc., models). I had recently purchased for myself a pair of these GEL Pulse 3's, however, and once I tried them out, they were so insanely comfortable with their plush, cushioned feel, that I got a pair for my wife. She absolutely loves them (the GEL Pulse 3), and now regularly uses them indoors to help prevent back and foot fatigue. (She still uses the Cumulus model for her workouts, however.)

These shoes follow on in the Gel Pulse tradition (three years now; this version is the third release in the Pulse line), with incredibly soft, almost pillowy, insoles that are immediately comfortable from the first wear. This particular model runs a bit on the small side, and I've had to purchase them at half a size larger than normal (although I have a somewhat wide foot, as well as a high arch), but they are ridiculously cushioned to where you feel you are walking on gel, much more so than Asics' Cumulus, or even their Neo Walker, models. And although they are labelled as "running" shoes, the cushioning and comfortable fit also makes them ideal for walking (although the Neo Walker 2 will have a more supportive side and heel). As I say, they will run a little small, so consider purchasing a half size larger than normal, and they will take a day or two of break in before you really feel the comfort on the tops and sides (the soles will feel amazing, however, the first second you put them on.)

They are one of my favorite shoes. I highly recommend them. Five stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2012
Now, I am just starting to jog - I am no pro runner - but I love these shoes! They are ridiculously comfortable and super cute. I bought a 1/2 size up, as other reviewers recommended, but I'm not sure I needed to as there is lots of extra room in the toe area. I also have a super wide foot, and the shoe fits perfectly without ordering a wide size. Love them!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2013
I just recently got a gym membership & I wanted to get a new pair of gym shoes. I've had my former pair of gym shoes since 2006! While they are still in good shape & holding on, I was looking for a more light-weight pair with more comfort and cushion. Normally, I'm an Adidas kind of gal because they have always lasted me a REALLY long time without falling apart on me. However, I've heard good things about Asics and their running shoes. When I saw this pair, what attracted me most was the price, and I was willing to give them a try. Glad I did! I feel like I'm walking on air! I never want to take them off! I normally wear a size 10, but I decided to go with a 10.5 because I've read that Asics can run a bit small. The 10.5's fit fine and my feet have plenty of room and don't feel smooshed. There's no need to break these shoes in because they feel amazing the second you get them on! I wanted to order another pair right after I got my first pair, but they don't have my size available. I hope they get more in soon! Bottom line: If you're looking for a good running/athletic shoe, look no further! You will not be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
I've owned these shoes for over 2 years. I use it on (average) 7-8 mile runs about 3-4 times a week. I initially had issues with my knees when I was first using it as I am used to low volume/minimalist shoes. I figured cushioning should be nice on a long distance running shoe but it wasn't the case. I went back to my old (nike free run) shoes for training and then used this pair about once a week until I noticed that it was fully broken in. I still got the occasional knee ache but it wasn't as bad. Now, I use it to alternate with my new Asics Blurr or when doing long walks or just roaming around town. The purple color is pretty and fashionable. It is a good shoe for the price and value, but it is not perfect. For more serious running consider other options such as the Brooks Ghost etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2013
Tried to find the ASICS Gel Cumulus 11 to replace my old ones, but they were on sale everywhere and consequently sold out everywhere! As were the Cumulus 13. So, I thought I'd try these in the meantime and ended up getting plantar fasciitis after running in them 3 or 4 times!!! Never had a problem with ASICS before, so didn't think a different model would matter... Ran two marathons and a 50 miler in the Cumulus 11 and never had an injury. Not sure what the deal was with the GEL-Pulse. I replaced the insole with one recommended by the podiatrist and they seem to be okay now, but the damage is already done! Just stick with the model that works!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 5, 2013
These are my favorite running shoes. I don't know what it is about them but the design eliminates knee pain I get in any other shoe. I've tried Nike and then Saucony after being fitted at a top running store. I bought these on Amazon without trying in the store and they are perfect. I only wish I could find them in my size again. I was fitted again for a replacement pair and they put me back into a newer ASICS model but the knee pain is back and I ended having to take a break from running for a week. Love this model.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2013
I use these shoes for Step aerobics and a class called RIPPED which has a lot of plyometrics (jumping) and interval training and these shoes provide enough foot support. I tried a couple of pair of the more minimal or low profile shoes (NB minimus, and a couple Nike shoes) and while they are cuter they just do not provide enough support and I ended up with a little knee pain, foot pain, etc. I am very athletic and work out a lot and I highly recommend these shoes. If they were as cute as the low profile type I would give them five stars! I did change out the shoe strings to match the raspberry pink to liven them up a bit and they are cute enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
I've been trying to find something to replace my Asics Nimbus 9 (size 6), which I've absolutely loved. These size 6 felt way too small. I'm also angry that even though it's supposed to be free returns (I'm an Amazon Prime member), these shoes were sent in a Tyvek envelope, so that in order to return them I had to go buy something to return them in. Amazon should reimburse me the $7.10 I had to spend to buy return packaging. Will probably not buy shoes again from Amazon for this reason -- will stick with Zappos which is always spot-on with returns!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
These ASICS sneakers were a perfect fit. They are light and airy and support well. I have had 2 knee replacements and training to walk a 5K. These were Exactly what i Expected. I would purchase this item again. It was a great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here