Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Fergie PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 43 reviews
on July 7, 2012
Great product, and works as advertised. I have a Nikon D3200 and this battery Grip works fantastic! I believe it was originally intended for the D3100 but it works perfectly fine with the D3200, for those of you who have that camera and are looking at this as an option. The only thing you should know if you do have a D3200 is that you will not be able to store the battery latch door inside the compartment they made to hold it while you use the grip. The battery door latch on the D3200 is a bit to large, but no worries, just throw that bad boy in a plastic bag and put it in your camera bag/backpack and everything will be ok. Happy Shooting.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2013
Pros: Like others have said it work if at least 1 of the 2 batteries have the chip that Nikon looks for. The 2nd can be a cheap non chip battery that you might have ended up with before sellers were listing they wouldn't work with your camera.
It works for vertical shots even has a shutter button on the side so taking the shot is easy.
Has a compartment to hold the battery door that has to be removed to use this grip.
Screw to secure it to the camera through the camera's tripod screw hole. Also has it's own tripod mount hole so you can still use it on a tripod.

Con's: Has to use a shutter cable for the shutter button to work (I know not a fault of this product so much as the camera itself, but still a little annoying to have to have the cable there).
You have to remove the battery compartment door to use it (again not this products fault).

Overall does what it says it will, and seems to be made well, will have to wait and see how well it holds up over time.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2015
Played with my grip for two days now. My biggest issue with it is with the little battery clip holder that locks the battery into place. One of the two (the right one, the important one), kept unlocking and letting the battery loose. Fixed it by jamming something behind it to keep it locked. It is cheap construction, but feels sturdy enough. It's $24. What do you want? Comfortable in my hands, looks good on the camera. Holds two batteries (insert the right one first). Took a little ingenuity to fix my issue, but overall, I'm happy with my purchase and would buy it again. The battery door is also a little loose, like the SD card door on the camera, but my fix on the battery clip also helps with the door. The door being loose doesn't affect the performance, just the feel. If you're looking for a decent vertical grip and don't want to spend a fortune, I would recommend this one. They probably would replace mine with the issue, but I'm satisfied with my fix. It works!

Edit: Day 3, screwed the base onto my tripod mind and the built in screw backed out. Not very secure. I may pull it out and try to Gorilla Glue it back in.

Edit: Now the tripod socket freely spins and is stuck to my flash bracket!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2016
This is so handy. I bought this for my D3100. Does exactly what it says it will do. I do not like having the strap my neck all the time. If you have never used a hand strap it does take a little bit to get used to it but you will love it. I like having the grip and shutter button on both sides for and easy side ways shot. i dont shoot that way very often but makes it more comfortable when I do. I have had this for almost 3 years and it works just as good as it did on day one. It is a little cheaply manufactured in some areas, like the extra shutter button and the bottom set screw for the strap. But even so it has held up wonderfully for how much use I have gotten out of it and that make the price even that much more better! I haven't had any issues during a shoot and never run out of battery! I would recommend it to anyone and when the day comes I have to buy another one I will by this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
I'm satisfied with this battery grip, I was a bit reluctant at first seeing some of the reviews but I decided to bite the bullet. I'm glad I did, it fits my D3200 perfectly and everything works as it should. The battery door even fits into the little slot on the part that makes contact with the camera, I'm not sure if they've changed the design for it or something or if I did something different from other reviewers but it fits. I currently only have one battery so I can't really say how well it works with two installed but I imagine it would just double the battery life. Overall I am very pleased with this grip, it's a shame that Nikon doesn't design their lower end DSLRs to have battery grips the need for a cable for the secondary shutter button is a bit lame.
review image
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2013
I must say that i was hesitant about this grip at first but im now glad that i puchased it, I bought this grip for my Nikon D3200 because i wanted a bigger feel, not that the D3200 isn't already sexy, the feel of this grip isn't as cheap as others say it is and the detached battery door DOES fit in the storage compartment on the grip, everything works just fine even the vertical button used for portrait mode. What i like the most about this grip is the option to install two EN-EL 14 batteries (It will work with only one). With two battery packs installed you can get about 2000 shots under normal temp (NO flash use) or (1500 shots with 50% flash use). I would recommend this battery grip to anyone looking for a add on to thier camera.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2013
I ordered and received this about a week ago. I plugged it into my D3200 as instructed and it works just fine. I have the original Nikon EN-EL14 battery alone inserted in the battery grip. I am waiting on my OEM off-brand battery to charge before trying it along side the original battery.

I did have to remove the battery door on the bottom side of my camera, but if you open the door and hold the door at a 45-degree angle, the door comes right off.

I am not fond of leaving the rubber flap open on the side of my camera where the cable plugs into, but it is only a small complaint, and I can live with it.

I like the way it adds "badness" to my camera's appearance. It definitely makes it look less like a consumer camera.

I would like a thumb indentation as another reviewer mentioned.

The shutter release works just fine, but you can tell it isn't as nicely made as the original on the camera itself.

In summary, if this thing craps out on me in a year or two, I would definitely still buy another one. It has my full recommendation.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2013
Works fine with my D3200. Build quality is mediocre at best. I hit a pole while longboarding (skateboarding downhill) at 20-25MPH and this grip saved my camera and lens. It got a slight crack in it, but still works fine and is structurally sound. Luckily the only other damage to my camera/lens was a scratch on my Nikon 10-24mm's lens hood and the cable connecting the grip to my camera broke. But other than that, everything was fine, and I have this grip to thank for that.

Edit: I used this grip with two Nikon batteries. Not sure how it fares with aftermarkets.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Great Product!~ Fits perfectly and allows me double the shoot time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2016
After having for about 60 days and using on the weekend, the battery won't stay in place making the back battery door constantly opening in mid picture. Other then that it's a great product, dual battery keeps camera powered for hours.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse