Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Perception Sport Pescador 12 Angler Kayak (Red)
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 26, 2012
This kayak is by far the best deal on a high end kayak out there today...it's one of the few kayaks out there that is at a price point that let's starter's and people on a budget get into the sport but at the same time is such a high quality and nice yak that you don't realy ever need to upgrade from it In the kayak market it's almost always an all or nothing type of deal.....you either pay a grand or close to it (sometimes much more) to get a nice kayak that gives a person high quality and lots of versatility or you can go the cheaper route that gets you on the water in a hurry but usualy with the cheaper kayaks the build quality suffer's and they usualy under perform which in turn makes you want to upgrade making you wish you spent the extra bit the first time around.

With the Pescador it's unique in that it put's you in the high end side in the kayak world without the price...

The best thing about this kayak is that it is actualy a re-named 2008 Wilderness Systems Tarpon 120 with a different label and actually built by the same company as the Tarpon 120. I fell in Love with the Tarpon 120 back in 2008 when I first paddled one but was bummed out because I the price tag on those boats were between $900 and $1000 and I could not afford one. I was so happy to find out the Pescador is an exact copy of my favorite boat and I bought two; one for me and one for my wife and ended up selling the two kayaks we already had (Big Kahuna Ocean Kayak and a Heritage Redfish 12')

Some of you by now are probably wondering "how could this be a renamed tarpon 120" and I will tell you this is because Wilderness systems/Perception are owned by the same company which is confluence water sports...in 2009 Wilderness systems made a few small changes to the Tarpon 120 (some of the changes were good and some were not) and instead of throwing away the mold for the old Tarpon 120 they re used it with the Perception brand calling it the "Pescador" and are selling it for almost half the price as the Tarpon 120.

This kayak sells for between $499.99 - $699.99 sometimes on sale for a little less Academy sports usualy has the best price for this kayak which is $499.99 but if you buy from Academy you get only one choice in color which is red....fortunatly I like red and this is a safe color to have on the water so I bought mine at academy.....the next best place to get this kayak is Gander mountain and they actualy have this kayak on sale at the time of my review for around $460 but shipping charges will up this total up quite a bit...the good thing about buying from gander mountain is you get quite a few choices in what color you want....my favorite being the "sand color" but on the flip side this is not a safe color to have on the water.

West Marine also sells this kayak occasianly and will match any competitor's price...west marine also sells another kayak that is made by confluence that is identical in design to the tarpon 120/pescador called a "pompano 120"....comes with nice accessories like anchor system,extra rod holders,scupper plugs etc but unfortunatly does not come with the nice pescador seat...but still it's good to keep in mind the west marine option in case you cannot find the pescador anymore.

I hope you all can have the opportunity to purchase this great yak as word has it that it will be taken off the market to satisfy kayak specialty stores who have been upset for loosing sales of there much more expensive Tarpon 120's they are trying to sell because of the Pescadore.
Tight lines everyone
55 comments| 147 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2012
I love it. I'm 5'9 260 lbs and love this Kayak. This is the 1st Kayak I have ever owned. I rolled it once but once you learn your center of balance you are fine. I've taken it on the rivers & can move with or against the tides. It has a nice seating well & the seat is very comfortable as I have already fished & Yakked for over 6 hours numerous times in it. Get it, Get on the water,& go have some fun
44 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2012
I have had this kayak for about three weeks now. It is my first owned kayak. I have rented many before and finally broke down to get my own. Once i first put it in the water i wanted to see how well i could lean to know my limits. It was actually a good amount. The yak is a little wobbly at first but once you find center and know your limits it is by far the best as well as easy to manuever kayak i have ridden in. Fishing from it is very nice with a rod holder in the front a rod holder in the rear and a very nice drink holder. I reccomend tthis kayak to everyone from beginers to experts.
22 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
As a 30 year kayaker and after owning many SOT's like the WS Tarpon 160, Perception Search 15', Ocean Kayak Prowler's in 13' and 15', Bic Scapa 15', and finally my all time favorite, Ocean Kayak Prowler T (Trident), this Pescador is a good 12' kayak. And yes, it's a older WS Tarpon design that works well. If you visit West Marine online (or store) they have this same kayak called the Pompano 120 in yellow or sand for $450., sometimes a little less if on frequent sale. It does not come with a seat, but you can add a very comfortable Surf to Summit seat for under $100. that is more comfortable with better support than the Pescador/Tarpon seat..by far. The problem with the Pescador seat is that it sits low and usually in a inch of water, depending on your weight (usually over 185lbs). Where as the aftermarket seat Surf to Summit raises you a little higher and gives you a dryer butt.
The Pompano is completely set up for fishing and includes rod holders and perimeter lines that are set up for anchor and safety grabs. And if you purchase online or in store at West Marine, you have NO SHIPPING charges.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2012
After reading many reviews, I decided to purchase the Pescador 12 at a local Sports Authority last spring. After a year of use, I have to agree with almost all of the positive comments given already. I don't know if it has been pointed out yet, but this is also the only kayak I could find near it's price that has accommodations for an after market rudder kit. I recently purchased another kayak with a rudder and find it very useful for my needs so glad it is an option with the Pescador. I have found one negative that larger paddlers may want to consider. Though I and my gear come in around 100 lbs less than it's specified 350 lbs weight capacity, it takes on a good bit of water with the front scupper plugs removed. I find that unless those plugs are in place, water comes up to the front edge of the center access hatch, not allowing me to open it without water getting in. I often surf launch where it is best to have all of the plugs removed. Once out past the surf, I need to install those front plugs then bail some water out of I need to access that center hatch. I can see why they have some Bungie staps located to cross over that hatch to help keep it secure. If that tupperware type hatch cover should get dislodged at the wrong time, it could be a major problem.
For this reason, I would say a more realistic max weight capacity for this kayak should be around 200 lbs.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2015
For the price this has got to be hands down the best fishing kayak on the market. I Bought this as a backup for my friends to use when they visit. Now it is my primary yak. My other kayak (a modern model of the same kayak with a higher end brand name made by the same parent company) cost well over $1000. Still money well spent for a sport that I love, and if I had bought this first I would still want the more expensive one just to know if it was that much better. The stability is great, the kayak is fast and nimble even loaded, the weight and carrying capacity are phenominal. With full gear (fish finder, coffee warmer, car battery, tackle boxes, rods, rod holders, anchor system, seat, safety gear, dry box, dry bag, and my 230lbs it still sits plenty high above water. If you havnt tried one this is a great way to fish. I rarely take out my boat anymore. If you are wavering don't. This is a fantastic value on a top notch product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
Love this kayak. Have taken out numerous times. The only drawbacks I see is that it has an anchor cleat and rod holder instead of two rod holders right be the seat (I personally find the cleat useless). Also the back rest of the seat tightens with straps and can come loose while kayaking but it is very easy to readjust. Paddle holder is easy to use and there is ample opportunity to access the inside of the kayak if need be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
This is a great kayak! For me, the 12 foot length is perfect. The kayak tracks great through the water, is very easy to paddle and maneuver and can be handled by one person (much easier with two people, though) and I love that an anchor is included with it. I've used it to go through the mangrove trails as well as rivers and the kayak performs wonderfully. The seat is very comfortable, too. You can fish for several hours at a time comfortably. Before I bought this kayak, I used rental kayaks and had to constantly adjust the back rest. On this kayak, I adjusted the back rest when I first used it and never had to adjust it again.

I have changed a couple of things just to customize the kayak for my personal liking but it truly is great just the way it comes. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2014
I'm far from an experienced kayak-er but did a fair bit of on-line and in-store research before purchasing. The Perception Pescador was my top choice in the price point I was looking for and upon arrival it did not disappoint. Have only been out a few times but no problems to report and very happy with the buy. I actually got two of them and the family is getting great use from them both.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2012
Very nice kayak, stable, quick and roomy. Bulky but easy for a grown man to carry alone. Lots of storage and room to customize.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 30 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here