Industrial Deals HPC Trade in your textbooks Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Listen for a chance to win STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
68


on December 9, 2013
I made this hat as gift to my husband and he seems to like it very much. It is cold here, really cold and he really needed a good warm hat that was able to protect his ears while he was working. I like the material, the softness and the great protection, i appreciate even the water resistant treatment.
The only thing that is not that positive, is the size. It wears a little small.
My husband says that he has a big head, so he was expecting it to happen (we picked an extra large), but still, it could fit a little better without being too large and letting the cold pass.
Beside that, it is a very nice product and it seems worth the price.
Carhartt always makes me happy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 31, 2013
It's been around zero F with -20 windchills here in the Twin Cities. I haven't spent extended periods (such as ice fishing for hours in the open) out in this weather, but I've been out long enough (shoveling and blowing snow for an hour at a time) to know this cap is warm enough to keep me comfortable in crummy weather. This cap's other great virtue is its versatility - ear flaps up or down, secured underneath the chin, or flapping like a hound's ears, it adapts to your need at the moment. Flip the whole thing down and the back of your neck is warm, too. The Velcro patches on the ends of the flaps are big enough to engage each other readily, yet are easy to undo. As for size: my noggin's a size 7 and 3/4, and this cap broke in just enough so that's it's not a distraction for being uncomfortably tight. It's snug enough that I never need to worry about the wind blowing it away. The fleece lining is just right: enough to keep you warm, but not so bulky that you can't fold and stuff the cap in your jacket pocket one-handed when you walk in the door. I'm very pleased with this cap. I wear it all the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 29, 2014
Overall, it's a very good cap: windproof, light, adjustable flaps; it's comfortable and it's warm. I have worn it in below zero weather and it kept me warm and snug. That being said, I have two issues with the cap that caused me to drop the rating down to four stars. The sizes run small. Luckily I purchased the Large/X-Large. It fits comfortably snug and my hat size is 7 3/8. A note to the manufacturer: Add a third larger size to this collection and you will sell more hats! Secondly, the hat has a tendency to position itself on the head such that the brim tends to obscure vision. I realize this can be an asset in windy weather, but under normal conditions, having to periodically adjust one's hat to see becomes a source of mild irritation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 10, 2013
I was looking for a new winter hat with earflaps when I saw a different one than much like this with a baseball-style bill. I kept searching and eventually found this Carhartt hat and chose to get this instead of some brand/manufactuere I've never heard of before.

I currently live in Massachusetts and this hat has been okay in keeping my head warm this past winter, but I do wish it had a little more insulation. I remember some really cold winters from when I used to live in Maine and I suspect this hat might keep me warm during late fall and early spring but I would not expect it to keep me warm when it's below freezing. For really cold temperatures I'd look towards Carhartt's trapper hat: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B008H4ASPI/. I've not tried this other hat so I cannot say how good it actually is.

A few tips for others when using this hat, do not try to line the velcro up perfectly underneath your chin. If you do there will be gaps between the earflaps and your ears. Instead, just criss-cross the velcro under your chin for the best coverage. Also, undoing the velcro can be a bit loud in your left ear. If it's a bother, I'd recommend covering your left ear while you undo the velco with your right hand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 20, 2014
The first time i bought this cap was years ago. When I gave it to my dad a large animal veterinarian & sheep ranch he looked at the strap for under the chin and thought I was crazy than wore it. We live in North Dakota where it can be very cold and always windy. The being insulated kept his head warm like all his other winter caps. But what happened when he wore this for the first time was he didn't have to work about it blowing off his head. So now this cap is the only cap he wears. If you live where it is cold and or windy buy this cap it to s worth the money. We bought two more this year just so we always have at least to clean. He has a very dirt job.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 13, 2012
I just got this cap and was able to use it only a couple of times, but the reasons I bought it are: that it is machine washable, that it keeps my head warm (nicely insulated), protects my ears from the cold and sun, and the company name stands for quality. I wore it on a couple of runs and it does all it claims. It keeps my head/ears protected and warm, it protects my eyes from the sun. I love that it is machine washable, because after a few uses, it will need it. Don't know how it will hold up, but I expect it will do fine. It is nicely insulated and the chin strap is a great idea for windy days when a cap can easily fly away. The only concern is, and this would be for any hat that covered the ears, hearing my surroundings gets thrown off a bit. It's an adjustment, but I am glad that I got it for it does all that it says so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2015
I love this cap and use it daily during Minnesota winters. This will be its third season coming up, and there's very little wear and tear. It's comfortable for extended periods (more than an hour of walking or working outside). Only seriously cold and windy weather (absolute temperature or windchill below - 30 °F) requires more head coverage than this provides. I wish there was a choice of color, but that's a pretty minor quibble.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2011
I have a big head. 7&5/8. The X-XL size comes close, but the fit is a little snug. With time it'll probaby stretch out so I'm not going to return it. The company needs to make a separate XL size for us mellon heads. Quality is top notch. Keeps me warm, and generous ear flaps offer good protection from wind and cold. I also love that it's rain proof. Hard to find a hat like this. Next time guys, GO BIGGER!
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2014
This hat works well for me. I had a past experience in Colorado where my ears were exposed in the cold and really hurt. I have since been looking for a brimmed hat like a baseball hat with ear flaps. I was about to get a military hat when I saw this. I do not like the brown color but the only other choice was black and not in stock. So I look like a UPS guy, but my ears are warm. I would buy more if they had a better color selection. RED would be good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 10, 2014
I'm usually not a big fan of caps, they never seem to fit right or feel right on my head. But then I ordered this cap and was amazed at how well it fit and how comfortable it was to wear. The quilting is soft, warm, and comfortable. And the ear flaps are great for keeping your ears warm and the wind out. It is my absolute favorite cap and I now wear it everyday. I am buying another while their still available. Highly Recommend!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here