BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment TNF TNF TNF  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now HTL17_gno



These are not the best tights I own. That title goes to the Saucony AmpPro2 Training Tight. These New Balance tights, however, do have a few advantages over other tights on the market. First of all, depending on when and where you buy them, these are anywhere from one-third to one-fifth of the price of "average" tights, and an even lower percentage of a few other high-end compression and wicking tights. They offer good comfort, decent compression, and some insulation from the cold. There are no frills, other than a few reflective seams and logos to help with visibility issues late at night or early in the morning. The fabric is comfortable, flexible, and stretchy without bunching up, pulling, and overlapping. They are comfortable enough to sleep in, however, they do not provide the recovery effects of some tights and they didn't help with any of my strains or runner's knee. (Some companies advertise "recovery" tights, and some of those do help with injuries.) The New Balance brand is reputable, so it's no surprise what these tights do well: keep my legs warm enough in cool weather, stay comfortable, and look good. In short, there is really nothing much special about these tights, other than they offer a lower price point for entry into the world of performance running gear and they deliver good, but not great, performance for that cost, making it a solid four star product.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
Are these compression tights? Nope. Don't get your hopes up. But they're a great layer for running in. I actually used these to complete my Batman costume for a Warrior Dash 5k mud-run. They held up well in all the mud, and washed clean afterwards. And they looked great to boot. Just don't pay more than $16 for these - that's what Sierra Trading Post is charging. I was screwed by SportsShoes Unlimited and paid about $30, but it's my own fault for not doing my homework. Live and learn, right?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
First thing to note - SportShoes is a UK based company and as such, even though this is advertised as large, it is a UK large which is a US medium. The shipping (since it was from the UK) took longer than expected too, however not outside the range they said, so if you want these for the winter, buy them soon or there won't be much winter left.

Even though it is a size too small, they still fit well. Makes running in the winter much more bearable and for the price, you really can't beat it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2011
My son runs junior high cross country and due to his size I was unable to find running tights to fit him. I could not find any made for "youth" just men or women. I did find these and they came in an xsmall and xxsmall which was great. I was able to use the company's size guide to figure out what size to order (3inches between sizes). My son wears a 12 slim and was able to wear the xsmall mens leggings, they fit length and waist. Also liked the draw string waist. They are very good quality as well. I hope this helps others that are struggling to find running tights to fit their "youth"
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2013
The tights are as I expected--I have been wearing this brand for years--but, unfortunately I did not realize that foreign sizing was used so the medium (US size) that I ordered came as small, (foreign size medium becomes US size small). As a result my wife got a new pair of tights. So next time I'll order large--hoping it will arrive in medium (US size). Since I have always bought my tights in a local store, sizing is not a problem because I can try them on. You should have a notice about the different sizing standards.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2013
Great tight. Foot holes are a bit small. As a US customer, I ordered a medium, and received a UK sized medium (US size small). I'm 6'4" and 200 lbs. Luckily, I am chicken-legged so these fit but barely. Ultimately they are functioning as compression tights for a fraction of the cost.

I've been wearing them on my bike for cold-weather commuting under rain pants. Seem to hold up okay so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2016
I bought these as a Christmas present for my dad who runs every day. He said they were pretty tight. I'm not sure if he ever even used them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2012
I bought these a while ago, and haven't really used them because it's not comfortable. The material is a little itchy and the seams are quite large (which I don't like). The ankle also doesn't stretch at all, which made it hard to put on since it has to go over the heel.

In the end, my sister let me use her pair of New Balance women's running tights, which are much more comfortable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2011
I bought these with the expectation that they would be too large, even for a small. Most things fit too large or too small for me, so I always have to just deal with it since I am one of those rare "thin-fit" guys. These fit on-the-money and will fit better once they get washed.

On another note...Great deal and shipped FAAASSSTTT! Thanks Amazon!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
I would buy these again, no doubts. However I received the wrong size in this order and asked to return it. It turns out the merchant was in the UK - so I wasn't about to ship a $25.00 international for exchange. My fault for not buying from merchant in the USA.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here