Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: ASICS Men's GEL-DS Racer 9 Running Shoe,Blue/Neon Green/White,15 M US
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 14, 2013
Let's just say this up front: this is not a casual running shoe. It's a racing shoe (though not technically a racing flat), and it's a good one at that. It's basically a lighter weight version of the DS Trainer (my regular running shoe), and as such it makes a great choice for running any race in, from a 5K up to a half marathon. I've had good luck with it at all of those distances, though I've opted to stick with the slightly more cushioned DS Trainer for a full marathon (I suspect very fast and lightweight runners could get away with it, but I'm about 180 lbs and run a 3:30-ish marathon).

Minus one review star for the unnecessarily flashy color scheme. Come on, ASICS; how about slightly subtler colors for the Racer 10?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2012
I ordered these a half size bigger as suggested by a local running store. I did my fastest time in a 5k in almost 3 years in them in 90 degree heat at that, these shoes felt almost like nothing was there.I am a 200 lb 6'2" runner, 50-60 miles a week, normally wear a nuetral cushion shoe, and these provided good cushioning and support for me to race in. I am no shoe expert but have tried many flats and others like the kinvaras and have finally found what works for me. I would recommend these shoes to anyone who wants a light weight racer that still provides ample cushioning.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2014
I've had these for a year, and I don't wear them that often. I like to alternate my workout shoes. I'd say I average about 2-3 days a week with these, and they've started to get holes in the bottom.

The shoe is extremely comfortable, and I love the style, but I expect my shoes to last longer. I've got much older Asics that are still kicking.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
I am a very loyal Asics running shoe buyer. I tried a lot of other brands: adidias,nike, brooks, saucony. But I feel most comfortable with Asics and that for almost 10 years. Lately I run a lot in bootcamp classes where sprinting and HIT is very common. My normal outdoor running shoes had too much cushion material and felt too high. I bought this shoe and it is perfect: light weight but gives me still enough stability and cushion so that my knees don't hurt while sprinting.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2014
My husband LOVED these shoes; the look, the lightweight comfort and the flexibility. However, they were too narrow in the toes and he had trouble with his little toes rubbing on the shoes, which he couldn't handle. So we had to return them. Unfortunately, they didn't have a wide width, or we would have tried that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
Several observations. First the negatives.
1. Shoe runs a bit small and narrow. Not enough to return. Just not as comfortable and roomy as the cumulus.

2. Also, if you ever run on a gravel surface expect to stop occasionally to remove stones from the sole. And if the stone gets caught in one of the water drain holes prepare for a bit of pain as the insole will not protect you.

The positives;
1. Extremely light. I actually shaved 3 minutes off my best 8 mile run the first time I used them.
2. Comfortable. They cradled my foot very nicely.
3. Very breathable. Keeps the temperature down.
4. Looks great.
Overall, highly recommended. I originally bought them for races only but quickly decided they would be my every run shoe.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2012
I love my new Asics,I've buying this brand of shoes for quite a few years now,always like their designs and
their comfortability,these ones are very light,an awesome combination of colours,and they are different from the average pair of shoes,the way I like it.A special mention to Amazon,no complains whatsoever,I ordered half a size too small,after I mentioned and returned the sneakers to them for an exchange pair,it was organized and delivered very shortly after,I've been buying stuff from Amazon way back and they always provide a service 2nd to none.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 7, 2014
We were a little nervous ordering these with all the reviews saying you needed to size up however my sons true size worked in these well. So dont go based on the reviews. Best bet would be to find in a store and try them on before ordering, if not then just be ready to return if needed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
I'm actually a girl who bought these for myself and I don't even care that they're men's sneakers. I get lots of compliments on them. SO lightweight, I feel like I'm wearing nothing on my feet. I had no idea they had an aerated, "waffle" design on the soles of the shoe so if running conditions are wet/damp/muddy, I wouldn't advise wearing them because your feet will get wet in a split second. With that being mentioned, if you know for sure the conditions are dry, these are the sneakers you want!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2012
These shoes are GREAT! The fit is very true to size, however the sides are a bit narrow. The shoes are super light weight and offer awesome ventilation. They're well designed and incredibly comfortable. I run every other day religiously and these shoes provide excellent support and cushioning.

Highly recommend these!

Cheers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here