Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Beauty & Grooming Book House Cleaning ManchesterByTheSea ManchesterByTheSea ManchesterByTheSea  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis LaLa GNO Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
Color: Green|Change
Price:$324.00+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 17 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on November 13, 2013
This review is for the Marmot Limelight 3P 3-Season Backpacking Tent.

I wanted to get a few trips out with this tent before giving a review.

. 1) Pinchot Trail Lackawanna State Forest - (2 adults) 2 days 35° to 17° heavy wind gusts, light snow. (image posted below)
. 2) Musser Scout Reservation - (Solo) 2 days 45° - 60°
. 3) Palmyra cove Nature park - (My son 11 yr old and myself) 1 day 45° Heavy Rain.
. 4) Camp Delmont - (solo) 2 days 45° - 60°
. 5) Hickory Run State Park - (solo) 2 days 45° - 50°
. 6) Camp Grice Solo 2 days 25° - 40° used a Coleman Black Cat type heater and was toasty warm all weekend.
. 7) Ockanickon Scout Reservation solo 2 days 45° - 65° setup on wood platform.
. 8) Brendan T Byrne State Forest my son and another scout used the tent, 40°- 55° rained the entire weekend.

My build - 5' 9" 215 lbs.

I have no negative comments about this tent it has worked flawlessly and it is extremely easy to setup.
The tent is comfortable for two adults and there's a bit of room that you can place some clothes, boots and such.
The vestibule is OK for a 65 litre pack, and is nice to cook in, I store my pack in one side and cook in the other side.
I love this for solo (not for backpacking) camping as I can easily dress in the tent. I looked into the 2 person version but was afraid to take a chance because of the reviews on it being a leaker! UPDATE I have recently purchased two of the two person Limelight's one for my Brother and one for my son, after reading the reviews a little more thoroughly I felt that the two person was worth the chance at $160.00 a piece.

The 3p is bit heavy for Solo Backpacking at 6.5 lbs. but with 2 guys sharing the weight, it is a breeze. I don't mind the weight and have adjusted my pack accordingly for short hikes. I roll up my sleeping bag with the tent and stuff it in the lower compartment of my pack, the poles are attached to the side of the backpack.
The Marmot Limelight 3p tent comes with a footprint and everything is color coded to insure a fast and easy setup. The tent stakes are aluminum and do the job. However a good upgrade is the MSR Groundhog stakes, and if weight isn't an issue and you plan on camping in below freezing temps, I would suggest at least 2 heavy spike type stakes for the vestibule (I learned this the hard way on our canoe trip).

Doors are functional, zippers work well, a nice touch is the reflective areas of the tent (no stealth camping here).

I read every review on this tent before purchasing before I made my final decision
REI 's website has 85 reviews and here are the cons out of those 85 reviews

Heavy (13)
Condensation (7)
Too cramped (3)

My thoughts on the cons,

Heavy, hmmm. well let me say this: This is not for someone that is into ultralight backpacking, this tent is even a bit heavy for the light backpacker but the price reflects that. Plus the fact that it's a three person tent makes it a bad choice for a light backpacker. I don't mind the weight for short backpacking trips or my annual canoe trips as I like having a freestanding tent with room for 2 adults.
I like the added room because if you have some bad weather where you are stuck in the tent for any length of time, you can at least sit around and play cards or something to keep busy. It's also nice as this is fairly comfortable for two adults even with getting dressed in the morning, if you buddy up, you ca split the tent between the two of you and I'm sure you could get the weight fairly even so that would be about 3.5 lbs each!

Condensation, all of my trips I had 0 Condensation on the inside of the tent, only on the inside of the fly and that was only on the Pinchot Trip, I just wanted to make that clear as others just say they have condensation.

Too cramped, lets address that issue as well, pretty much anytime you buy a tent you always subtract a person from what the manufacturer states for example, a 3 man = 2 man, 4 man = 3 man, etc... This tent has more than enough room for two adults.

It's really a shame that folks give a lesser rating when the product is functioning as it should.

**UPDATE, just wanted to update this review,
. 9) Used this again late March 2014 on a canoe trip, Canoe Camping The Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Tent was shared with my brother 6' 175 lbs
Tent perform flawlessly again. Temp averaged 25° - 35° wind gusts up to 25 MPH

Go to

https://sites.google.com/site/backpackingwithsqwib/journal-blog/canoe-camping-the-delaware-water-gap-national-recreation-area

for more pics on the tent on this trip
review image
22 comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
I got this tent to replace our trusty old tent of many years that decided to give out during a rainstorm. I'm very happy with the tent. This is actually the first time I have had fun putting a tent together. I have a feeling we will be using this tent even longer than our old trusty tent (R.I.P old blue).

Pros:
Looks great
Puts together VERY EASILY
Very sturdy
Great storage

Cons:
Slightly smaller than I was expecting, but that was my fault for thinking our old tent was a three person tent, or maybe it is time for me to lose weight!! A queen size air mattress just fits in the tent, leaving no room for anything else on the floor.

**Update**
A year and a half later we still love this tent. This summer we went camping and took our newly adopted dog with us. Since he wasn't trained just yet I had to clip his leash to the tent pole so he could lay down in the tent while we set up our campsite. While doing this something (I have no idea what it was) made our dog decide to give chase. I turned my head and all I saw was our dog running full speed ahead with the tent flying behind him. We gave chase but were nowhere near as fast as him. About 200 yards away the tent got hung up on a tree and caused the pole to bend and the leash slipped off the pole. We managed to catch up with him shortly after and was dreading what shape the tent was going to be in when we got to it. There was not one single tear in the tent. The pole was bent a little and it was impossible for us to bend it back by hand. We were able to use it without any issues after that and when we got home I was able to bend the pole back into shape using tools. I don't know any other tents that could handle a 30 mph run through the woods and come out without any damage.
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2013
I love this tent. This tent is perfect tent for 2 adults, maybe 3 but it would be a little snug. The set up is very easy. I had my 9 year old and 10 year old set it up and they did it in less than 5 minutes.

Great design. It was really windy and the tent held up great. Kept me warm at night with the full coverage rain fly while others were freezing. I would definitely recommend this product.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
Tent supplied with footprint and gear loft. Simple set up, this tent took no more than 5 minutes to set up right out of the carton it was shipped in. Sturdy design and stays dry in wet conditions.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
I just returned from a trip where we set up camp in a different site every night and I got to put this up and break it down a lot. What a great tent, easy to use, a good size for me @ 6'4" plus loads of gear. Really like the fact that they include a footprint ( ground sheet) to keep everything clean. There is nothing that I don't like about it. Superb.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2012
Previously seduced by the ultra low prices of decent dome tents, I splurged for this lightweight but sturdy tent for its room and overall quality. Ditto to superlatives already stated by other buyers
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
This has been a great tent for the two of us. We've used it about 6 times in the last 2 years. Mostly in the summer or fall. The coldest we've ever had it was down to 48 degrees and some light rain and some heavy winds while camping on the beach. It's true you get some condensation if you're using the rain fly fully closed but it's not that bad. I've started to use a battery fan at night so keep the air flowing better if you're going to keep the fly closed. Very roomy for two people. Three people would be rough. No holes, rips, or anything falling apart yet. It's very well constructed. Not ultralight by any means but it's fast to set up and just a great solid tent for the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2016
Just finished my maiden voyage in the tent, 5 nights in the chihuahua desert. Camped in 5 different locations so got plenty of practice setting it up and taking it down. Easiest and fastest tent ever for setup/take-down. The tent ventilates well even with the rain fly on. Had some very windy nights which did not phase the tent at all, no flapping what soever. Cargo loft is smaller than I had hoped, but useable. Pockets are well placed. 3 person size is perfect for 2 people, like I would expect. Did not have an opportunity to rain test it, but I see no reason that it would not perform perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2012
This tent is so simple its ridiculous. My boyfriend and I went on a road trip this summer and set it up and took it down four different times without a complaint ever. The hardest thing about this tent is to find the perfect little spot for it, which isn't too hard either! It fits easily on any kind of campsite, in and out of the trunk of a honda civic and is so light. Oh! I also took it too a music festival and it was great being about to put it up all by myself annddd later on and surprisingly three extra people (including me!) ended up sleeping in my tent. It worked out well because it was cold out and the snuggling space kept us warm and happy. Thanks Marmot!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2014
I needed a slightly larger tent to replace my NorthFace 2 person tent for car camping and decided to go with Marmot for the first time. For the price you get a very good tent that is well made and easy to assemble. It only rained one night during my recent camping trip but everything stayed nice and dry and the double door really is a nice feature to have if you are going to sleep two as each has their own door and vestibule to keep shoes etc dry but yet still outside of the tent. I like the choice of colors and went with the cool looking green one. Very happy with my choice so far of going with a Marmot.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions

What do customers buy after viewing this item?

Best Selling • Lowest Price

$149.97-$152.96

Top Rated


Need customer service? Click here