Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 257 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 273 reviews
on February 20, 2012
Having been unhappy with most of my choices of walking shoes over the last few decades...despite paying more and more over time, I decided this time I'd check reviews on Amazon...and this particular Avia shoe had an extraordinary percentage of very satisfied buyers.

Add my endorsement to them. This is by far the most comfortable walking shoe I've ever had. Fits like a glove, comfortable to use for extended periods, and the price was excellent.

Did take the advice of a couple of previous buyers and ordered a size larger than normal and that worked out perfect.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
I bought about six pair of these walking shoes in a two year period, they wear out extremely fast (few months), lack any arch support, are too wide and are very cheaply made ( I think they're made of used bubble gum?), in essence they are a really bad shoe! Scientist have recently discovered that these brand of shoes is what is causing the powerful vacuum in outer space. I will never buy this brand of shoes ever again because they have caused several issues with my feet. I only used these for walking and exercising my dog at least three times a day on the community grounds. I have gone back to buying the more expensive quality shoes which also last a heck of a lot longer, are a comfortable fit and provide good arch support. I do have one recommended use for these shoes.....Either at regular burial services or better yet cremations! Caveat Emptor!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2012
While I'm not an old man (yet), I prefer stylistically understated sneakers and walking shoes. I have a tough time finding walking shoes that are not shaped like an overgrown inverted mushroom with florescent coloring. So to speak. :-) And while I've discovered that with shoes, you just can't buy the cheapest pair out there and expect them fit and wear well, but I don't want to pay an extra $50 or $100 dollars just because some famous basketball player endorses them and is being paid millions to do so. So, I was intrigued when I saw these shoes, the AVIA Men's A339M Walking Shoe, while searching the internet. So how are they, you may be asking? Read on.

Pros:
- They are attractive, clean up fairly well when you get some dirt on them, and seem pretty sturdy
- They're lightweight, nicely padded, and the arch support works (for me at least)
- They're all-day comfortable, especially when compared to the shoes they're replacing in my closet
- They are comparatively inexpensive, and cost me just under forty dollars delivered (here on Amazon)
- I usually take either a size 10 ½ or an 11, depending on the manufacturer. Some of the other reviewers noted that they run a little on the small size, so I ordered 11's, and the length is OK for me.

Con:
- They run a bit narrower than most walking shoes. I typically wear a "D", or "normal" width, but I'm on the high side of normal. Some of the reviewers here also noted that these shoes are a bit narrow, but unfortunately, these shoes did not offer a "wide" option here, only an "extra wide", so I ordered the "normal" width. It turns out that these shoes are a little narrow for me, especially in the toe box. They do fit me well enough to be reasonably comfortable, but a "wide" size would have probably fit me perfectly.

Overall, these Avia walking shoes are a definite step up (heh heh) from the last several pair of walking shoes I've bought. I plan on buying another pair when these wear out, provided I can get them in a "wide". Four stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2013
I am a "serious" walker (roughly 1000 miles a year) but I refuse to pay much over $40 for walking shoes. I've had these about six weeks and my opinion so far is that they may be the best pair of true walking shoes I've had yet. My "precise" shoe size is 8 1/2 EEE. I bought these in 9 EEEE (9 XW ?) and the fit is terrific. (I wear socks when I walk, single pair, not "thin" ones.) I attribute the good fit, in part, to the construction of the shoe which has the right kind of padding & lacing to help afford a good, snug, comfortable fit. The shoe is very stable. The soles show little to no sign of wear to date. (I tend to wear out the outside of the sole, and sometimes the whole foresole.) The rest of the shoe exhibits no wear or weakness. As such, I would dub these an excellent value. (Of course, different folks need/like different types of shoes, fit, etc..) If I'm smart I'll buy another pair and put them on the shelf (i.e. before the model or actual build of the shoes changes down the road). Overall, my experience with Avia over the years has been good, especially given their reasonable pricing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
I spent time reviewing a number of walking shoes. I wanted ones that were comfortable yet able to be laced up snug. I also didn't want ones that look too nerdy which I've found walking shoes have a tendency to look like (especially the ones using Velcro instead of laces). I came upon the Avia A339M and immediately noticed they looked more like cross-training athletic shoes. They also had 4 stars with good comments, a great price compared to a majority of the others and qualified for 2 day prime shipping. Well, after receiving these shoes I actually like them more than any athletic / walking shoe I've purchased in a number of years.They are extremely comfortable yet are able to laced up tight for a snug fit. With respect to size, I ordered my normal size of 10.5 (even though I thought of ordering a 1/2 size bigger) but in the wide version as I have found my feet require more room on the sides as I get older. I was a little concerned after reading the other comments (i.e. 'order one size larger', etc.) but after wearing them a few times now I've found the length and width to be perfect! I highly recommend these walking shoes!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2012
I have very wide flat feet. These are light in weight, much lighter than my New Balance. They are nice and wide in the toe box (4E). This is a good thing because I just bought some Asics 4E that pinch my toes. The Avia have a very high arch, I can feel the pad in my arch. This is good for me because I have no natural arch. It feels like a spring in my step. I'm very happy with them. As a bonus, they are inexpensive. I normally buy New Balance, but these were cheaper so I thought I would try them. I'm going to buy another pair. Because of coupons, sadly Amazon doesn't have the best price. Too bad, Amazon is great.

BTW, I'm a 9 4E in New Balance and the 9 4E in these shoes fit perfectly.

Edit: down to three stars for durability. I can get almost a year out of these shoes but my kid gets 4-6 months. I know kids are hard on shoes but still these wear out fast, faster than New Balance or other brands I have bought. My middle son has had a pair for two months and the sole where it sticks to the front of the shoes is already coming apart from the shoe. This was ok when these were $20 but not at $38, better getting New Balance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2012
To think, I almost cancelled my order for two pair of 11.5 4E shoes...these shoes feel as comfortable upon first wearing as my New Balance favorites that I finally had to throw away because they were falling apart (which, btw, although they were 4E, took 3 months to stop pinching my feet). I have six toes on one foot, so I need WIDE...and although the Avia shoes are listed on the Amazon site as 3E, they are actually 4E (and listed as such on the box and the shoe)...and a genuine 4E, unlike some other brands I've had to send back. Both the sizing and width were perfect. These are an unbelievable deal at $30. Buy a pair before they run out of your size.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2013
This is my winter casual shoe (Sperry Topsiders in the summer). It's comfortable. It handles weather well. It's not gaudy. And it was reasonably priced. On the downside for some, it's not that breathable but, for me, I don't want mesh letting in wind and water. For walking and an occasional sprint when I'm late, it's fine and maybe it could handle a bit more but it doesn't look like it would work as a full-fledged running shoe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2013
Have used these shoes for over 5yrs. (not the same pair) First purchased these shoes from Kolhs, then freaked when they decided to remove them from inventory.
Have paid as little as twenty two dollars for these when Kolhs ran their sales! Happy to see them with Amazon, except for the price inflation.
The good with these shoes, they fit great and feel even better then the more expensive walking shoes. Usually get about 3 months from them before they get funky.
The only reason I wont rate these 5 star is the interior heel cuff support has worn thru on most pairs exposing a plastic support to chaff your skin above your heel. this occurs when I use them on the treadmill for winter time exercise. That being said, I still do consider them a good value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2012
Ordered shoes based on reviews. Normally I wear a 10.5 wide. So I ordered a 11 double wide. i probably could have stuck with the 10.5's but they are wearable. Very light, fit good right out of the box. Nice arch support.i am VERY picky about shoes and annoy my wife when going to a shoe store to try on shoes. it can take sometimes hours of trying shoe after shoe only to end up leaving with nothing. I bought these just to have an extra pair for walking based off of shoe ratings on consumer reports.com. Would have given all five stars, but like I said, I am very picky about shoes.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here