Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 76 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 80 reviews
on February 27, 2013
I bought 2 pairs of shoes, the New Balance 1521 and 889, both in 11 4E. Both have the same tread; the 1521 is a bit more expensive, and a bit stronger shoe. I like the 889's and will keep them.

My problem: the cut is very different between the shoes. Most New Balance have a squarish toe box, which fits my foot well. The 1521 is cut at an angle, reducing the toe box area, and just not fitting my foot. A larger shoe would not work for me, as the length and arch are a proper fit.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2013
I just got this shoe, walked a couple miles just on sidewalks around town and they are very very comfortable. I usually get a new insole for arch support, but these have great arch support built right into the sole so I don't need that.

I took the advice of other reviewers, and it resulted in a great fit the first time. Based on their advice, even though I usually wear a size 11 in New Balance shoes, I went for a size 12. I take a normal width usually, I went with normal width on this shoe, and it was just fine. So, I'd say keep that in mind when ordering.

I haven't checked the waterproofness of them yet though. But, I'll be taking them to Antarctica for their "summer" soon, so I'll hopefully check back with an update then!

EDIT: I've been wearing these shoes all winter instead of winter boots. They are...amazing. I live in Cleveland now, grew up in Minnesota, so those both have serious winter. Still, these shoes are amazing...my feet have never been this dry before. Once, just once, when walking around after a snow/rain/mess situation that left basically two-inch deep puddles everywhere, I got just a little water in my shoes because the puddle was so deep a little overflowed over the top of the shoe. It evaporated away through the pores in the gore tex after a couple hours anyway, and all my friends were soaking wet everywhere, so I actually call this yet another success of the shoes. Just buy a pair already!

The government shutdown last fall kept me from Antarctica this past season, but when I go this fall I know what I'll be wearing!
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2014
I like this shoe I don't know about the looks of it, but it feels great on my feet. it is actually a little tighter than most NB, but it is fine, it feels like a more athletic fit than most of the other nb I purchase. I did have one problem with the laces they are hard to start at the 1st eyes, I had to use needle nose pliers to enlarge the holes so I could get the laces through. They came from the factory laced but I wanted them run throught the gater "D" ring. Anyway they are fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2013
OK, so I've been looking for a shoe similar to what New Balance called "the cloud", I don't remember the numerical designation. These shoes, the cloud, were out roughly prior to 2009 and man they were a great all around multi-propose daily wear. Why New Balance stopped production on such a winner is beyond me. That said;

These MO1521's are a well built shoe and I think really have the potential to be as good as the cloud's. But for some reason and several people have complained about this the shoes MOST DEFINITELY run a size to small. I usually wear a 12 comfortably from New Balance, my preference. Having read the reviews of prior purchasers I up sized 13 4E thinking this should work. Well, I really need a 13.5 and the next width wider. Honestly, I need just a tiny amount more room all around and these shoes would be perfect. The one exception is the footbed which is only about 5 sheets of paper thick. So I did add a better footbed which does take up some room but makes the overall fit much better.
Hope this helps anyone thinking of purchasing these shoes. Go a size bigger.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
I read a lot of back and forth reviews on the width of these shoes. Here is my experience:
Normally New Balance shoes fit my foot perfectly, unfortunately this one was a little different. It was wide enough in the front for my toes, but the middle around the arch was really tight. I was going to return them, but decided to see if I could break them in. After 2 weeks of wearing them, I have to say that they broke in perfectly. They are still tight around the arch, but this has been a god send. I have a flat foot and my arch hurts frequently, but this shoe's ability to hug my foot has made walking a pleasure again. I walked 10+ miles in one day and the next day my feet did not hurt one bit...this hasn't happened in years. I also did some hiking and the shoes are pretty water resistant, and man do they grip every surface except one. They are terrible on wet rock, but most shoes are so I'm not docking them for this. Overall, I can not find any part of this shoe that is not to love. They are comfortable and look great. If you buy them, break them in before you give up on them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2013
I have owned several pairs of New Balance Shoes Size 11 EEEE and they have always fit great. This shoe runs smaller and is uncomfortable especially after my feet swell slightly from walking. I should have sent them back and gotten a size larger. It's a shame as they are otherwise well made. Now whenever I go out walking or playing disc golf, I put on a pair of Ozark Trail hiking shoes that I got at Walmart for $20.00. By the way, both the New Balance and Ozark Trail shoes are made in China. Apparently someone changed the standards at the New Balance plant.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
This product is advertised as 4E width and isn't wide enough. I had to return the product which was an easy process. I can understand that definition of shoe width varies slightly from one manufacturer to another; however, I have run into this issue with more than one New Balance product. I have found New Balance shoes that fit when marked 4E and some that do not within the same manufacturer, which is dissapointingly inconsistent.

I would not recommend anyone buy New Balance products until the company improves it's quality control. I recommend buying Reebok products as their width and sizing is consistently of higher quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2013
These felt great on my feet out of the box. I have worn them a lot for about six weeks and hiked about 30 miles over a couple of days on some state park and conservation land trails about two weeks ago. Light pack load but some decent hills at one location. The shoe is comfortable with only some very, very minor discomfort on my right foot, little toe. Might be part of the break in period, They seem pretty sturdy. I wouldn't use them for heavy backpacking or real heavy terrain (I'm getting too old for a lot of that anyway!), but as a casual hiking/walking shoe they are great. They are a little slippery on wet slick surfaces, maybe because they are still new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
I've worn these since August of 2012, and they have performed well in terms of comfort and safety in rain, snow, street hiking, and trail running.

These are waterproof, but remain cool in hot weather. The vibram soles have saved me in snow and and ice by providing a fair amount of grip when compared to regular sneakers. These soles have also performed well in muddy conditions on the various hiking trails in Hawaii.

These are neutral shoes and do not have a rake. These NB1521s fit true to size, whereas the previous model that the 1521 supersedes ran a little narrow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
I got these shoes (11.5 4e) and at first had a hard time with how they were fitting. Pinch in the toe at the top of the box, and it was a bit uncomfortable. So I wanted to return them, but as I said I decided to keep them. I am glad I did. You get used to the pinch, as the show stretches a bit. These are a solid well built hiking shoe and the Goretex and Vibram make it just that. I give it 4 stars because it isn't as wide as older style hikers, and that is really what I was hoping for. But in the end it is NB and they seem to be a very good shoe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here