Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Final Fantasy XIV Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,163 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,759 reviews
on September 12, 2011
First I have to say the negative reviews are puzzling to me, because I dont think those buyers understand what they are buying.

As you know there is 3 versions, I absolutely recommend you spend the money on the XS (99.95) model, the main reason is because it's the only model with a USB port. Which in short term will allow you connect USB HD and play any movies you may of ripped from your DVD's. I have a 4TB array connected with most of my DVD collection, which is close to 1000 movies.

Roku has three type of channels:

Public
Apps
Private

The public channels are the once visible in what is called "Channel Store". Currently there about 300, but channels are added weekly. Looking at fan blogs, there has yet to be a weeks in about 4 months, that at least several channels weren't added.

Now channels can fall into three categories, Pay, Free, and Subscription.

Pay means you pay onetime fee and you get access to the channel, subscriptions are channels like Netflix, Hulu Plus, etc... if you already have those subscriptions, you just add them at no additional cost. If you are an amazon prime customer then you will get access to amazon prime streaming collection, about 9000 movies and shows. You can also rent movies from .99 cents to 3.99. Or you can digitally buy movies, which will then be permanently accessible to you through any device that supports the Amazon channel.

I will admit that half the pay channels are bad, so do your homework before laying out money for any channel that requires either a onetime fee or subscription. You have to understand the Roku is a streaming device, they are not a content provider, so they don't have anything to do with setting prices. That said there are 100's of free channels, especially if you are fan of Video Podcasts from companies live Revision 3 or TWiT. They are all there in HD, and free.

I imagine as time goes on more pay services will become available as well as free once. To give this device a bad rating because you have to pay for some channels, is just typical spoiled attitude. Remember folks who provide these channels have to pay for servers that store the content, bandwidth that delivers the content, and sometimes licensing of the content.

Roku 2 operates on a modified Linux OS. This gives this device a lot of flexibility. Roku has also given out an API so others are writing applications for the device. There are already some games available, again some free, some pay. If you buy the XS model you get a motion controller, similar to the WII one. It's obviously that it's very early in the devices API development. Even though Roku 1 has been around for years, the API flexibility really didn't open up until Roku 2. There is also SD slot so you can upgrade internal memory so you can store games and apps, which you will likely have use for in the coming months, as more apps come out. For example there is one very useful app for Netflix users, called Instant Watcher, it's a onetime fee of $2.99, and give you a lot more flexibility and power to browse the Netflix Streaming Library, you link you Netflix account through this application, and then it allows you to do everything from managing your queue to browse various lists. I discovered a few movies and shows, I would of probably never found on my own.
Second category is Application, which also includes games. That's where the motion controller that comes with the XS model comes in. XS comes with a full version of angry birds, which actually looks and plays quite well. I don't see using Roku to replace my PS3, PC, or WII as gaming platform. But I can see a few possibilities like network wide scrabble; poker, etc... type games and tournaments. There also application, some free some are pay. For example if you got the XS model you have a USB channel, to enable its use for a HD connection you have download a free application. But there is also a pay application, which will allow you to stream audio and video from your server or PC's in the house. There are few other apps, but nothing of any real value at this time. Since the API relatively new, I would expect we will see a lot more apps coming in the next few months.

The last type of channel and probably one most people will not know unless they are told or stumble on it on the forums are "Private Channels". These channels are not advertised or visible through any Roku channel. There are dozen plus sites that track them. Simply google Roku private channels and you will see quite a few. Again some are free, some require a subscription. Channels range from Adult content to one person operations. Some are quite unique like a live stream of ABC in Australia. Like Public channels, private channels go up all the time, and because many of them are one person operation they also go down just as quick sometimes. Adding private channels is quite easy you login to your Roku web account, and there is an option to add a private channel, you enter a code that each private channel provides, and it will then show up on your roku. It says it may take up to 24 hours for a private channel to show up, but most show up within seconds or minutes.

Negatives: You have to buy your HDMI cable, it does come with analog cables, you have to provide your own USB cable. Adding many channels is a major pain, Many times you will get a screen with a code that requires you to go to the channels web site, register, and then enter the code. This isn't Roku's fault, because the channel provider configures how they will allow you to add the channel, and of course many of them want your email so they can market to you. This is especially a pain, if you don't have access to internet while you are in front of your roku, I do, but still this is a major pain. Roku should require providers make channel addition seamless. There is no reason why you cant allow them to pull the info they need for registration from your Roku account if you give permission. I bet in fact its already in the API. There are a lot of garbage channels, and some pay channels are not worth the money. So DO YOUR homework before you spend your money. Roku has a great forum community and you will get straight answers most of the time.

My final recommendation is that this is the best streaming device on the market today, better then Apple TV, Google TV, Boxee, and any other. It simple to use, has amazing amount of variety, and the future for this device is very bright. Streaming is the future of media, but you can get a good taste of it now with this device. I do recommend you buy the XS model, if fort no other reason, the USB port, will eventually act as DVR, there is already buzz that apps are being written to be able to record streaming shows to a HD for later viewing.
4747 comments| 1,963 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
I purchased this unit in june 2013.. its now September 15.. I still love this unit.. aside from some repeated commercials I cannot complain at all.. yes, you still need an antenna or very basic cable to get local channels with the exception of
"PBS" . but it is well worth it. I cut over $40.00+ off my cable bill . (The free content ),, movies, documentaries, etc, is extensive. there a lot of free music channels ( all genres ) and even karaoake channels, workout channels,games etc. OH,, there's even "DOG TV" for your dog to watch... our cats enjoy the "cat tv" channel too. there are a lot of short videos of birds, fish etc for your cat to watch.. There are a lot of inexpensive pay channels such as "HULU" and "NETFLIX". the ROKU has an easy to use menu that categorizes each channels programming by category such as " action", "comedy", "kids", etc. always wanted a fireplace but don't have one? they have that too.. note !!! some content isn't quite for kids..no big deal,(there are ratings shown before you start the show). we dumped the cable tv all together . As for the unit itself, I couldn't be happier, it has worked great, a small amount of buffering at times but I notice this only on some music channels. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for an alternative to cable. as far as regular network tv channels, you can add "hulu" to get many of them !
UPDATE<!!!!!!!! JAN,14, 2014,, We like the ROKU so much we purchased another one for our bedroom tv. a ROKU LT. it is the more basic model but works pretty much the same. I have recommended these units to many people looking for a cheaper alternative to cable. several of these people bought them after I showed them what ours does. They are constantly adding new channels. We never seem to run out of programs to watch. As I said earlier in my first part of this review, you will see repeated commercials and the volume on them can be loud at times but this is a small price to pay for what your getting. We like the amount of control we have with the ROKU, like pausing, rewinding and fast forward of shows. and again , the selection of shows is massive, something for everyone. For local channels I constructed my own hdtv antenna with plans I got from the internet using coat hangers of all things, sounds cheesy but it looks good and works well, I get 23 local channels. As for the ROKU I still would recommend it to anyone. you can run as many ROKU'S in your home as you want for free with tons of free shows, unless you subscribe to a pay channel. GREAT PRODUCT !!!!!!!!!
22 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
Roku Product review
A while back, when I moved to a new apartment, I decided specifically to not get cable because the cost is prohibitive, and because I enjoyed the flexibility of watching my favorite shows when I want. For a while I was watching my shows on the computer, but since my tv was sitting there completely unused, I decided to try a streaming internet box.

After much research, there are several reasons why I chose the Roku over some of the other options like Western Digital HD, Google TV or Apple TV. Roku seems to have a great deal of flexibility and has all the services that count. The device has "channels." Netflix would be a channel, so would Hulu. So you click on the channel and then you can access the library of videos which that particular channel offers. All the video sources that count are there: Hulu, Netflix, Amazon Prime, Vudu, and over 600 more. While the rest of the channels are mostly junk, you do get some interesting ones. All the major news channels have a Roku channel, there are many Christian channels, etc. Each channel has a similar layout for navigation and everything is fairly responsive and easy to browse.
Initially, I heard some detractors about this device, some shortcomings that made me hesitate on my purchase. I'm glad I didn't change my mind because practically every shortcoming has an answer with the Roku.

Some people say that there isn't enough content available. Well, every major streaming video source is represented, and many others as well, as previously mentioned. Another issue is that the device does not support many video formats if you wish to play from a hard drive (USB only available on the XS - the most expensive version). It is true that the Roku only has the ability to natively play 2 types of format, however if you get the PLEX server channel (for free) on the Roku and then put the server software on your computer (also free), you can play any video on your computer. Essentially, PLEX is a server, which means that anything your computer can play gets streamed to the PLEX channel and can be played wirelessly on the Roku. I have a massive video library, none of which can be played directly from the Roku by plugging in my hard drive, however using PLEX, I can play all of them at full quality. No problem.

Some people say that it is difficult to search for content by keyword because the remote has no keyboard and you have to input each letter by scrolling over a keypad on the screen, a very slow process. This, however, is not a problem at all. The Roku app for any smartphone has a keyboard and when you want to type a keyword in, just use the app! The letters appear on your TV and there is no issue. Why pay for a remote which has a built in keyboard when you can just use your smartphone, which you probably have anyway. It seems smart to me.

A few other quick notes. The unit itself is very small, and has composite output and HDMI. It also draws very little power. I can't find anything wrong with this device, it seems to do everything that any reasonable person would need. The price is also very reasonable compared to the competition, and considering that it does just as much, I'd say it's an excellent deal. As another note: I would recommend getting the XS, the most expensive version. It can play full HD (The cheapest can't) and it's the only version that comes with a motion capable, RF remote and a USB port. The remote has all the same controls as the cheaper version, however the device has motion capture technology like a Wii remote (with no external sensors needed). None of the channels use this feature, but it's nice to have just in case some feature is developed to use it, besides the angry birds game which is available, and the RF means it's not line of site, you can control the unit from anywhere within 30 ft. or so, through walls, though I don't know why you would. The USB drive is nice to have to play any compatible movies, but also good because if any option is developed to allow more movies to play, it would be nice to not skimp out on the initial purchase. Besides, on amazon, it's only $30 more. Cheers.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2013
I have ROKU 3 units for two other TV sets in my house, but I had another TV set that did not have an HDMI input. Since ROKU 3 only works with TV's with HDMI inputs, ROKU 2 was a perfect solution. It picks up the wireless signal from my home's router, just like the ROKU 3's, but delivers the audio and video to the set with RCA cables. Before purchasing the ROKU 2, I had noticed from some commenters that they were dissatisfied with ROKU 2 because it didn't have enough memory to play games. Since I don't play games with my ROKU's, I can't speak to its abilities in that area, but in regard to providing streaming content, it has the same functionality as the ROKU 3 units. The unit is easy to use and easy to install. I am very pleased with it. The only disappointment I would note is that the unit does not provide a DVI signal. Consequently early HD television sets that have DVI inputs but do not have an HDMI input cannot display the content from ROKU 2 in HD. Even so, the picture quality from it is adequate, normal SD.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2012
SUPER-QUICK REVIEW

My overall rating comes from 2 stars for content and 4 stars for the product itself. I barely used it, so I can't give it 5 stars. I only used it long enough to realize it does not do what I need (returned to Amazon). The most important thing to consider when buying the Roku is WHAT CONTENT DO YOU LIKE AND DOES ROKU PROVIDE IT. That is the deal-breaker, period. The device itself seems great. So, everything comes down to content. Again.... seriously think about what you like watching on a regular basis, and then research whether this is available on Roku.

QUICK REVIEW

You will like this if:
-- You are (or plan to be) subscribed to Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon Prime, and/or HBO Go (the more, the better), and this is your main source of entertainment/content
-- You don't want to use your computer for viewing online content
-- You want a quick and easy set-up
-- You want to keep your purchase under $100
-- You DO NOT care about online content not listed above and you specifically DO NOT care about news or informational content
-- You need wireless streaming and an ethernet option
-- You like gaming and are willing to buy additional apps (because Angry Birds is the only good one included for free)
-- You want to watch your own videos or photos via the USB port or via Facebook

You will NOT like this if:
-- You do not want to subscribe to Netflix or the other services listed above
-- You like to watch content on cable network websites, like Lifetime, Bravo, HGTV, etc.
-- You like YouTube (not available... though Vimeo is)
-- You like watching news and informational content
-- You don't care about obscure independent channels
-- You like lots of shows on broadcast TV
-- You want to be able to switch between channels quickly and easily
-- You want or need a non-HDMI digital audio option
-- You do not want to search the Internet for additional Roku-compatible "channels"

Pros = Very small form, easy to set up, good looking, nice interface for Netflix (don't know about others), ethernet port, decent price, Angry Birds included, TED channel

Cons = Not enough good channels and content without additional subscriptions, basically has to be plugged in all the time (both to power and to Internet), awkward switching between "channels"

LONGER REVIEW

Again, the "make or break" point on this, in my opinion, is content. I think your satisfaction will very much depend on what you like watching on a regular basis and whether Roku delivers it. It's tricky, though, because (as you'll read in a moment), Roku *appears* to provide some major programming -- but you'll then discover it's only available in clips or audio only.

My biggest beef is that I based my choice to buy this too much on a shopping network demonstration (HSN?), which was misleading by showing lots of major media logos, which is not reflective of what's actually delivered. So, I have to warn others who may see that or misunderstand what's included. As I wrote at the beginning... 4 stars for the device, but 2 stars for content.

For example, all the major US news media (except PBS) only provide partial content and the vast majority of it is AUDIO ONLY. Why would I "watch" a show like "60 Minutes" with audio only? Why would I want to *listen* to the evening news? NBC News is featured; however, it is only in clips. Again, there's some misleading here, since the logos for these outlets are featured in some promotions.

Also, FYI, a big chunk of the informational programming (like news) is available only in clips or podcast format.

The bottom line is that all of Roku's content *and much more* can be accessed and watched using an ordinary computer. This is what we've been doing and thought Roku would provide a sleeker solution. But when you take into account the lack of major and good content, it's not really an improvement. As others point out, you have to click quite a few times to switch "channels" -- which is not really easier than dialing up another website on your computer.

If you really want access to the full offering of online content, don't get the Roku -- you will be seriously disappointed. Instead, pony up the extra money for a used recent computer, a wireless keyboard with a trackpad, and then create a dedicated media center from that. For example, you can get a capable Mac Mini and wireless keyboard for about $200-300. I'm guessing a PC-Windows equivalent will cost the same or less.

On the other hand, if you already subscribe (or plan to) to Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon Prime, and/or HBO Go (the more the better) -- and these are your major source of entertainment -- then the Roku will probably do you very well. I just felt compelled to warn those who don't (or don't want to) subscribe to these services -- without them, there will be VERY LITTLE worthwhile entertainment or content. Or at the very least, do some significant research to match up what you like to watch with what you will get through Roku.

One last point -- if you value or need the ethernet connection the XS (and only XS) model provides, you'll pretty much have to leave the Roku hooked up all the time. If you disconnect it (say, to hook to your laptop or another computer), the Roku will need to re-cycle through its start-up when you get back to it. The same seems to be the case if you have to or want to turn the Roku off (though there's no real reason to do this; it uses very little power). So, what this means is you'll need a router so you can have your Roku and anything else networked via ethernet. For those of you laughing about anyone wanting to be wired up in this wireless world... (1) the quality is way better wired vs. wireless, from my experience and many other reviews, and (2) some people don't want to bathe in wi-fi waves and EMFs in their homes all the time.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2017
Beware! This is an old model and suffers from old technology. Mine is several years old, probably pre-2011. The problem is the processor, which is slow by today's standards. I compare it to an Amazon Fire TV Stick purchased just last week. Similar channels load faster and look sharper than the Roku. I just added Filmstruck to both, and it runs beautifully on the Fire Stick, but the first time I launched it on my Roku, the device crashed. Since then, it has worked, but loading is very slow, and the picture quality is not quite as good. Netflix is also slower to load, and the picture looks blurry and grainy for about 20-25 seconds before it comes into full 1080p mode. With the new Fire Stick, it loads almost instantaneously and is sharp, high def from the beginning. Thus I can't really recommend. This old Roku. Save yourself money in the long run by buying a new model and/or the Amazon Fire TV. When I bought it, it was "5 stars." Today? 3 stars AT BEST.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2016
I love my Roku 2 XS. I purchased it in 2014 and two years later with (regular updates), my device is still going strong. During this time, I've had two minor issues. The first being, image clarity. When I start a stream on Netflix, the playback appears slightly foggy. The video will adjust itself automatically after a minute or so. It doesn’t really bother me anymore but just a heads up for those of you with a second-hand device. The last problem is with my Roku spontaneously shutting down. This happened on three separate occasions. One occurrence was brought on while clicking multiple keys without giving the device time to load. Call it a processor overload if you will. The other two occurred while streaming a show.

I mostly use my device for Netflix and Amazon Prime Video. I gave Angry Birds a try and found the controller restrictive and difficult to operate with the game. I haven’t had any use for it since so I don’t use it. The Roku 2 XS allows for wireless and ethernet connection to your network. From there the setup is pretty straightforward and the interface is user-friendly. This device meets all my streaming needs without forcing me to break the bank.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2012
After 3 months of ownership I feel a review is finally warranted.

If you're looking to stream Netflix, Pandora, Hulu Plus, Amazon Prime, Crackle, and other internet-based media, the Roku XS is the device you are looking for.

Read some tech blogs where they do a hardware teardown and you'll understand a bit more about how it works the way it does.

The Roku XS runs on very little power and the interface is simple to use. The remote is small but efficiently designed.

Local content: yes, there's a USB port, but only some video formats are supported. Music and photos seem to work in a variety of formats though.

It's remarkably simple to use and set up. I recommended this to a friend of mine who is not a techy type at all and she set it up with no hitches. I will say this: using a laptop to add channels to your account is a little simpler, as typing with the remote is time-consuming. There is also a Droid app now for the remote (your phone must be on wifi).

For streaming high-def media, you will most likely want this model, due to the ethernet port. Personally, I am wary of streaming over wifi, especially in an apartment building.

There is plenty to watch with Roku. Besides the popular (Netflix, Hulu) there are a lot of channels made by independent media services and even universities. To be honest, most of the time I watch Netflix and Crackle, but there are also channels with public domain movies/shows, NASA documentaries, TED speeches, and more. New channels are rolled out frequently, and will either be free, cost you a one-time fee, or cost a recurring fee.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2013
Ok~gonna write a bit, but I hope this helps those who were like me. My monthly cable bill was about $170.00 and I was disgusted by it. I have a laptop, but always kept my bundled services for fear of streaming and just the hassle. I have no gaming devices, or even a dvd/blueray player because all those devices/services were a headache to me. Too many wires, and besides a TV with over 600 channels, I felt I should not need to rent/buy movies. So, I had to trade in my beloved car, and take on a new monthly car note, and in addition I had to repair my dryer and replace my cell phone. This all in one week, and I quickly had to reevaluate my budget. So, I started to research and Roku kept showing up with great reviews. Actually, I was told to stream Amazon Prime though a used gaming device~but I know nothing about any of that. I choose the Roku 2 XS because it was suggested to purchase a device that would allow me to do wireless, and wired (ethernet). I rec'd my Roku, and waited to install it until my friend could help me. It was fairly easy to install, and I love it. I did have to do a factory reset, because of it being refurbished, but it only took about 5 mins to get my info registered on it. The remote gave me a hassle, but after reading the manual for troubleshooting, it was fixed in about 3 seconds. Sync the remote and Roku box by pressing the little blue button located below the batteries. As far as subscription services, there are so many free trials, and options, it is insane. BE SURE TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF STUDENT DISCOUNTS AND FREE TRIALS~they are usually longer, and give you a cheaper rate if you do subscribe. Amazon Prime is 50% off for students, and I was able to do Hulu Plus for 2 months for free with my student email. I was afraid of losing my weather channel, and PBS~but it is included with Roku. I think there are about 4 weather channels, and one is available to purchase and the others are free. I synced my VEVO, Pandora, and Amazon Cloud player to my Roku and I now have my music and videos. Yes, it does takes a bit of time to go to the websites and sync your information (about 5 mins) for each service, but it is totally worth it, as you can adjust to your favorites and preferences. Yes, you do still need to maintain some sort of internet service, but shop around and get a great deal. Figure out the download speed you want prior to calling your or any carrier so you know exactly what you need. Trust me, they will try to sell you what you will never need, or miss. All in all, I love my new streaming device. I am upset at myself for paying for cable to so long~I am an idiot. The only disadvantage to using a Roku, is that watching TV seems to be more planned. You can not sit in front of the TV, and aimlessly flip through channels. But, this is a good thing. My monthly cable bill went from $170.00 to $48.00 (internet $34.99 + $5.00 for modem + $7.99 Hulu plus). I did purchase the Roku for $58.00, plus I purchased a digital antenna for $8.00 for my local channels. If I add all of my "startup" costs~it still is cheaper. I am just a chick that was looking for a cheaper alternative to cable, and found it. :)

UPDATE******** I am asking for some advice from my Amazon friends.................which internet speed package is best? Ok, I know that the Turbo, and Extreme packages offered by TWC are the fastest, but I would like to know if I get the basic, or standard packages~will it really make a difference?

Right now I have Turbo that is advertised at up to 20 Mbps, Download 20 Mbps and Upload of 2 Mbps at 44.99 a month. Or, would either of these work?

Standard with a Download of 15 Mbps and Upload of 1 Mbps at 34.99 a month

Basic with a Download of 3 Mbps and Upload of 1 Mbps at 29.99 a month.

It would be nice to cut my bill down even further without compromising quality. Never hurts to ask :)
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
The first thing I noticed is that this ROKU really did come "like new." It came in a nice box, items complete and all in like new condition. The ROKU even had some of the plastic peeling on it. It plays flawlessly and is everything I am looking for in a 1080p streamer. Contents included quick start guide, red white and yellow to 3mm AV cord, power adapter, 2 alkaline AA batteries, "smart" remote, a standard 6' gold tipped HDMI cable and of course a ROKU 2XS.

The first thing I want to say is that the SD memory card slot is only to help load the games faster as it only stores the games on it. It's not something you use to stream personal media. Not at this time anyway. A class 6 2GB MICRO SDHC card will suffice just fine. If you use all the games, you may bump up to a class 6 4GB MICRO SDHC card. An SDHC card is NOT necessary though, even if you have a couple games you play. This ROKU is a bit smaller than the other ones but it still functions great.

The Roku USB port WILL allow you to stream media though. You need to download the media player channel first. This allows you to play back video, photos and music on your TV. These are the formats accepted. Video MKV/H.264 & MP4/H.264, music AAC/MP3, photo JPG/PNG.

The add says "20 dollar" HDMI cord included. The HDMI cord that came with it works just fine, but is in no way a 20 dollar HDMI cord. It's a standard 3-5 dollar 6' gold tipped HDMI cord that comes with any other ROKU. See the picture I will put up for a comparison. I didn't dock this review any stars because Amazon made it right with me. The reason I mention it is not to be petty but the promise of an above standard priced HDMI cord was one of the factors for me choosing to purchase here.

The remote is a "smart" remote and does not have the lens on the front of it like the other remotes. This is because the remote can be turned sideways and used like a game console controller when playing some of the games. The motion control of this remote is really fun with Angry Birds and naturally a hit with the kids, and me (lol).

With the unit I have, pairing the remote to the ROKU is real easy. Under the battery cover is a purple pairing button. You want to make sure that the batteries are in the remote FIRST and then hit the pairing button. Now set the remote right next to the ROKU and plug the ROKU power button in and wait a minute for them to pair. Do the same even if you have a unit that did not come with a pairing button. Remote first and then ROKU. The remote is just a tad bit longer, thicker and heavier than the standard ROKU remote.

It comes with a nice set of 3 plug to 3.5mm gold tipped AV cords. 3.5mm is the same size jack on most MP3 ear buds. This is because the ROKU is smaller so it utilizes the 3.5mm plug for the back of the ROKU and standard red and white for audio and yellow for video.

I don't have an HDMI pass through receiver for surround sound, but I do have a nice stereo that has some nice speakers. A shelf system on steroids if you will. So I use the HDMI cord right from the TV to the ROKU for picture and sound and run the (red and white audio) AV cords to the input on my stereo (leave the yellow unplugged and secure it out of the way). It adds some more sound and a little base which is nice for movies.

The Ethernet port is a must to stream 1080p. I have a solid 3 MB/S and use a 25'' Mediabridge CAT5e cable and it streams flawlessly. Actually I stream 1080p on the living room TV, while surfing the net on my laptop, with kids streaming SD ROKU in their room and my girlfriend on her tablet, all at the same time, all on a solid Windstream 3 MB/S no data cap internet.

This really is the best of the best for ROKU players and I can tell you that my experience buying this refurbished one has left me confident should I need to buy refurbished from them again. If you hook up a second ROKU, the channels all download automatically which takes a lot of effort out of setting up multiple ROKU'S. It basically clones the first one you have hooked up. So keep in mind that if you're installing a ROKU for the kids, and their is a channel or two not meant for kids, just remove it off the ROKU itself, with the remote, once installed so it comes off that ROKU and not the account itself.

If you're wondering which ROKU to buy, this one will not disappoint. I'm very very satisfied with this ROKU. It's sleek and streams 1080p with no problem.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 431 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here