Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 281 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 312 reviews
on December 30, 2012
This suitcase gets 5 stars because it has fulfilled and exceeded my two qualifications for a new suitcase: 1) it pushes the boundaries of what is allowable as a carry-on suitcase--but definitely passes through the gate 2) it is super lightweight.

To expand on this suitcase's "qualifications," let me provide some background. I frequently travel abroad for work--often on 2-3 week trips and am an avid avoider of checking any bags due to a recent uptick in certain airlines losing my luggage or failing to transfer it to connecting flights. I will now sacrifice an extensive choice of wardrobe in favor of my clothes actually arriving with me at my destination. After reading reviews, this suitcase appeared to fit the bill for my aforementioned 2-point inspection:

1) I recently returned from a 2-week international trip which included 8 foreign and domestic flights--the bag was able to be carried-on for ALL of these flights without question from gate agents or flight attendants. I was able to pack everything I needed for this 2-week trip in this bag.

2) This bag is incredibly lightweight--without any contents it feels virtually weightless. Even being stuffed with my 2-week wardrobe--its lightweight structure held up. There is a notable difference in the ease of lifting the bag into the overhead compartment.

I have only one criticism of the bag that would warrant a rating of 4.5 stars if that were an option. For all my praise of the bag's featherweight qualities, the handles are quite bulky. I can tell that the designers did everything in their power to minimize weight (durable yet lightweight fabric, minimal metal trim etc)---however, in favor of minimizing metal fixtures--the handles are big and spongy and make for a crooked ride down the cabin aisle with the large handles bumping into armrests.

That being said--this criticism in no way makes me regret this purchase and I look forward to many more bag-checkless flights in my future.
22 comments| 307 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2012
I got one for my husband and another for myself. It is very well-made and super lightweight. The handle does extend plenty and is sturdy. We hung all the extra bags from the handle to make carrying easier. I was worried that it was too big for a carry-on after it was stuffed and expanded, but in 4 airports it was never questioned. Everyone else had them too, and it fit into the over-head no matter which way it was turned.
22 comments| 129 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2016
Nice bag but the wheel assembly on these suitcases falls apart. One of my wheels was loose after minimal usage. I could see that it wasn't broken. Somehow the screw and axle assembly had managed to unscrew itself. The wheel was dangling but still barely attached. If you have the same problem, here's how you fix it:
I took a 5/16" drill bit and drilled out the plastic hub cap in the center of the wheel. Be careful to simply drill out the plastic and not the screw underneath. With the plastic hub gone, it revealed the hex head of the axle screw inside the wheel. Once you have access to that screw head, it's as simple as tightening it to the inside axle and your bag is ready to roll again. If you need access to the backside of the wheel also, it's very easy to pop-off the whole wheel assembly (unzip the inside lining of the suitcase to reveal the phillips screws). Hope that helps some people. I provided a picture of the drilled-out wheel hub revealing the hex screw. Good luck!
review image
66 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2014
I am not one to write any feedback but there is some major engineering flaws in this luggage. I really wonder, did the guys at Travelpro take one minute to fill up this bag and try it before spending thousands of dollars to promote it? Making a good bad is not rocket science. Good rollers, good zippers, nice solid handle, and good shoes IN THE RIGHT AREA. This bag has 3 out of 4 which does't sound like a lot, but try filling it to the max (with the extension) and sit it up. You will notice, that it will collapse forward and down because the shoes (stoppers) are in the middle part of the bag instead of being further to the front. I mean really, do you really want to keep bending over and picking up a suitcase everytime you let go of the handles? They do have it right in their higher end models, but on the mid range? The cost should be the same no matter where the stoppers are. I can understand that they want people to buy their higher end models, but to turn off people from ever buying their brand again is just dumb.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2014
I got this bag on sale around the holidays. I've had it for a bit over six months now so I think I can give a fairly accurate review.
I work as a flight attendant for a regional airline and have used this bag just about every week for six months. So far it is showing only minor signs of wear and tear. This bag goes in and out of overhead bins several times per day and into and out of a hotel van four days out if the week. So far no tears or major scuffs. Sometimes the zipper randomly comes apart and I have to un-zip and then rezip, but nothing permanent so far. As long as it is not packed very full it will go into the overhead bin of a CRJ200, 700 and 900 with out any problems. So why only three stars you are asking? Well the good stuff pretty much ends there. The first thing I noticed taking the bag out of the box was its size. It is a lot smaller than my previous 22'' which was the walkabout light, I believe. The interior dimensions are smaller and I cant fit as much stuff. When I have to utilize the outer compartment, which is just about every day, my bag falls over if I'm not holding onto it. 100% of the time it falls over if its not leaning against something. I now identify my bag to other people as "the one that's going to fall over", and sure enough as soon as they put it down it falls backwards. Very annoying.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
I purchased two of these and returned them both. Amazon was fantastic and I appreciate it. As for the suitcase, I was so disappointed with this product. For 33 years I was a flight attendant and swore by Travelpro. I loved the lightweight feature and was very pleased with my purchase until I used it. This suitcase constantly tipped over and the handle would not extend without a struggle when packed fully. The final issue was the zippers !! When packed, the teeth of the zippers easily pulled apart. When leaving Europe we had to have the airline put tape around our bags so they would not open.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
The suitcase is very light and I like that the handles are padded and located on 3 sides, which makes it easier to get in and out of overhead bins. I also liked that the front pocket had plenty of room for my 17" laptop. However, I'm a woman who tends to overpack and I like to push the boundaries of what's allowed to be carried onboard. It's 22" from the wheels to the top, but the front part with the legs is more like 20.5". It's not very deep and the expansion only gave another inch. I purchased a 21" Samsonite spinner from TJ Max ($80) that actually ended up being bigger even without the expansion. Overall, I would recommend the Travelpro, and I would have kept it if it had expanded a couple of more inches.
11 comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2016
I absolutely love this suitcase! Unfortunately about a year into ownership one of the wheels started wobbling. Before I had enough time to evaluate the issue I had a big business trip to NYC. While walking through the airport I realized that my bag became very difficult to roll and a moment later saw a wheel go rolling by. The wheel on my bag came off on the first leg of my 5-day trip. I sat in my hotel room that evening until 1am trying to repair the bag but unfortunately did not have the proper tools to take the wheel housing apart.

When I returned home, before I even unpacked my bag, I called TravelPro to see if they would repair my bag. I was told that wheels are not covered in the limited warranty. I understand the reasoning however my bag is in excellent condition, I'm very gentle on my suitcase and there was no reason for my wheel to roll away. Quite disappointed with TravelPro's customer service, it is an $11 part.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
I've been using this suitcase for about 2.5 years now.

It's extremely light and works wonderfully as a carry-on for air travel. I've probably flown with it an average of 6 times per year. On larger planes, it easily fits into the overhead bins. On regional planes, I've had to check it on the jetway. I've never checked it as regular luggage though.

I also use the bag frequently for overnight travel via car, probably 12+ per year.

It's been dragged across many a parking lot, and through many airports. The bag has stood up just fine, though the corners do show wear. A spinner suitcase probably would be nicer going through airports, but you lose even more storage capacity with spinners and this one already isn't particularly large. But again, it's easily fit into overhead bins except for regional flights... I had a CostCo 22-inch rollaboard which was a little bigger but occasionally wouldn't fit into overheads on older planes or in Europe. That's not a surprise I enjoyed, so for a dedicated carry-on bag, I prefer the size of this Travelpro.

The only issue I can think of is that the bag is super light, so if you thread a briefcase or other item on top of the handle, sometimes you can cause the suitcase to tip over if it becomes too top-heavy.

Great bag, love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This suitcase was recommended over the Maxlite 3 22 inch due better stability than Maxlite 3, and according to some better construction and easier to get on flights as a carry on. Maxlite 3 has semi-circular discs for feet rather than the cylindrical feet of this bag, and tend to topple over all the time. That can get annoying really fast, especially if you have a laptop bag on top. I am glad I read the travel forums and went with Maxlite 2 instead. I did a lot of research and compared Kirkland from Costco, American Tourister and Eddie Bauer from Target and several other bags in this size and found Maxlite trumped them all for my purposes.

On a trip to Europe, it was just a little bit bigger than the Ryanair specs but fitted the Easyjet specifications for carry on. However, since they had a full flight they checked it in for free anyway, but I suspect if the bag had been bigger I would have had to pay their exorbitant carry on charges.
This is one of the best carry-on bags that I’ve used, it fits on most airplanes overheads, except the really small planes and it’s really light so even when packed it does not get too heavy. The big wheels on the back make it really easy to roll through airports and on cobblestone streets in Europe. I rode on a lot of public transport with my suitcase – metros, bus, subways, and it made it easy to get on and off and also go up and down narrow escalators.

I was able to pack 2 week’s worth of clothing into this suitcase, along with a spare pair of shoes and toiletries (carry-on sized) and makeup. No wonder the airline pilots use these Maxlite bags. It is expandable, but I prefer to keep that zipper closed unless I plan to check it in as it will become too bulky to lift onto overheads. The large pocket in front is very convenient as I can carry magazines and papers in it without having to stuff them in.

After several flights and public transport trips, this bag looks just the same. I was sometimes afraid when I rolled it over cobblestone and roads for long distances, a couple of miles, one time but it never gave up and the wheels are just fine! My traveling companions all vowed they would purchase this bag after their smaller wheeled spinner bags started to get wobbly after a few treks down cobblestone roads.

Recommended, just pay the price, it’s worth it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here