Lyft Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18SW_gno



on October 21, 2012
This is a beautiful, high quality boot. The leather seems of the highest quality and is very soft, making that stiff ankle feel of some boots non-existent with the Melissa Back-Zip. The footbed is very comfortable, I think I could walk in these boots all day. Unfortunately Amazon has stated the calf circumference incorrectly as 16 inches, it is actually under 15. I am very sad to have to return these boots as I need the wider calf over 15 inches.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 13, 2015
Well, like some others, my boots arrived with scuffed soles, indicating that they had been worn. I'm sure it's difficult to avoid scuffing the soles if you walk around outside in them, and then return them; but if they're not brand-new, I think a discount would be nice. They are narrow in the calf--I have 14" calves, and there was some room for a legging or jean to be tucked, but not a lot. I also found the fit in the foot to be narrow and uncomfortable--and I have fairly narrow feet. I'm returning these and going up a size, to a 7. Hopefully this time they won't be scuffed! The leather is very nice, and the stitching looked solid. All 'good' Frye boots are now made in Mexico, FYI. They've sold the company, and now have a factory in Mexico and one in (sigh) China.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 30, 2013
I pondered about ordering these for a long time as they are not for sale in Ireland, so ordering from the USA I would have to pay duty on them and postage, they are quite expensive at $348. I had them in my basket for ages and then one day there was a sale so I purchased them for $210 and paid the duty and postage also. I have to say Amazon were fantastic as they do all that for you so when I got to the checkout I knew the amount I would be paying. They shipped them and arrived to Ireland in 6 days. On opening the box the smell of beautiful leather was lovely, I ordered the brown antique full grain which are nice but the colour was a bit lighter than the picture to be honest if I lived in the US I would have returned them for the darker brown soft leather, but the postage return is high so I have decided to keep them. I ordered them in a 7.5 which are perfect I tried them on and they are very comfy and the more I looked at them the more I liked them, they are very well made and I hope to get many winters out of them. The length is just right for me and the fastners are a bit hard to open which is probably good, the zip is a bit stiff but I'd say it will loosen in time. In all I would love another pair in black but they never seem to go on sale but I will keep watching. I would say they are true to size I have a high instep and had tried the Melissa button boot and couldn't get my foot into it without a plasitc bag so that's why I chose the Melissa zip boot which I think is more stylish.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 22, 2015
I have narrow calves and often have trouble with boots gaping around them. These fit me well in the calf although the ankle was comparatively loose. I also like that these have zippers, making them easier to get into. The problem with them is that the sole is too smooth. I was slipping in them while walking on carpet. I'd hate to see what would happen on a smooth floor.

In the end, the one of the snaps was broken on the pair I received. I returned them although if they were not so slippery, I would have exchanged for another pair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 8, 2015
This is my first pair of Frye boots. I have very very small calves, like 11 1/2 inches and it is SO HARD to find boots! These have a small circumference of about 14" which makes them perfect for me with or without jeans. I love them!! One of the snaps was almost impossible to open but after 3 or 4 times, it was fine. I think some glue or something might have caused it to stick. I love love love these and can't wait for the weather to cool off so I can wear them. all the time.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 1, 2013
I love these boots. Because of a high instep I can't get the Melissa Button on my foot, but the zipper on these makes putting them on a breeze, and I love the snap detail at the top and ankle (although the snaps do tend to come undone when I cross my legs). The zipper can be quite difficult to operate for several wears, but eventually the leather softens up and they zip with ease. I bought the grey antique soft full-grain leather last year, and it took a while, but they are now nicely broken in and very comfortable. Look great with leggings and skinny jeans. I just ordered a second pair in the black antique soft leather, but unfortunately the light-colored lining peeks out at the top opening, and I'm having to send back for an exchange, so won't be able to wear them this weekend while it is so cold!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 22, 2012
These are the best leather boots ever owned. I purchased them after considering it for some time, and then made the plunge after seeing my 5'11" coworker bought the grey color and looks so good on her. I bought the 5.5 because I'm petite at 5"1' at 118lbs. I run and swim regularly. When I got them, the fit is perfect!. The grey leather is so soft and got lots of character because of the grain. I love the classy look that has cute little button hardwares and not typical buckles and straps, gives it a casual but still classy look. Like others say it goes great with everything. It stretches just right to fit over my jeans around the calfs. It's not too high. It hugs my legs with soft leather without folding up around the ankles so it looks slim throughout. Defintely recommends!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2014
I read a few reviews about the quality of the boot being bad, and I have to say - SO WRONG! Not sure if they had an issue with a batch of them, but the boots I received were perfect. The construction is so nice, the zipper on the back is very pretty but functional. I originally bought a Frye boot without a zipper and was so unhappy with them. The ease of putting these on make me love them even more.

If you are not sure - do it. You'll love them, great boot that will be a staple piece for years to come!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 25, 2013
I absolutely love these boots! I highly recommend the cognac colored boots in your "typical" size. Normally I wear a size 9 and the boots are snug, but comfortable (and I'm sure they will stretch a little with time). The description is however incorrect...my calf measures 14.5" and these boots are tight around my calves. In fact, if you go to fryeboots.com they list a different calf circumference all together. Other than the tightness of the calves, these are probably the easiest pair of Frye boots to put on compared to several other pairs that I have tried on. LOVE THEM!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 10, 2013
I loved the color and look of these boots, but the are definitely not 16" in circumferance. I measured them, and they're roughly 15".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here