Industrial Deals Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. Get 10% back on select Bang & Olufsen products Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
55


on March 13, 2017
This lens cap is so much better than the regular one. It's screwed onto the lens so you won't lose it and it opens up automatically whenever you turn on the camera to take pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 26, 2014
wish the camera would have came with this - kind of expensive for what you get (and what comes standard on most cameras in this class - a self opening/closing lens cap. That being said, it works well. Seems to not close all that tightly, but I haven't noticed any dust on my lens.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2012
Olympus took a while to make this, but they got it right. The attachment ring is metal. It is much flatter than the aftermarket tri-fold cover (47mm v. 56mm overall thickness in place). The plastic shutters have more precision and all four parts close reliably every time! And the price is reasonable too. Go Olympus!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 12, 2013
I got this along with a Cosmos case. It screws in the threads on the xz-1 lens and pops open when you use the camera.

So you get rid of the lens cap problems of either holding it, losing it, or having it fly around on the lens cap cord on a windy day.

This screw fitment on the lens was perfect and the size of the cap when screwed into the lens body gives it the same profile as the original removable lens cap.

The only people that would not be interested are those who might want to use filters, teleconverters or other screw on lens complements. But if I want to do that type of photography I break out the DSLR. I use this just as a high quality point and shoot and with this lens cap that is exactly what I get.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 20, 2013
This is a must have accessory for your XZ-1. Brilliantly simple and elegant. I normally shoot Nikon DSLRs, but bought an XZ-1 for a trip and didn't want to lug all my gear. This was a very nice addition to the camera and eliminates the need for a traditional lens cap. I agree with everyone that has said this should have came with the camera, but regardless, it is well worth the money. Just turn the camera on and it is ready to fire.

I contemplated purchasing a cheaper alternative, but decided that this looked a little more refined and I typically lean towards factory parts anyway. This is a very high quality accessory from Olympus and can't offer any feedback for the off-brand ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 28, 2015
I find a dangling lens caps attached by a string distracting when shooting a picture. This is a very clever cap that screws into the lens and opens and shuts when turning the camera on and off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 22, 2013
Like others have mentioned, this lens cap should have been included standard with the camera. But despite the price, I still prefer it than the lens on a string that is a bit annoying to put on and off. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars has to do with the price, but the product is great and I am happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 30, 2017
I like it. No more popping the lens cap on and off, which is how I lost it in the first place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 8, 2013
Short and sweet, you must own this for you XZ1 or XZ2. It makes a huge difference in the usability of either camera, and you never have to worry about the lens getting scratched, or where to put the lens cap. It's a bit pricy for what it is, I'll admit, but its well made and works well. Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2013
Much more convenient than the standard lens cap and only mildly dorky looking! ;-) It seems well made and it is easy to replace if one of the flip out panels does become damaged. I just threads in so you do have to take a tiny bit of care to get it lined up correctly if you care about that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse