Bubble Witch Saga 3 BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale raydonovanfinale  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 21, 2013
First, let me off this disclaimer. I do not run long distances. I workout 6 days per week doing cross fit style workouts. The running I do is typically shorter distances (think 1/4 mile sprints or 100 yards sprints) and about once per week I'll throw in a 2 mile run. So, if you are looking for a review of this shoe for distance running you can probably stop reading now.

As for my use of the shoe, I have been extremely happy so far. I'll try to outline some of the reasons below:

Fit:
These shoes fit true to size. I ordered them in exactly the size I normally wear and they fit as I would expect.

Comfort:
One of the most comfortable work out shoes I've ever owned. They feel great on my feet and have plenty of support. Additionally, they are a nice light shoe and have ample cushion, which is nice when you are doing box jumps, tuck jumps, etc.

Style:
I don't know if this matters to most people or not, but for what it's worth, I think these are really nice looking shoes. The green isn't over the top and is a nice accent. They have a little style without being completely over the top like so many shoes are these days.

When I wore the shoes the first couple of times, it seemed like my feet were getting numb, especially during runs. I figured out, however, that the problem was me lacing them too tight. I was really pulling on the laces to tie them, and it just isn't necessary. I loosened up on the laces and the numbness stopped immediately. Also, the shoes are still plenty snug on my feet and I never feel like they aren't going to stay on.

On the whole, I think these are great shoes for the price. If you are doing circuit training, cross fit, or any type of HIIT work outs, they would be a great choice. If you are a distance runner, I have to believe these would be a nice shoe for you, but as I said I can't speak directly to that point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
I bought the black and yellow pair and they are nice looking shoes. Actually I don't think I have ever bought a pair of Asics which weren't attractive! With that being said, the shoes are kind of tight, although Asics tend to be slimmer and tighter than other running shoe brands but these seemed slimmer and tighter than usual. I don't get the spring off of these that u would like also. I am 6 ft 4, 235 lbs., and maybe these just weren't the right shoes for me but I will continue buying Asics tennis shoes regardless! Try them on for they might be the 5 star shoe for you! Maybe the fact that I have been wearing the Saucony Guides lately has factored into this review as well for the Guides feel like a gift from God, and its hard to match up with the Saucony Guide! Nevertheless, these shoes aren't so bad and I still pick chicks up in them!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2013
I've been a Nike guy most of my life. But it's only in the last year that I really have gotten into serious exercise. I do a cross-training class (50% treadmill/cardio, 50% weights) at Sweat Garage 4-5 times a week. One day I heard my favorite trainer talking about what she likes in a shoe and how ASICS meet all the criteria.

I had started developing shin splints, so I knew my shoes needed to be replaced. I hate to order shoes online, since I like to try them out, look at the them, visceral, etc. etc. But I ordered these because I was desperate.

The first time out, it felt like heaven, like running on air. They breathe really well, and the cushion on the heel is good. I don't have flat arches, but they're no St. Louis Gateway either. I get a solid, comfortable fit from these shoes.

At the end of the day, I'm not sure if it's just the ASICS or if it's just getting new shoes that made the difference. I'll try another pair of ASICS when I need to rotate out again and see if it was just a fluke or if they really are a superior design.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2013
First off, let me say that I LOVE the Asics Blur33 and Lyte33. The Excel33, however, is a very different shoe. It is stiff, and it did not let my feet flex, leading to all sorts of quirky joint and muscle pains that I never had before. I also got a black toenail using this shoe. I was very disappointed. I'm glad that I still have the Blur and the Lyte to go back to.
Since the Excel is a running specific shoe, I thought that it would be a like a minimal version of the Cumulus. It's not that either. I don't know what this shoe is, except a very stiff shoe that does not let your feet flex.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2013
Chose this shoe as a transition to a more minimalist shoe. I've been using Asics for years and these fit better than expected. The shoe feels very light and the lower heel drop is noticeable, but not drastically different from standard running shoes. I'd recommend these for anyone looking to move away from a heel striking style of running.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
Sizing, as with most ASICS run's a little long (wear 10.5 in many brands - 11 is perfect fit here). These shoes are great for running but any other use may/will break the shoe down. I used for a few crosstraining (bootcamp type) workouts and quickly saw the wear and tear show up - but that's not what these were made for so shame on me!

The sole of the shoe provides reduced shock on striking and they are certainly light-weight breathable shoes (careful for anyone who seeks beach running as the mesh over the toes will allow sand in!) perfect for mid distance training and running.

Shoes have a good look as well - overall an excellent buy and good value.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2013
I love Asics. I've tried other running brands over the years, but Asics always just fit me well. This pair was no different. They were snug, but not tight, when I put them on. I did one 3 mile run in them, and they felt great like Asics always do.

Unfortunately, I put them on today for my second run and noticed that the stitching by the big toe on the right shoe was unraveling. Let me be clear. They did not get scuffed or sliced or cut...the stitching just started unraveling!! Clearly this is an unacceptable defect for a decent running shoe. Due to my history with Asics and Amazon's great return policy, I'm doing an exchange instead of a refund. I'm hoping my next pair is more durable.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
I have always been a fan of ASICS (since I started wrestling in them in 1975) and feel that they cater to 'larger' people. I am very pleased so far with the comfort and style. If they hold up, I will be buying 2 more pairs because once I find a shoe I like, I stick to it, before they become discontinued.

***update.. The more I run in these, the less I like them. Im a big guy, 6'1, 245 and only run twice a week (10 miles) but dont think these can stand the pounding. very light but arent holding up very well. Still are very comfortable, but not a great runner for a big guy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
I didn't like it much. didn't last long either. not recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2013
This is a good overall running shoe. The cushioning in the forefoot is nice, not too much, not too little. Maybe just a bit spongy, but the shoe is pretty well balanced, meaning that the cushioning in the midfoot and the heel make the shoe feel as if your foot is much flatter than the 10mm heel to toe drop would suggest. That's good, b/c it helps to facilitate mid foot strikers being able to maintain the form to which they've become accustomed without a big cushy platform heel getting in the way. In other words, this shoe has a 10mm heel drop, but when you're wearing it, it feels like your foot is more flat than that. The shoe has some road feel to it, but not a whole lot. The heel was slipping a bit at first but that stopped after the lacing was adjusted. I can't tell if that trussic system actually does any good or not, so I guess I don't have much of an opinon on that particular "technology". I think the shoe is pretty light and comfortable, the lacing system needed some personal adjustments though. I had to parallel lace the shoes b/c the laces were digging into the top of my foot. (I have a high arch and this is a fairly common occurence for me in many different types/brands of running shoes over the years. After I got the laced adjusted the heel slippage wasn't much of an issue either. The shoe (sole and upper) has worn pretty well for me over the past month or so, not a ton of miles on it, but I'm still recovering from a fairly signficant calf strain when I went too quickly into training with the 4mm drop "minimal" Kinvara 3 - my fault. Needed to take it much slower getting into those shoes, and I rushed it, and I am paying the price now. So having this shoe still allows me to work on a more natural running form without the risk of overdoing it (i.e., injury) in a "minimal" trainer like the Kinvara. So overall I'm pretty happy with the shoe and would recommend them for training runs of 10 -12 and for use during various types of cross training workouts b/c the shoes feel pretty stable on your feet. As an afterthought, if it's important to you, they're one of the best looking trainers that's i've ever owned.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here