Industrial Deals Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Size: 17 B(M) US Women / 15 D(M) US Men|Color: Euro Blue/Citronelle/Anthracite|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 75 reviews
on October 20, 2012
I am an active duty Marine and have ran in these style shoes four the last four years. I started with the Brooks Cascadia 3s and now I am on the 7s. This shoe is both comfortable and durable. I run on average 30 miles a week, prepped and ran the Marine Corps Marathon in this shoe. Even after all that the running the shoe lastts me about 9 months. The other brands barely make it through a few months. The best part of all is that my knees and joints never hurt. I can also take these on pavement or trail running. Which is great cause i like to change it up all the time to break up the boredom. Finally all I have to say is thanks to Brooks for making a great shoe and keep this model.

6'4" 220 lbs

Joshua
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2012
I picked up an orange pair of these after completely destroying another brand's shoes in about six months. As I write this, I can see my Cascadia 7s by the door, caked in mud. Most, if not all of my running is on dirt trails, hills, and occasional pavement. I'm constantly on uneven outdoor surfaces, and foot protection is just as important as shock absorption to me.

The first thing I noticed with the Cascadia 7s is the fit--they are especially comfortable across the tops of my feet, they breathe well, and have nice elasticity. The soles are designed to take a beating while stabilizing the foot, and they have excellent traction--the tread appears to run both ways, so it grips well going up, and going down slippery surfaces. There's a rock guard around the toes, which comes in handy when I'm occasionally banging into exposed tree roots, and they do a good job of keeping most moisture away from the foot. They're not completely waterproof, but they dry quickly after being in the rain or splashing into a puddle.

As for shock absorption, if you're strictly a flat surface/pavement runner, these probably aren't for you. Each shoe weighs about 12.5 ounces, they have nice bounce and absorb impact well, but they're a bit sturdier/stiffer than a regular road shoe--that's the price of admission for the extra protection. Overall, I'm so impressed with my Cascadia 7s that I bought a second pair in the other color (green.) I expect to have these for at least a year, probably longer.
33 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Brooks Cascadia trail shoes have been a mainstay for our 19 year old long-distance-running son. He's a competitive marathoner; but also spends much of his summer months running mountain trails as training for racing in extreme trail competitions. For training, he usually wears the Cascadia 8s which were the Editor's Choice in trail shoes in the Runner's World publication. He gets about 350-400 miles out of each pair of Cascadias. At 100-120 miles per week, he goes through shoes very quickly, so when we saw the great price on these Cascadia 7s, we tossed them in the cart. The prices on these shoes vary based on size and color. At the time of our order, the only color available in his size was the bright green/yellow. We're accustomed to garishly-colored running shoes, but I have to say that this color may be the ugliest, most horrific combination I've seen. Think John Deere tractor.

For actual trail racing, our son uses Salomon Men's Speedcross 3 Trail Running Shoe. However, for daily training, these Brooks Cascadias are a neutral and fairly lightweight training shoe and are a good combination of comfort and ruggedness. They're well-cushioned and offer a smooth ride on any surface, but are particularly suited for gripping steeply sloped trails covered with mud. They seem to run true to size.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
I have about 150 miles on these shoes (including two mud runs), and they show no signs of stopping. The tread is evenly, albeit lightly worn, and I suspect I can get a good 400-500 miles total on these before I look at investing in another pair. (I plan to buy these again.) These shoes have been caked and filled with mud, fully soaked in water on multiple occasions, and I beat them on whatever hard surface I am near to knock the dried mud off them when cleaning. The stitching isn't even frayed. The laces still hold tight, and my knees still praise the cushioning. I honestly cannot think of a better trail shoe for me. Brooks quality, in my experience, is top notch. They have made a believer out of me, and I have no plans to shop around.

Pros:
*Tough as nails
*Cushioning and support
*Great grip
*Color

Cons:
*??

I HIGHLY recommend these shoes, especially at the current $70 price point.

P.S. Running shoe fit is EXTREMELY important, more so than everyday shoe fit. Do yourself a favor and get your foot measured. It doesn't cost anything, and it will greatly benefit your foot comfort and injury prevention when it leads you to purchase a correctly-sized shoe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2012
This trail runner is ideal. I am 6'3" and 250 LBS. I have normal pronation. I have run 4 times with this shoe; a 6, 7, 8, and 9 mile run. I have run through a mixture of rock, dirt, mud, and water up to my ankles. The Cascadia 7 provides ample support for all types of trail conditions. This shoe was very comfortable right out of the gate. The sole has just enough rigidity that small rocks are not a problem, but provides enough flexibility for proper running. The sole also has plenty of cushion. The stretchy upper material and the lacing system are great. I switched out the insole for green Superfeet (title/Superfeet Unisex Green Premium Insole For Maximum Support). I am extremely happy with this trail runner.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
I've been trail-running on Brooks Cascadia regularly for several years. I need to use custom orthotics because of a shorter leg, and these shoes have enough room for me to do the footbed "surgery" to fit in the orthotics. These shoes have just the right absorption to keep my aging knees from excessive stress on 4-7 mile steep trail runs, they don't weigh me down at all, and they have just enough lateral support to help with uneven single-track trails. I wear a pair until the sole wears down to an uneven stride, and replace by the next available Cascadia model. The Cascadia 7 has been especially good for me, so I got these as spares for when my current ones wear out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
Stiff and the rear could be a bit higher (thereby ensuring the shoe does not come off the foot)...and this reviewer prefers running shoes having actual holes for laces (making for a stronger junction, when pulling laces tightly), rather that those cute little black appendages, such as here (they can break easily, making lacing up the shoe impossible, particularly for those such as myself who pull the laces very tightly), but all in all, this is one excellently structured pair of running shoes, either for offroad or on-road runners. I like them very much, other that the 2 deficiencies indicated above.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2014
I love these shoes, I have been running in them for years (ultra marathons) and I cannot recommend them enough. I run road, trail, and anything in between in these. They brought me through crewing Badwater and countless other ultras. The stability feels good on my foot but they are nimble enough to let me feel the ground. I never get blisters and although the stitching does tend to tear along the top inner ridge of the foot opening, they last me generally ~900 miles. These are the only thing I run in and run a lot of mileage. if you are on the fence I would recommend trying them on at a specialty shoe store near you. hope this helped!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
Love Brooks shoes,especially the cascadia. I chose the men's cascadia because I love the green and yellow better than the ladies green and red, and the extra width is nice as my feet are a little wider than the standard B. The cascadia 7 a monster on trails and pavement. Even makes running on the treadmill nicer. They are absolutely not waterproof though, so plan to get a wet foot if you are going to tromp through puddles in your adventures. Great support, hugs the foot in all the right places and has great cushion when striking down. Not the lightest shoe I have worn, but definitely not a heavy shoe. If I want ultra- light, I will wear my vibrams. If I want support, cush and an easy ride, I'll go with the brooks cascadia any day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
I found the shoes delivered on time and in perfect condition. I have run on the Brooks Cascadia 6, 7 and 8 and much prefer the 7. The fore-foot pivot on the 8 is too far back for my feet, causing me to run with increased lumbar and low cervical flexion resulting in sub occipital headaches and a tight L5/S1 junction area. The 7's with their curved lacing beds and the further anterior forward pivot point are really comfortable for both sprinting and distance running. I use these to play field hockey as well as my trail runs. Hard to get the 7's nowadays, especially in different parts of the world, however they are the best of these 3 models, IMO of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here