Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011][Region Free]
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon August 7, 2014
I want to help clarify the difference between the 2 affordable Harry Potter Blu-Ray series, to you all. I've been back and forth on which to buy for the last several months. When searching on Amazon for this set, you'll notice that there are 2 sets, both with all 8 movies, both with the same number of reviews. These are INDEED different, regardless of how similar they are described. Here's why…

I'll start with the blu-ray that has 3 differently aged Harry's on the cover. You'll notice that it is bigger than the other collection being sold. What they don't tell you is that the discs are in 4 separate cases, 2 movies in each case. There are also 11 discs, not just 8. But to be clear on this, the 3 extra discs are just bonus content from the last 3 movies. All of the other movies have the bonus features on the same disc. There is a ton of extra content on each disc. You'll also notice, from a side view picture, the list of movies that are in the box. The first says, "The Philosopher's Stone", rather than "The Sorcerer's Stone". Don't worry, it's not a bootleg copy. It's the English (UK) version of the set. The U.S. version changed the name for marketing purposes and it doesn't affect anything about the set.

Now for the OTHER set being sold:

You'll notice about a $15 price difference in the two. This set, with the cover being of the castle, is smaller and more compact. This is because it has an insert that unfolds with all movies attached to each fold. It's neater, takes up less space, and in my opinion, looks more like the set it should be. However, this set contains only 8 discs (1 for each movie), with NO Bonus Content discs. I know about this set because It is the same that I borrowed from a friend.
So, there's not much of a difference here. I bought the bigger looking box because of the extra content and it was cheaper. The other box looks more like a classic collection but lacks content. Still, any Harry Potter Collection is worth buying. You'll always have an urge to watch it again and again (I watch the series twice a year). The Blu-Ray makes a huge difference in quality over DVD, so if you have a good TV and a Blu-Ray player, you have to go Blu-Ray.

Hope this helped!

**UPDATE May 2016**

The collection of the "3-faces of Harry" cover is currently being sold on Amazon for $62, while the Hogwarts Castle cover is being sold for $60. The "3 faces of Harry" collection has gone up in price, dramatically. I figured they'd both go up in price, seeing that J.K. Rowling's new books are coming to film starting late this year ( Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them). If you haven't seen the Trailer for the movie, check it out on iTunes or YouTube.

AND…RIP Alan Rickman, aka Severus Snape! You will be missed by all Fans.
3636 comments| 2,790 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2015
I found that a lot of the other reviews for this product were a little confusing. I am writing this review because of that reason. I was terrified of ordering this and it not being what I thought it was. I am sooo glad I did order it! This is a product for the hard core Harry Potter fan!!! This is going to, hopefully, be a short, sweet, and to the point review. The review is also of the product itself; not a review of all the movies and special features like so many people of put on here.

To clarify, this product is the "Harry Potter Hogwarts Collection DVD+Blu-Ray" Amazon option "Multi-format" version (I think it is selling for around $150 right now...I got it for $90 as a Black Friday, or was is Cyber Monday?, special!)

Included in this Box set:

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone:
1. Theatrical and Extended Version on Blu-Ray
2. Theatrical Version on DVD
3. Special Features on DVD
4. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 1: The Magic Begins on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets:
5. Theatrical and Extended Version on Blu-Ray
6. Theatrical Version on DVD
7. Special Features on DVD
8. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 2: Characters on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban:
9. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
10. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
11. Special Features on DVD
12. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 3: Creatures on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire:
13. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
14. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
15. Special Features on DVD
16. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 4: Sound and Music on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix:
17. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
18. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
19. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 5: Evolution on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince:
20. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
21. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
22. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 6: Magical Effects on Blu-Ray

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallow - Part 1:
23. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
24. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
25. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 7: Story on Blu-Ray
26: Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray 3D

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2:
27. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray
28. Theatrical/Only Version on DVD
29. Creating the World of Harry Potter Part 8: Growing Up on Blu-Ray
30. Theatrical/Only Version on Blu-Ray 3D

Bonus Disc:
31. Bonus Disc on Blu-Ray
(Includes "When Harry Left Hogwarts - Extended Version," "50 Greatest Harry Potter Moments - Definitive Version," "Designing the
World of Harry Potter," and more!

Along with this Box Set, you get the UltraViolet version of, supposedly, the entire box set! (I haven't downloaded my copy yet.) This offer is valid until March 4, 2016. So hurry up and buy this set!

Conclusion: With this box set, you get the Blu-Ray, DVD, and (until 3/4/16) digital copy of all 8 movies! As a bonus, you get the 3D Blu-Ray version of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallow Part 1 & 2, if you have a 3D Blu-Ray player, unlike me...but as I stated before I am a hardcore Harry Potter fan and would like to have those version if ever I do buy a 3D Blu-Ray player and appropriate equipment. This box set pretty much includes every single thing you could get on DVD about Harry Potter!

If you are NOT a hardcore "Pott Head" (get it!?), and just enjoy the movies, I would suggest just getting the 8 disc Blu-Ray or DVD set that only includes the movies and not all the nifty special features and bonus disc!
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
55 comments| 142 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2011
I'm actually very pleased with this product! It's very cheap, and very good quality. There are, however, a couple of things that I feel I should point out.

First, the case that it comes in is a standard mass production case that most multi-disc sets use. Don't expect a lavish collectable case, especially for the price. The case is still very durable, and allows all of the movies to be stored in a small amount of space.

Second, the films in this set ARE NOT THE SPECIAL EDITIONS. They are standard edition, as if the first disc from each movie was put in here. While there are some special features, there are not a lot.

Next, the discs themselves appear to be great quality. All of mine worked extremely well, and there were no defects whatsoever, save one thing. The disc that I received for Deathly Hallows Part 1 is missing a cover. The disc is all black, and the title and copyright information are on there, but there is not picture. This, however does not in any way affect the viewing of the movie, and is only an aesthetic concern.

Also, the box that the DVD's come in is not the absolute best quality, but it is sturdy. It serves it's purpose, and it looks very nice!

PLease note, if you want something that's collectible, DO NOT BUY THIS SET. There are others out there that will better suit your needs. However, this set satisfies all of the casual viewers' needs. It presents the movies in an accessible, affordable manner, and is absolutely a great buy! I recommend this to all Harry Potter fans who wish to have all of the movies!

EDIT As of Nov 12, 2013: It seems that the original product that I wrote this review for has been altered in some way. I'm very sorry for any confusion that results form this. Just to clear up, the set that i bought only included the 8 movies on regular DVDS. There were not any special features or extra discs.
4949 comments| 1,802 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2011
I like how a lot of fans are slamming Warner Brothers for offering up a box set containing all eight films in one compact package. They accuse how WB constantly does this for the Harry Potter franchise, and to be fair, WB has been doing incomplete Potter boxed releases for years, starting with "Prisoner of Azkaban" onwards. But when the WB actually makes a nice package with all eight films included, they still complain because there's hardly any bonus material. WB did this for their first four Batman movies before the glorious Batman Anthology came to be, so those fans have been waiting a long time that as well.

The set will just have a repressing of the initial releases, and the first three movies include their respective trailers, while "Deathly Hallows Parts 1 & 2" have deleted/extended scenes, so the "no extras" claim doesn't hold as much water. They have some, as opposed to none. Not to mention the quality of the past three Ultimate Editions' bonus features have declined to the point where I just stopped buying them (bulky packaging, no commentary and no extended editions are the deal-breakers). For me, I just want the movies, and this set allows that. For that alone it gets 4 stars. It's a no-frills package but worth it if you just want the movies and save shelf space.

If you want a comprehensive box set with tons of extras for each movie, you'll have to wait. Don't buy it if you don't want to.
3333 comments| 1,339 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
I Grew Up With The Harry Potter Movies, and i saw all the films in cinema (Except the first one)
so i was very excited to own all the films in one dvd set
This Set Is very good
It has All the 8 flms presented in widescreen and 5.1 dolby digital audio
All the films are in great shape
this is a great set to own for every harry potter fan.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2015
Movie was great up to 1:44 then pixelation started. Maybe just a bad disc for me. Opened up out of wrapper and placed directly into bluray player. All other blurays work fine. 1 year old Panasonic bluray player.
review image
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2013
Discs were found to be defective in that they froze/skipped/returned to previously viewed sections. This occurred in multiple areas. I ordered this collection in hopes the good price was a reflection of the bare-bones presentation. I'm afraid it is probably more a reflection of inferior production sources ie. "knocked off in a garage somewhere". In reading reviews of this item "collection" problems had been noted as described above ...THEY ARE REAL AND EVIDENTLY ONGOING! I was in hopes Amazon had taken note and action to correct the problem with their suppliers. A call was placed to a live person at Amazon to make them aware of this issue and hopefully get them to effect action when there is a pattern of defectiveness reported as is the case with this item.
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2011
...and I don't even own a Blu Ray player yet! (That's how much faith I have in the UK product and as a Harry Potter fan!!!) I've never bought anything from Amazon UK either so this will be interesting.

UK's version is Region Free and doesn't have any 50i encoding so these UK discs will work on all US Blu Ray players (when I finally get one). This is how Warner Brothers makes all of it's Blu Rays. If you are STILL not conviced this will work on your US blu ray, then you ought to go check out Amazon UKs site on the last Harry Potter Region Free Box Set (movies 1-6). Plenty of our USA compatriots had no issues with the films or bonus material, and reported great experiences buying from the UK. Also it comes with 3 extra discs that the US version doesn't have. And did I mention it's twice as cheap?! Yes, it came out to exactly 30 pounds, which is ~$48. Finally if you are a big Potter fan, youll have the irreplaceable value of telling your friends you bought Harry Potter from the UK. That's hardcore and I guarantee nobody will ever doubt your fanship after they know that.

Let me ask you something now, other than having to wait a couple more weeks for release, why would you NOT get it from Amazon.co.uk? :D

By the way - Best Buy/Walmart's Black Friday Ads leaked today and I did not see a deal on Harry Potter Blu Ray box sets. Plus even if they were, I doubt they could beat $48. That's why I jumped on this deal today.

Hmmm....Now I need to buy a Blu Ray player and a new TV. LOL.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
1111 comments| 171 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2011
I waited for this collection without buying any of the individual movies. It's a very nice compact set, so if you love the movies and don't own any of the individual ones, this is the set for you! It is wider than a normal DVD or BluRay case, and ends up looking like a TV series single season set. It is also set up very nice, with each disc on its own "page" within the box (see photos). I'm not sure why, but all of the discs except Deathly Hallows Part 1 have a cover image while Deathly Hallows Part 1 is black. That is my only complaint about the set. BluRay is the way to go since it looks amazing on any size TV!

Like some other reviewers have pointed out, this is essentially the individual movies packaged into a condensed set. If you're looking for extended versions of each of the movies, it looks like you'll have to wait nearly a year for that set to come out.
review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2011
amazon.co.uk has the three different HP movies 1-8 sets
just go to the site and type in "harry potter 1-8"

ALLL BLU RAY CUSTOMERS can order, as these are region free and with HD media, there is no such thing as PAL encoding.
"Harry Potter - The Complete 8-Film Collection [Blu-ray] [2011][Region Free]"
and "Harry Potter: The Complete 1-8 Film Collection - Limited Numbered Edition (Blu-ray + DVD) [2011][Region Free]"

I live in philly, i ordered the regular set, its going to come to around 40 bucks i believe
the special edition version will be way less than 100 and far surpasses this version sold here

the dvd set is SUPER cheap but it is not region free and it IS in PAL. so most americans wont be able to see it

this is true for most of amazon.co.uk 's inventory. as far as blu ray, as long as it says region free, it will work in america, and it only takes a week to get here, and it is ALWAYS cheaper. and they have WAY more unique box sets and artwork.
7878 comments| 626 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse