Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 148 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 156 reviews
on July 9, 2012
This is the best carryon ever. Rugged and very well made as shown by its weight. Excellent trade-off as some airlines are taking carryons to put in baggage compartment. All the best features in spinner wheels, out side pockets, great extend handle, great bottom and side handles, and most important, it fits under seat or overhead when airline lets you take it onboard. Don't miss this well thought out and well traveled carryon. I hate to give my secret up, but the Volt color makes the bag easy to find and identify. "Have Aspire, Will Travel".
11 comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2013
I recently completed a two-week holiday in Europe with this bag. It packed everything I needed, and kept me from bringing more than I should. The spinner wheels were beautiful for walking through airports and they worked well on concrete pavement and carpet. I was so pleased not to have to struggle with my luggage. This is a carry-on size bag, but at the upper limit of that range, and I checked it instead of trying to bring it with me. The bag does not have a lock loop on the main zipper and a lock is not included. I solved this by locking the two zipper pulls together with a TSA-approved lock and had no problem with that. There are two outside pockets: one for a laptop and a smaller one, maybe for electric cords. Inside, the bag has an elastic band for holding items in place. There is a zippered mesh pocket and a waterproof zippered pocket in the lid, plus the bag came with a transparent, zippered, quart-size baggie for liquids.

I bought the "volt" color, which is a kind of fluorescent greeny-yellow, and I'm glad I did because it really stood out on the luggage carousels when most of the others were black. There are handles on three sides, making it easy to lift and handle in any orientation. The interior fabric seems thin, and one can feel the handle mechanism through it, but it held up well during my travels. On the exterior, the fabric is a tough woven synthetic. After two international and four domestic flights, not to mention two weeks of bumping around the continent, it looks as good as new. When I was shopping for this bag, I found less expensive brands, but I'm glad I purchased this one and I'm looking forward to traveling with it again.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2013
Just got two of these. Love design build and look. But just compared to aging Samsonite carry on, and this model is significantly larger. Measures two inches longer than what United says is allowable and I mostly fly United. So, sending it back. Seems dumb that Samsonite markets a carry on that is not quite small enough for the largest Airline in the US.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2012
Love this bag. At the risk of reiterating what has already been said, this bag is roomy, well designed, rugged, and holds an amazing amount of clothes (etc)-- I was even able to pack extra shoes and a fairly large travel pillow. Packed for a 4 day trip, and I could easily have taken more. 2 large interior pockets (one for wet/dirty or shoes and one mesh), 2 generous exterior pockets and an included 1qt bag for TSA regulated liquids. Interior tie-down (elastic with clip) holds clothes right where you put them. Sturdy easy-glide zippers all around. The spinners work beautifully- completely responsive. Feels weightless when rolling (whether on 2 or 4 wheels), and handled escalators and uneven terrain without missing a beat. Stable standing upright, and stayed right where I put it. The extension handle is sturdy and smooth to operate, and I appreciated the well-placed convenience handles on sides and bottom when lifting up and down. Just took it on a Delta flight and it fit perfectly overhead. Conforms to carry-on standards but tough enough to withstand baggage handlers and luggage carousels if necessary. Made my whole trip easier. Did I mention I love this bag?

Please note: The picture of the "black" bag used here is NOT a picture of the spinner model, but no worries, a spinner is what you will get. Use the Red and Volt pix for reference.

5/17/13 edited to add: pictures have been updated, the black bag shown now is indeed the spinner. Flying with this bag for several months, mostly Delta, no problems with carry-on.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2015
I bought this bag about a year and a half ago. I picked this bag because of the Samsonite brand and the crazy bright Volt color so it would be easy to spot on a luggage carrousel. It is definitely easy to spot.

The size is big enough to hold most of my stuff for week-long trips, and the only time I've had to check the bag vs storing in overhead luggage was when we were on a plane (Canadair Regional Jet 200) with overhead compartments so small even my underseat bag wouldn't fit in the overhead, and basically everyone on the plane had to have their bags gate-checked.

My biggest complaint about this bag is in it's rollability. When standing the bag upright and rolling it on all 4 wheels, it never wants to just glide parallel to you, it always wants to turn itself cock-eyed, rolling with a corner forward. On times when I have to walk a long way in the airport, I've gotten hand cramps from trying to keep the thing going in the direction I want it. Often when changing from standing still to walking, I have to kick it a bit to get it started. The handle doesn't help much in this aspect, as it will wiggle just enough to be annoying, not helping in navigating it much. Any kind of incline means I have to switch to the 2-wheeled pull.

It's weird, but I am a little bit sad the suitcase has been so durable...I can't bring myself to replace it just because it's annoying to roll around. So until I'm well-off enough to go buying suitcases all willy-nilly, I'll be grudgingly wrestling this one around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2012
We bought a black 21' spinner 2 years ago and we've been using it all the time! Still pretty new and sturdy, especially the handle and wheels, top notch!! When I found Amazon offer 20% on selected luggage, I immediately took the advantage to order another one, red body, black frame, and much lower price. I can't be happier! They're going to be our handy companion for upcoming Las Vegas trip. Highly highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2014
I have some other Samsonite "Spinner" luggage. There are apparently some product line variations, and this particular model is definitely made a little cheaper than my other Samsonite products.

This bag fits properly as carry on in a Spirit Airbus 320, with the wheels in first and not (obnoxiously) turning it sideways. Don't fly Spirit unless you have too, but this bag will carry on just fine. The bag rolls nicely through the airport on all four wheels, which gives so much more control when navigating through crowds. Being able to easily push it in front of me made using escalators a breeze.

The bag has a nice assortment of compartments: inside there is one mesh and one plastic sealed for damp articles or carry on toiletries. On the outside are two zipper compartments. The top one is perfect to quickly stash your phone, prescriptions, papers, things like that. Samsonite also thoughtfully includes a 1-quart resealable bag that is perfect for your carry on liquids. Do yourself a favor and keep that little bag stowed in a zipper pocket so its there when you need it.

I think this is a great bag for occasional travelers who usually take short trips once or twice a month, but if you frequently travel long distances cross country or oceans, you should really consider the higher-priced series in Samsonite's lines like the Lift or Hyperspace series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2014
This was a replacement for a 2-yr old Spinner that had one of its wheels knocked off by an airline that I won't mention (but whose name is a letter in the Greek alphabet). This one had a defective zipper on the outer lower pocket. Failed to close properly from the first time but got it to work a couple of times. It then failed completely. At least Amazon is good about returns.

I also don't really recommend the volt color. It is more of a lime green than the yellow in the illustration. That's fine and it helps for IDing the bag on the bag claim carousel, but it gets dirty really easily. One trip and there are black marks all over it (both the 21" and the 25" we bought together).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
The first time I used it, it paid for itself. No more dragging something behind me. Guiding this alongside me, even fully loaded, ( and I do mean loaded) was so much better for my arms, shoulders and back! As others have noted, however, the handle is not as sturdy as I expect from Samsonite. Too much wiggle. And the side handle, doesn't seem supported well enough to use it to pick the case up. But!..... It has a handle on the bottom too, so using the top and bottom handles, you can easily pick this one up to stow it in the overhead without any problem, even for we ladies! A great addition to my traveling bags. And as a professional traveler, that's saying something!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2014
The piece is nice enough. As others have noted, however, the description on Amazon is wrong. The dimensions I measured are: 24 ½" x 14 ¾" x 10 ½" when the luggage isn't even packed. Since I never check my bag, this is too much provocation against airlines' regulations and I returned it.
Yes, it's also green, not yellow (but a very nice green).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here