Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 42 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 44 reviews
on April 29, 2011
I am a frequent hiker and for the last 2 years I have been using an old model Military HAWG. I converted it into a Day Pack and integrated tactical pouches. Although it was rugged and reliable, I needed something more practical for National Parks and strenuous hikes. The Fourteener alone, provides the space needed for a day hike but is lightweight and incorporates 2 big leaps in Camelbak tech.

The first big improvement is the Antidote Bladder, it is lighter (by 19%) and takes on a flatter profile when full (25% loss in depth). The bladder is less intrusive for the main pouch (big problem for my HAWG) and is hooked in more securely so it doesn't shift with movement. It has a large fill port that requires an easy quarter turn to open or close. There is the easy button to separate the tube and the bladder port will not release water when the tube is removed. Last, the fill port ring houses 2 curved arms that drop down and expand the bladder for drying. This eliminated my need to put the tube in the bladder to expand it.

The second big improvement is the NVIS system. It provides a comfortable feel and a ventilation system for your back. The top layer is only mesh and behind that is 3 pieces of ~1in deep foam placed left/right on your spine and lower back. The pieces create a large wishbone shaped air channel. The 3 pieces of foam also have multiple ~.5in air channels to make sure your entire back in ventilated. Finally, there is a flexible piece of plastic separating the back and water bladder. With that and the new Antidote, a full 3L bladder does not effect the comfort of the new NVIS system.

It is longer than a traditional backpack and comes with well padded shoulder and waist straps. The waist straps are more comparable to a rucksack than a simple add-on like in basic packs. The smaller front compartment houses multiple spaces and is a great place for snacks or small tools. The middle compartment is open at the top with elastic sides. It is a great place to put an extra layer of clothing. At the top, there is a fleece lined pouch made for your high-valued items. The main compartment is quite large thanks to the new Bladder. I have a large med-kit, survival-kit and packable Rain Shell taking only half the space. With the longer pack you can space your items out, giving your pack a shallower profile. There are 2 small elastic pouches on each side; great place for gloves, bug spray, etc. The pack also has straps at the top and loops at the bottom for a pair of poles or a climbing axe.

The first complaint I have is that accessories are sold separately (Insulated tube, Bite Cover). Like the military packs, I wouldn't mind paying a little extra to have everything for it. The other complaint I have is that the waist straps are not packable if you do lighter hikes. An easy fix is to shorten the straps as much as possible and buckle them inside out so they are out of your way. I have done basic hikes and geocaching with this pack and I'm very pleased. The Antidote bladder is much easier to prep and dry. The lightweight with straps allowed me to ascend in knee high bush very easily. I still sweated a little more where the pack was but the NVIS allowed for the cool morning air to travel through my back.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2013
I like the pack very much, however I am disappointed with one element. The adjustable waist belt did not fit. I am slightly overweight, so I understand that I should be responsible for purchasing an extender. I emailed Camelbak to purchase an extender and was informed that they do not manufacture extenders.

Because of the unique belt closure, a generic belt extender will not work. What if the the closure breaks? How would I fix it if you can't purchase a replacement?

The pack features are great, lots of room and pockets like other customer's have commented, but I am very disappointed that Camelbak doesn't offer options for hikers that may be overweight, and if the closure breaks.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2011
This pack is very versatile. I use mine to carry my camera, tripod, extra lenses, food, water and other supplies for the day or longer. My tripod fits easily into the side pocket at the bottom and the strap across the top keeps it in place. With several different compartments it is easy to pack various items and get to them later without unpacking everything and for the short hikes when it isn't very full I just cinch down the straps to make it compact. One of the best improvements is the bladder itself. With a spacer down the middle of it, it keeps its shape rather than all the water bulging at the bottom of the bag and making it hard to use the bottom of the pack for my other stuff. The spacer, along with the clips around the filler cap, allow it to air dry after I empty it just by setting it on the counter. Even the cap is easy to open and close with only a quarter turn for a tight seal. If I didn't carry so much camera equipment I could get everything I needed for a summer weekend backpacking trip into this pack and with the padded hip belt a ten to twenty mile loop would be fine. The only down side to this pack is that my water filter doesn't screw onto the bladder itself but I clip an empty bottle to the pack because it is more convenient to use in camp for cooking anyway and I can fill the bottle and pour it into the bladder to refill it if needed. I don't bother with it on day hikes because I've never run out of water with three liters to start with. I just fill it with ice cubes then add water and go.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2016
This is the best hiking pack Camelbak ever made. More recent models with the pods on the back panel are just not as comfortable. This model is superior because of the longer torso. On the newer models the shoulder straps insert lower on the top of the frame, reducing the back length by 1.5 - 2", which makes an uncomfortable fit for anyone with a torso size of 20" or longer. The pocket and strap arrangement on this model is also far superior to the newer model which has a top center strap and buckle that dangles needlessly. Perfectly happy with this pack.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
We purchased this pack to use for day hikes in the National and State Parks in our area. Since we usually hike for three people, we wanted to get something that would hold enough water for all of us and then some. Additionally, we liked that this pack seemed to have a good amount of interior space for holding food and other items. When this pack arrived, I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it really is. This is definitely a case where you get what you pay for. The bladder holds a good amount of water and lasted us our hike. The pack also has to spot where you can put water bottles if you need an additional supply of water. The inside does get smaller when the bladder is full, but it still has plenty of space to hold what ever one, or two, or three could possibly need for a day outdoors. I would highly recommend this to any one who is looking for a camelbak that is basically a day pack. This price might be a little higher than what one may want to spend on this but its definitely worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
I have been experimenting with existing equipment to have a day plus pack that would incorporated my hydration bladders, but I never found a comfortable setup. When I saw the deal on this unit it was easy for me to convince myself to buy it. After having it I'm not sure why I waited so long (deal or no deal). Easy to pack up and has ample room for a day or a light summer overnighter without a sleeping bag and feels light on the body.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2012
If you are looking for a combo daypack-hydration pack, look no further. The fourteener with 100 oz. reservoir is an awesome combination providing a good balance of cargo and water capacity. For day hikes in SoCal and Yosemite, I stuff this thing full of supplies and enough water for 6-8 hours of hiking. It is comfortable with plenty of loops for storing hiking poles or ice axes. The top waterproof compartment is small, but convenient. With a full load of water, I've carried almost 20 lbs in this pack very comfortably. The padding is adequate and well ventilated. A great pack, it has been used over 50 times with little or no wear.
The only addition I would recommend is an insulated tube. Fits guys or gals very well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2016
Outstanding product. I've used it extensively hiking in Utah and Yellowstone and it has not let me down. Easy fill design, and large reservoir. I've never drained it on a day hike. Plenty of storage space. I've socked items away in here and forgotten they were there and been able to pull them out when needed without feeling the strain of additional weight. Load distributes pretty well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2012
I own two Camelbak h.a.w.g's and two Camelbak mules which I use for bicycling and sometimes hiking.
Occasionally I will do some long day hikes in various areas of the country.
The Camelbak Fourteener gives the comfort and space needed to carry more essentials
as well as items needed for emergency situations but feels like a bicycle pack.
It's just what I needed!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
I got this because my old Camelbak M.U.L.E. just wasn't big enough to carry enough for a hiking day pack. It was great for water on a bike, but just not big enough. I wasn't "set" on Camelbak, but after doing research I found that this was probably still the best way to go. I got the pack quickly and it seems perfect. Just big enough to carry what I need with a little spare room, but not too big or bulky or heavy. The back pad will make it comfortable as will the bottom stabilizer help if I pack it heavier. Great hiking day pack!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here