Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Intel Core i7-3820 Quad-Core Processor 3.6 GHz 10 MB Cache LGA 2011 - BX80619I73820
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 27, 2012
This cpu was worth it, loading and speeds, no lag or any hickups, while multitasking.
This cpu runs cool, Although it just might be my h100 with four Excalibur's running, but my idle temps are 26c at 20c/70F room temp (Although I have not oc'ed this processor, really I have no reason too.)

Those who want a low budget, cpu to throw on your 3.0 board, so you can wait to utilize the new GPU's and get that extra gaming margin percentage when available, This is a must buy.

And remember if you buy this, There is no Cpu cooler.. well most of you who research this much know this Good Luck :D, if you get a bad egg, you can always replace or return :D!
55 comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2012
Right now (April, 2012), this is probably the best choice when building a high-performing-but-not-overly-expensive computer.
It's priced close to the previous incumbent, the 2600k, and mobo prices are converging as well.
It really destroys everything you can imagine, and keeping asking for more.
The one thing I would say is that Intel's X79 - your only choice if your going with Intel processors today - is not, by a wide margin, as good a chipset is i7 3xxx are as processors. I mean, support to USB 3 and Sata III is dismal, to say the least.
But that is another story...
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
If your looking for a cheap intro to the 2011 socket systems, this is it! This baby is fast and does everything I need it for without a hitch.

I have even overclocked it to 4.5GHz and it still runs perfectly!

Great CPU for the price!
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
I was debating for the longest time between this and the 3930K and ultimately chose this because for almost double the price and 10% improvement i could not justify a six core processor yet. I've tested and tested this processor to see if I can make it reach its limit in actual applications that I use everyday and I have found no roof yet. I was transferring 40GB of files from my external while I was rendering an animation while I was installing a game while I was running an antivirus scan while I was compiling a level in Unity3D while I was running Crysis 2. And there was no slowdown in anything I was running at any time. This may be in part thanks to my 32GB of RAM but a lot of it was on the processor and it never went above 30% or 40% usage. With a noctua NH-D15 it never overheats even with overclocking. I would highly recommend this processor to anyone.
44 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2012
At the time I bought this processor it wasn't the fastest on the market but it was very afordable. After installing one in my computer and another in my son's computer with new motherboards and ram the Microsoft performance index went up from 5.0 to 7.9. Made a big difference in the games my son and I were playing. It does not come with a heat sink so make sure you pick out one that will fit an LGA 2011 socket and within your desktop case. Watch out for motherboards that have the ram sockets real close to the CPU this sometimes interfers with the heat sink placement.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2012
For those waiting for Ivy Bridge-E which is coming later this year it's economical to buy into the LGA 2011 platform and save (allowing you to get your CPU and Motherboard for the price of the 3930k!)

Here's some things to consider(even if your waiting for IB-E)
It's partially locked but overclockable to 5.7GHZ which is still pretty darn fast however the 3930k is capable of a higher GHZ but that's a unlocked CPU vs a locked CPU.

This CPU or more importantly the 2011 platform DOES NOT COME WITH A CPU COOLER(STOCK FAN)! This CPU has a lower rating than it should because whiny kids don't want to spend the extra $40 on a cooler (your still spending $300 on a motherboard Man up!)

For me this just a hold off cpu until ivy bridge-e is released.
1313 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2012
This CPU is amazing. It's really fast, and from what I've seen the best processor you can get (aside from it's big brother which is a lot more expensive).

I have no problems with this processor at all, it's very fast. I play video games all day long and also use other office programs for school. So far, I'm glad I chose this model.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
I was looking to build a system that would allow me to full enjoy ALL my computing interests, from everyday emailing and word processing to the latest and greatest in simulation games and playing videos via iTunes on my computer monitor, especially flight simulations. I wanted to get as much bang for my bucks as I could squeeze. As you know when looking for a CPU you must keep things like the socket model in mind when looking to match it to a motherboard. In my case I chose the ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard, coupled with Kingston Technology HyperX 16 GB Kit (4x4 GB Modules) 16 Quad Channel Kit 1600 (PC3 12800) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX. This combination of items allowed me to fully maximize my performance capabilities needs without breaking the bank. I could not be happier with this CPU's overall performance and reliability. I strongly recommend you consider a high end cooling system to make sure that overheating does not become a disappointing problem leading to premature failures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
I have been building computer systems for friends, family and myself for over 20 years now and have quite a bit of experience due to that. I really love this processor for more than its obvious power.

Pros - It came with an attachment (which it just so happens I did not need - lucky me, right!) to mount it to just about any motherboard that may not have the appropriate locking bars. Additionally it came with a heat sink which I was not expecting but perhaps I missed in the item description. Did I mention it has amazing power right out of the box with no need to overclock! I almost always overclock my CPU's to get some extra power, but after running this one I have seen no need to do this. Plus, I got this on sale so that was an added bonus!

Cons - not really much of a con because it is pretty standard for these things not to come with this, but there was no thermal compound included for mounting my heat sink/CPU fan to the CPU.

Bottom line - I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
I've been running this processor for about a month now, and I've had no issues with it what so ever. Good piece if not a bit on the expensive side.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse