Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Moonlight Moonlight Moonlight  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 92 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 107 reviews
on April 26, 2012
Right now (April, 2012), this is probably the best choice when building a high-performing-but-not-overly-expensive computer.
It's priced close to the previous incumbent, the 2600k, and mobo prices are converging as well.
It really destroys everything you can imagine, and keeping asking for more.
The one thing I would say is that Intel's X79 - your only choice if your going with Intel processors today - is not, by a wide margin, as good a chipset is i7 3xxx are as processors. I mean, support to USB 3 and Sata III is dismal, to say the least.
But that is another story...
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
I was looking to build a system that would allow me to full enjoy ALL my computing interests, from everyday emailing and word processing to the latest and greatest in simulation games and playing videos via iTunes on my computer monitor, especially flight simulations. I wanted to get as much bang for my bucks as I could squeeze. As you know when looking for a CPU you must keep things like the socket model in mind when looking to match it to a motherboard. In my case I chose the ASUS Sabertooth X79 LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard, coupled with Kingston Technology HyperX 16 GB Kit (4x4 GB Modules) 16 Quad Channel Kit 1600 (PC3 12800) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM KHX1600C9D3K4/16GX. This combination of items allowed me to fully maximize my performance capabilities needs without breaking the bank. I could not be happier with this CPU's overall performance and reliability. I strongly recommend you consider a high end cooling system to make sure that overheating does not become a disappointing problem leading to premature failures.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
I have been building computer systems for friends, family and myself for over 20 years now and have quite a bit of experience due to that. I really love this processor for more than its obvious power.

Pros - It came with an attachment (which it just so happens I did not need - lucky me, right!) to mount it to just about any motherboard that may not have the appropriate locking bars. Additionally it came with a heat sink which I was not expecting but perhaps I missed in the item description. Did I mention it has amazing power right out of the box with no need to overclock! I almost always overclock my CPU's to get some extra power, but after running this one I have seen no need to do this. Plus, I got this on sale so that was an added bonus!

Cons - not really much of a con because it is pretty standard for these things not to come with this, but there was no thermal compound included for mounting my heat sink/CPU fan to the CPU.

Bottom line - I would definitely recommend this to anyone!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
Pros: Cheapest of the LGA 2011 sets but if you are looking to move to this socket type then you get good bang for the buck. Very pleased to see that no graphics processing is built in with this line because as a gamer, that's not near good enough and completely unecessary. Note this CPU is partially unlocked (could be a "Con" for some) and as such, you can push this guy up to about 4.4 GHz. As someone who has just stepped into the world of overclocking, I've only pushed it up to 4.0 GHz and it runs beautifully with great stability. I will update more specific info as I get appropriate measurements. Thus far, everything I've thrown at it runs smooth as silk. A bonus for this line is also the PCIe x 16 capabilities. Pop in 2 video cards and you get the full 16 lanes of data transfer for each!

Cons: Not top of the line? Only partially unlocked? Doesn't come with a stock cooler either but few people use these anyways especially with higher end CPU's because a water cooler is the way to go. These are the only possible issues I would see.

Overall: I am coming over to the Intel line after using AMD in every PC i've built up to this point ( 7 and counting) and I am very impressed by the performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
I was debating for the longest time between this and the 3930K and ultimately chose this because for almost double the price and 10% improvement i could not justify a six core processor yet. I've tested and tested this processor to see if I can make it reach its limit in actual applications that I use everyday and I have found no roof yet. I was transferring 40GB of files from my external while I was rendering an animation while I was installing a game while I was running an antivirus scan while I was compiling a level in Unity3D while I was running Crysis 2. And there was no slowdown in anything I was running at any time. This may be in part thanks to my 32GB of RAM but a lot of it was on the processor and it never went above 30% or 40% usage. With a noctua NH-D15 it never overheats even with overclocking. I would highly recommend this processor to anyone.
44 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2013
I had been running systems with the old socket 1366 Core i7. And I finally upgraded one of my systems to a socket 1155 with an Ivy Bridge Core i5. But that board doesn't support SLI at a full 16X PCI-E 3.0. It drops the bandwidth down to PCI-E 3.0 at 8X speed. So an upgrade to a socket 2011 board and processor was simply the best choice.

I specifically chose this processor because of its fairly high base clock speed. It means that I don't really feel the need to overclock. I simply let it go into Turbo Mode (3.8GHz) when I play games. I have it watercooled and rarely see temperatures higher than 52°C even at full load. So overall I'm very pleased with this processor. It was a well thought out purchase and I expect it to last for severl years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
I love to build computers, and I was getting ready to build a new gamer. I did a lot of looking around before I made my final decision. I decided that the 3820 i7 would get the job done. I ordered it, installed it - and I was right! The new computer is Fast and powerful!! I am very happy with this processor, it can easily handle anything that I throw at it- an not even break a sweat! I absolutely love it! I even let a couple of friends take a test drive on my new computer, and they were ecstatic! I picked this processor up at Amazon, they had the best price along with 2 day shipping. I really can't stand sitting around and wait for a slow shipper! So if you're looking for a great processor for gaming than I can assure you the Intel i7 3820 will not disappoint you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2016
Excellent product and excellent conditions at the time of reception. 100% recommended.
support and information is appreciated when the courier retained the product, took longer than expected due to courrier, but finally everything was solved. (Currier no explanation, simply gender delivery after much stress)

regards
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2016
I bought this processor a while ago now and it has been pretty flawlessly running the whole time.
I'm a data scientist and do a lot of music, graphics and gaming as well so it's been put through the paces.
Almost gone are the days where the computer would be unresponsive under heavy load; now that almost only occurs in the first few seconds of bootup.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
It's hard to believe after building a machine with this CPU (combined with an Intel Extreme X79SI) is the lowest end CPU for 2011. 4GB transfer in seconds blows me away. What's great is that I can go higher to get even faster. Socket 2011 made it hard to work with anything of a lower quality, so be warned. The sheer performance will make you question why you would ever want to work with anything slower again.
Anyways, I got it. It plugged in, worked, and I even got the i7 sticker to put on the front of my case to make my computer buddies jealous.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse