Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Digital Albums PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 39 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 42 reviews
on November 1, 2015
After reading reviews, I opted to size up to a medium, hoping I'd have plenty of room to layer without sacrificing range of motion. I'm glad I did, because I think a small would have been too snug for multiple layers. I usually wear a lightweight sweatshirt and an UA cold gear shirt underneath this and I have plenty of room. If I was wearing it casually, I'd size down to a small. My measurements are 33", 26", 37" for reference. The length is pretty nice and the sleeves are a nice length. As many have mentioned, the thermal lining isn't overly soft, so if you have sensitive skin, you'll definitely want a long sleeve underneath.

As far as warmth, it keeps me pretty warm down to 50 degrees with just a t-shirt underneath. With a sweatshirt and UA under, I can work comfortably down to 35 on a calm day. I double up on Carhartt thermal hoodies if it's colder than 35 or extra windy. I wear a men's small over this and it works really well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
When you look at the jacket, it seems to be high quality. It's a bit thick, and the color is really nice (I got purple).

The inside, however, is where I have the problem. I guess I didn't expect it to be as scratchy as it is. Jackets can exist with nice soft insides, right? Well this isn't one of them. I don't want you to think it's like this awful material because most people probably wouldn't have a problem with it, but I do. I don't feel like I can throw this on if I'm wearing a t-shirt because the texture on the insides of the arms are too uncomfortable. In addition, wearing this over a sweatshirt doesn't work because there's not enough room or it feels too bulky and is uncomfortable in that way.

So the only time I can wear this jacket is if I'm wearing a thin long sleeve shirt underneath. This is fine if you have tons of those. I only have a few, and I was hoping the jacket would be more versatile for me.

Hope this helps you make your decision :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
I love this jacket! I bought it last winter because I wanted a durable and warm jacket that I could wear outside and not be afraid to dirty it. So far it has been perfect. I am a very petite person. 5 foot tall and about 105 pounds. I ordered a medium because I wanted to be able to wear at least a sweater underneath. For me, this is a perfect fit for what I wanted. It has just enough room to wear a sweater under it. The bottom of the jacket does not flare out (which is usually a problem for me being so small) - so that is good. The sleeve length is also nice, as I have very long arms. I do not think a small would accommodate my long arms though. I would definitely buy another one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2012
Carhartt Women's Hooded Sweatshirt

I am very pleased with this purchase. This is my first Carhartt purchase and I will go back for more. This sweatshirt is a heavy cotton and quite warm. It fits well through the shoulders, is nice and long to cover small of back and not too loose or tight through chest. I generally wear a medium sweater, purchased this jacket in medium, and am pleased that it is roomy enough to wear over thermal or sweatshirt, but not baggy. Also, it does not grab or bind on clothing. The sleeves are plenty long for my long arms and the zipper is large and easy to grip. I am very pleassed with this purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2013
I'm on a diet, so it works for me. I wear a size L in all my shirts and other jackets. This jacket in L fits like a glove - I can wear it, but it's too snug for me to feel comfortable. I love the weight, and quality of construction though. Seeing as I'm still loosing weight, not doubt in a month or so I'll have the looser fit that's more comfortable for me. It is considerably narrower than my other size L tops, so unless you're on a diet like me, I'd buy the next size larger than you normally would wear.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2015
Bought this for my 14 year old kid and she likes it. Shes about the same build as the model in the picture and it sits about the same as on her - kinda just hangs on her a bit, and this was extra small too. Sleeves seem a bit long and bunches up on her wrists, bottom of the jacket hangs around her hips. Shes not swimming in it but it is a little big, room for her to grow into it I guess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2011
My daughter loves quality warm clothes, and she loves Carhartt products. She asked for a "warm hooded zip-up sweatshirt, like a Carhartt", this year for Christmas. I chose the vintage rose because it is so pretty, yet still fitting with the style and function of the sweatshirt. She LOVES the color. She normally wears a 'Medium', and that's what we bought. The size is perfect to wear over her normal (warm) layers, and of course doesn't shrink at all. This is now a 'staple' in her small wardrobe, and she wears it nearly every day!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
I just received this sweatshirt, so I have yet to wear it out in the cold weather. However, it is a nice, heavy weight sweatshirt and of the quality I would expect from Carhartt. I am 5'4" and 150 pounds, and the large fits me with room to wear a heavy shirt underneath. It covers the upper part of my behind. I would recommend this sweatshirt and I can't wait to wear it when the weather turns cold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2013
This is a really thick and warm jacket. I typically wear a size 4 or 6 and ordered the medium and it is too big (definitely follow the size chart)....not soooo big that I will return it though. It also has a really boxy odd fit. If I hadn't gotten this for a great price I would be returning it. I am keeping it as it would be a GREAT camping hoodie. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2013
It's perfect; fitted so it's not overly bulky, thick material keeps me warm, and the sleeves are actually long enough for my arms, which is a rare treat, and I can move my arms freely. Makes a great layer under a shell, and a great light jacket. Cozy and useful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here