Industrial Deals Beauty Oprah's Book Club STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 72 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 72 reviews
on July 26, 2013
I had ordered these and Sorel Joan of Arctics at the same time, and I'm actually disappointed in these. I read up on the company because I had never heard of Kamik before, and I figured a Canadian company would make some pretty warm boots. These may be rated to -25, but I'm not so sure that these are going to be warm enough for me. I live in the upper peninsula of Michigan where it gets really cold, and we get boat loads of snow. This is what I have noticed when comparing the two boots...

 Sorel Women's Joan Of Arctic Boot (light metal)
-Have more tread on the bottoms.
-reinforced rubber piece where the leather meets the rubber.
-reinforced stitching (3 rows of stitching) where the rubber and leather meet.
-the leather tabs the d rings are attached to have reinforcing rivets.
-laces are smoother and thicker.
-D rings are thicker and larger.
-the tongue doesn't come out as much (I like this because snow is less likely to get in).
-the liners are just straight up better; all edges are sewn, theres a stretchy front panel that goes up almost as high as the boot.
-the leather just seems thicker and the boots just seem more solid overall.

I guess on the plus side, the Kamiks are more light weight than the Sorels. When trying on the Kamiks I can move my ankle around more easily, but that might be because they're a little too big. When I stand up in the Kamiks I can fit both of my thumbs and a little more at the end of my toe, and the Sorels I can only fit one thumb. I usually wear a 9.5 or a 10 and I ordered the Kamiks in a 10, my suggestion would be to order down if you usually wear a half size. I got the Sorels in a size 9 and they seem to be fine. The Kamiks also made my hands all black after handling them, so be careful if you tuck your pants into them. The Kamik Solitude boots would probably be fine for our weather, but they're not up to par with MY expectations. If you have any questions about either boots feel free to ask :)
66 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
For the last several years I had been wearing my trusty Lands End boots on the coldest days of winter, while walking my dog. They were literally worn out and I bid them farewell.

I had high expectations of these Kamik boots..........Canadian company would most certainly make boots capable of keeping my feet warm on the coldest of days.....no? Sadly no, these boots are definitely not built for warmth. I wore them twice and gave them to my niece (she wanted them for fashion not for warmth).

In terms of fit and appearance I would give them a 4, the red isn't quite as vibrant as the picture, but very cute nonetheless. However, I would rate them only as 2 for warmth. Therefore, the 3 star rating is a blend. Before purchasing, assess your needs, they may very well be the boots for you. They may run slightly larger, but certainly not a full size, as other reviewers indicate. I normally wear a size 6 and that's what I ordered. I didn't feel they were too big at all.

I have since purchased a new pair of boots from North Face, uber cute and much warmer, and a new pair from tried and true Lands End. The Lands End is not nearly as cute as the North Face, or even the Kamik, but is much warmer than both. Both the North Face and Lands End are heavier than the Kamik, but I'm keeping both regardless!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
These boots are awesome. I made this purchase because I am a seasonal outdoor worker and I need a pair of comfortable, sturdy, warm boots to keep me going on those cold days. These fit the bill. RIght out of the box I could see that they are much more well made than a similar looking pair I had purchased from Target a few years back. I own a pair of size 10 Kamik rain boots, so I went off that for sizing, they fit like a glove! My feet are on the wide side and these do not feel tight whatsoever. Nice and roomy. The fur collar adds a cute, fun touch. They price was great. The only thing is they seem to be more of an olive drab than a tan/taupe. It's not really a complaint on my part because I really like olive drab!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2014
This boots are not cute at all, but they work as advertised! It keeps my feet warm and dry in the snow; I don't need to use extra warm socks with this. It does not even get stained with salt, just wipe out the spot with water and that's it! They fit true to size, I know the brand say you should order a size larger, I did at first and I couldn't even walk with them because it was SO BIG. So I changed it for my size 8 and they fit pretty good, with some room between the toes but I can walk right.

Resume:

-Good quality
-Warm
-Waterproof
-Windproof (yes, some boots let the wind come through..)
-Heavy (I don't know if you can run with this on..)
-True to size (your normal size, not boot size)
-Somewhat ugly (at least for my taste)

Hope this can help you! I'm using it almost every week now thanks to those winter storms... :/
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
I had these boots for a little over one month. I wore them in normal circumstances. Cold weather, lots of snow and ice, which in turn means salted sidewalks. It looks as though the salt ate through the bottom of one of the heels. ALL THE WAY THROUGH. I thought my feet were just sweating the first couple of times my feet were wet, because I figured there was no way the boots I had just bought would be leaking! I looked at the bottom and there was a hole!! I tried to return the boot, but was told I was out of the 30 day policy. Luckily I emailed Amazon customer support and they were understanding enough to make an exception, but for $20 more dollars you can get a better quality from Sorel or L.L.Bean or something. Don't waste your time on this brand.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
I bought these for shoveling and walking in the snow. Having had out first real snow, I wore them for the first time last night (mid-Dec.). I was outside in 30ish degree weather for under an hour and my toes were already cold. I was wearing appropriate socks, but the boots felt thin in the foot - the leg part was warm enough.
Sizing - I am a 9W and the 9 was definitely wide enough. They were even a drop roomy in the toes, which was ok, because it's better than the alternative.
The bottom and part around the foot felt so thin, it was almost like an insert for support and warm was missing. I will probably put insoles in them to help with comfort, but cannot continue to wear them in snow-shoveling weather.
I compared them to a very old pair of Merrel side-zip suede boots that are very worn (and warmer than these boots even in deep snow). The Merrell boots were around $250, and these were $70. I guess I got what I paid for, but I'm disappointed because even the tag of the boot says it's warm to -25 degrees.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
If you are a size 7 and want them to fit with just thin socks - then get a 6.5 - if you want to wear thick socks with the boots then the 7 will work for you.

My daughter tested them out first - she wears a 7.5 and she wore regular socks and they fit her fine - She drove an ATV for about 45 minutes in 20 degree temp and her feet stayed warm.

The red dye ran down the boot at the beginning - might want to keep them off a good rug/floor at the first couple of wearings.

I wore them with regular socks and shoveled the driveway - I was out there for about 45 minutes in 20 degree weather - feet were toasty the whole time.

Haven't worn them outside for hours on end yet so I really can't comment on them.

They are super cute and were delivered quickly - Happy Happy Happy with my purchase :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2013
Loved everything about this boot- look, comfortable cushion, construction, quality- except that it was not made for feet with high arches. The seam around the too was too rigid for my arch. Loved boot so much that I bought women's boot stretchers on Amazon to make it fit. Now I'm a satisfied customer, because I really did not want to send it back. I bought my daughter the brown colored boots and they fit her perfect and she loves them! (No arch problems)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2017
boot looked good but my wife has had it for a year and from the first time it ever got wet the red dye from the boot stained everything it touched. even the snow turned red from the dye. It has continued to stain clothes even after a year of use. don't buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 15, 2013
I bought these boots for my teen and fell in love with them, so ordered my own pair! I live in the mountains and spend a lot of time outdoors in the snow and cold. These boots are super comfortable, waterproof, and stylish! They ran about 1/2 size big. I would recommend these boots for sure!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here