Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Foo Fighters PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 83 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 100 reviews
on November 24, 2016
The Town Hall is the largest and most imposing of the Lego Modular buildings. Towering over your brick city. The front is gorgeous with clever pillars and steps. Even the doors are a fantastic build. It is also a distinct and rare color, hard to find from any other set. The minifig she form a story of a Wedding, presided over by the mayor.

The only criticism of the set is that the building is in many ways a huge box of air. Which is somewhat unfair. It has an airy and open interior with high ceilings. But it still packs a good deal of details.

Overall a great set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2016
Every town needs a town hall - right? And this town hall does stand out impressively, even alongside all the other modular buildings in Lego's wonderful series. It seems like an essential addition to any Lego town. It is one of the few that is truly modular in that you can display it with just the ground floor and roof, or the ground floor, 1st floor and roof, or the ground floor, 2nd floor and roof, or all three floors, with the 1st above the 2nd or the 2nd above the 1st. Mix and match. 5 viable configurations - change the display every day!
And when you play with its modularity like this, magic happens. As built, the structure is imposing but a bit bland. But when you take away the 1st floor and have just ground floor, 2nd floor and roof, voila! You get an amazing school house. It has a much better sense of proportion than the full set and also the wonderful detailing of the entrance facade dominates, whereas with the full set it tends to be a bit buried visually as the eye is drawn upward. And what would you do with that middle section? Well, it is a perfect shape for a nice single-story house. Just change the front door, remove the balcony and add a roof. The elevator area becomes the bathroom (yes the set has a working elevator rather than stairs!). So we have nice lounge, bedroom and toilet, with plenty of space in the atrium-area for kitchen and dining, and for extending the bathroom. AND that's what Lego Friends sets are for - I have plenty of them for refurbishing my modulars...
As for the set itself, this is the second-last in the original series, which ends with the Palace Theatre. After that the modulars have focused more on internals and play features, to the point where somewhat childishly gimmicky toy features dominate the building design of the Brick Bank and Detective's Office, to the detriment of the actual building itself. The earlier modulars are more solidly aimed at adult fans of Lego, and at creating imposing buildings (and especially facades) for a Lego town.
The Town Hall holds together well and is easy to transport and clean. It is probably my second-favorite of the 11 modulars published so far.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
Item arrived very promptly, no issues there. Amazon outer carton was in excellent condition upon arrival, however once opened I found that the LEGO box was crushed on all four corners and was OPENED on both ends!! They didn't even bother tapping up the ends before putting it in the outer carton :( One of the clear bags inside the box containing LEGO pieces was ripped opened and the pieces mixed through the other bags. Until the set is made by the recipient of the gift I do not know if there are any missing parts? Very upset with the condition the LEGO box arrived in as this was meant to be a gift, I'm embarrassed of its presentation. Instruction manuals not damaged. This set is huge, will be great fun putting it together, and an excellent addition to the LEGO Creator series. Just disappointing to receive a "Brand New" item looking more like Seconds.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
Over the holidays, my niece got a larger Friends LEGO set and I helped her put it together (it had around 1200 pieces!). I was once again bitten by the LEGO bug. I hadn't played with LEGO's for nearly 20 years but now I had to! I looked around LEGO's website to see what kinds of sets were available - I had seen all the movie sets and what not already in the stores, but wanted something more interesting... Saw these Creator sets and I just had to have them. I ended up getting the 4 that are currently available (Town Hall, Pet Shop, Fire Brigade & Grand Emporium). Too bad the other 2/3 are valued so highly and cost around $1000 each (too rich for my pockets!) but I am looking forward to the Chinese Theatre that will be coming out sometime this year. I wish they made more than 1 of these each year! This set took me about 6-7 hours to complete and it is magnificent! I did a time lapse photo shoot of it as well (which may have increased my build time a little). I've completed 3 out the 4 sets I've purchased and they are some of the best looking sets I've seen and truly had a blast putting them together. One the best parts about these buildings is that they are designed to be connected together to make a street out of them. Can't wait to get more LEGO sets to build in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
Lego Creator set 10224 Town Hall was a challenge to put together but very enjoyable.
It was fun to see all 3 levels go up. Since 10224 Town Hall set was discontinued by Lego, paying a premium
price was in order but worth every dollar. Every Lego City needs a focal point and the Town Hall Set meets that
level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
I had hesitated about buying legos from amazon after ordering a couple sets a few years ago and having them arrive with the boxes bashed and loose legos released from their individual bags sliding around inside the actual Danish lego box. But when I saw the Lego Town Hall on sale for $180, I couldn't resist, as it was #1 on my son's Christmas list. I was relieved when it arrived completely intact. Perhaps complaints about the need for better packaging to protect the precious legos was taken into account after customers complained, as I ordered several lego items from amazon this Christmas season and they all arrived undamaged. Hopefully, the Jeff Bezos customer service pledge was applied and from now on legos will be shipped with sufficient padding to protect them! My son spent most of Christmas day putting it together! It's a FANTASTIC set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
This was my son's (9 yrs) big Christmas present and we built it as family during the 2 days after Christmas. It did take alot of time to build, but there is such variety in the building that we never felt bored. In fact both my husband and I were caught sneaking off and working on it by ourselves. A month later and my son is still playing with it. The way the floors break apart makes it much more conducive to playing or just moving the mini figures around. The elevator is definitely my son's favorite feature -- mine too. This is probably not the best choice for your first big Lego build, but for the intermediate level and up it is rewarding. Check out the YouTube video of the actual designer doing a demo if you want a more detailed look at the building itself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2016
This was the perfect gift for my son. Challenging but manageable and a pleasure for him to build. He could not have been happier. Very impressive looking and through in design and function. The perfect gift and an ideal keepsake with many happy memories for him and for our family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
I purchased this for my 10 year son who is a lego fanatic. For some reason Amazon wouldn't post it so it was delivered to my sister in Vegas and flown out. This Town Hall is amazing, it took my son a day to build it and he has proclaimed that he will never pull it apart. The details are amazing and the building consists of three level with their own function. A wonderful addition to a lego collection, and although it says that it is for 14+ I think younger die-hard lego men will manage construction. This lego piece in Australia is $499.00, so Amazon please allow delivery to Australia as even with postage this is still a great deal - and I want to order some more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2017
Very happy. Was delivered before delivery date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here