Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 57 reviews
on September 26, 2012
after looking at amazon and zappos for a while i came across this pair a few days ago and went for it. i think they're a brand new model for this brand as i haven't even seen this on their site.

at first i was unsure about the sizing and construction, as they're made in china, but they're actually a pretty good pair of boots for the price - relatively lightweight, flexible and smooth, rich leather - the leather itself may fall just a bit on the thin side, but it's well-conditioned and seems fairly durable. they seem pretty true to size (perhaps a 1/4 size larger, but nothing a pair of insoles can't make up - plus more cushion).

the best part is that there's really no break-in time. they're totally wearable out of the box. good inside padding makes for a good, supportive fit - they're easy on one's feet - pretty soft and comfortable. the rubber soles provide good traction, but they're not at all bulky or heavy like you see on some other boots with a similar look.

as far as the color/texture goes, they're just a bit shinier than pictured here on amazon (not matte like they appear in the photo), but retain that same nice deep dark brown color.

i guess i'll have to wear these for a few weeks to see how they turn out, but i'm happy overall with this purchase.
decent price and pretty good quality.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
I love these. I didn't expect outstanding quality for only $150. They're good for the price. Not amazing, not terrible, just good. The construction is a bit sloppy with not smooth cuts and some loose threads here and there but otherwise it's all minor stuff and not noticeable when they're all the way down there on your feet. The leather is kinda thin and has a plastic feel like other reviews mentioned but whatever, looks good enough. The black is really a very dark drown but I like that, it has more character than a flat black. The fit was really snug across the top of my foot but broke in within a day of wearing. Zipper can be rough but just requires a specific kind of handling to get it working smoothly every time.

5 stars because they are what they are. An affordable boot with reasonable quality.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2013
I am very particular about things- especially clothing. I had been looking around for 6 months for a good pair of boots that met the following criteria:
- around $100
- comfortable
- great looking style (could be dress or casual) and something not too boring
- all season- not too hot in the summer, and could pull off in the winter
- decent tread on the soles for grip in the winter

It seemed whatever I looked for lacked key qualities- if they had great style, they had little cushion for comfort, or if they were comfortable & cool- reviews would say they would fall apart. I didn't think i'd find boots...until I found these! they are awesome. i've had them for about 6 months now and i still get so many compliments on them. they are comfortable- and didn't take long to 'break in'. they look good with jeans or slacks- especially slim fit. and I love the Teak color. looks really sharp.

Downsides are few. I like having the zipper, both for looks and practicality, but it isn't the smoothest zip, and sometimes can be tedious- i'm afraid it'll break, so I find it just as easy to use laces instead. If only these were waterproof they'd be perfect. they can handle winter, but not too much galoshin' in wet snow.

Important note- they run a little big. I normally wear size 10.5 for almost all shoes. in these i'm a perfect size 10.

For the price- awesome buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2014
Ive only worn these bad boys once (I live in san diego, california usa, and it is hot right now and would be so uncomfortable wearing these in 100 degree weather) so i cant really say how good these boots will last in the long run.

However, they are really comfortable when appropriately worn.
Its a classic style (military) with a zipper on the outside of the shoe plus it has the option of lace wrapping around the ankle.
The leather smells like its right off the farm (genuine).
They come with a 'worn' look on the leather and especially on the rubber soles which make them look like a broken-in pair of boots.
The fit is as expected, so measure your feet and buy the length you require. However, they do seem a tad bit slim in the width or something because they are really snug on my mid-foot (talus bone).

Its four stars because i have no other boots to compare them too. Otherwise, 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
I sent the first pair back thinking it was just a mistake, but it wasn't. The black is dark brown. Very dark brown, but dark brown.
They do not look like the picture which shows a flat black.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
Decent boots. Surprisingly comfortable and the leather is nice and supple.
Construction seems solid, though I don't know if they'd hold up to daily wear over a year or more; The zipper feels stiff and a bit clunky. That and the lack of metal reinforcement in the eyelets reads as planned obsolescence.
For the price I paid ($85US) quality is better than expected.
They run a little (maybe half a size?) long, and don't look quite as good in person as in the photos. I usually wear a size 10 and have fairly narrow feet and these are great width-wise but just a little long in the toe. Not enough to be a problem, but they do look very long compared to the images, which must be a size 8 or so. Nevertheless they look sharp and are growing on me.
Sole is solid and grip is more than adequate for urban use.
If I could give half stars this would be 3.5 but considering the price vs similarly styled boots I'd rather go 4 stars than 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2014
Leather is not tough or thick but not as fragile as one would think. Soft and malleable yet able to retain shape. It comes with a fresh colour coating with NO protective finish. Caveat emptor!

The size ordered was an 8US, which was perfect lengthwise but found to be a bit narrow towards the toes.

The sole is a synthetic and very sturdy, offering a lot of grip and traction when walking or running in suburban areas. It is not, however, suitable for off-road paths as one would imagine. This is one sole that will stand the test of time.

The zips located on each side of the boot offer a neat exit for your feet and you can even take off the boots with the laces - when done up correctly.

Overall - 4/5
Good investment for the money that was spent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
I wanted to get some boots for my son for Christmas. He described a bit of what he wanted to me and when I saw these on Amazon I thought they were perfect. He loves them, they fit well and true to size. He has a wide foot so I ordered a half size up (as he is on a growing streak). They fit perfectly. I went shopping at the mall after I bought them and saw them on a manikin at Express in a different color so I figured they must be fashionable for young men these days which was a bonus. I looked like a cool, hip mom to my son and he was very pleased with the boots. If I could change anything, I would get another set of laces. These laces are so long my son has to wrap them around his ankles a couple of times. But he would have much preferred to tie them once and get in and out of them via the zipper. This is a minor thing and I can buy him some new laces.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
Boots are just a shade too large (maybe a half size or less?), but I'm keeping them, as I'm good with trading perfect fit for ease of on and off. Leather is of reasonable quality for the price. Overall construction quality is good, other than some slight fraying in the stitching around the sole. High marks for comfort (no break-in required). Biggest complaint: although advertised as black, leather is more of a very dark brown (laces and soles are true black). These kicks would have been a home run if the color was as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2015
Quick shipment. The toe had a slight dent out of the box, but nothing I couldn't smooth out quickly. The boots so far are a lot lighter in weight and more comfortable out of the box than my Doc Martens which is great. The leather isn't as thick as my Docs which we'll see later if that's a good or bad thing.

UPDATE: MUST READ
Ok, so when I wrote the initial review, I had just received them, I was excited. I tried them on, and they were comfortable. Well, if these boots are hand made, it's a sorry excuse. That or Bed Stu has serious quality control issues. I've included pictures of everything so you can see what I'm talking about. From what the other reviews have been, hopefully I simply got a defective pair.
1) The zipper on the side can get caught on the bottom when you have them zipped down because they cut the flimsy inner flap way too short for it not to catch on the zipper on the way up. (SEE ATTACHED PICTURES)
2) Apparently they didn't have enough leather dye to finish the shoes (SEE ATTACHED PICTURES).
3) Stitching is poor and doesn't appear built to last.

I'm going to send these back in exchange for another pair in hopes that these were simply a defect pair. I'll keep this updated.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here