Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop now Book House Cleaning whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 197 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 205 reviews
on April 12, 2013
First of all, let me say this is a great bag. However, I believe that clarification should be made about the measurements. There is a difference in how the airlines measure your bag, and how American Tourister measures it. The airlines measure the outside of the bag...and in particular, the depth of this type of bag is deeper than stated because the airlines include those pouches on the front. This makes the measurement of the 29" upright to be 29 x 21 x 14.5. This brings the total to 64.5".......2.5" over the 62" allowed on the airlines. I really loved the bag but would have had to pay $175 for an "oversized" bag. Now, the way American Tourister measures their bags is on the INSIDE. They don't count the pouches on the front; just the inside of the main compartment. So, sadly, I had to return the bag. BUT, I ordered the next smallest bag offered by both American Tourister and Amazon and this bag is only 25" upright, making it well within the 62" limit allowed on airlines. I am sure that bag will be every bit as good as this very large bag is.....and let me tell you the 29" upright IS HUGE! I have a 60 pound Brittany that would fit inside that bag perfectly with room to spare. No, I did not stuff my dog inside the suitcase to test it. He was standing right next to it and I could see just by looking at him that he would easily fit inside. I also read in another review of this bag that the reviewer stated she is 5'11" weighing somewhat over 100 pounds...and she was able to fit inside the bag except for her head. This will give you an idea just how very large the 29" upright is. But, it will be too large for the two airlines I will be taking...which is US AIR and UNITED. I don't know what the other airlines allow.
Amazon has a very generous return policy as well. Not only that, but their representatives are extremely kind, very helpful, and courteous. I asked for a postage paid return label to return the bag. The gentleman I spoke to was extremely helpful and he sent me the return label via my email as we spoke...making it possible for me to repackage the bag, and drop it off at UPS the same day. This makes dealing with Amazon a wonderful experience all around.....especially when you call Customer Service and are always greeted by really warm, and courteous representatives.
1111 comments| 389 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2012
This suitcase is great...

Good thing:
1. Larger than expected.
2. Lighter than expected.
3. This is an Expandable suitcase.
4. A lot of storage spaces.

Bad thing:
1. The "Solar Rose" color is pretty dark. And it looks like "Purple."
2. Material is great, but its however, "too thin"

Overall 5 Star because of the Light weight and HUGE size. Recommend to anyone!
22 comments| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
Just used this luggage for a roundtrip travel to INDIA from the USA. We found the space inside the luggage to be very helpful. No issues size-wise for check-in baggage (again, for an international flight), and so long as you monitor the weight, no issues there either.

What we found problematic was the collapsable handle on top. Whether it was due to aggresiveness by the airline's luggage handlers, or just because of flimsy build, the handle warped a little, making it difficult to extend and collapse.

The color of the suitcase (and you have other options too) is nice just for the sake of easily finding your luggage on the luggage belt in the sea of black luggage pieces.

The top and side handles (the fabric ones) are ok, but if you're box is close to the allowable weight of 50 lbs (23 kg), which is what international flights to India will allow, the handles are stressed.
22 comments| 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2014
This suitcase is awesome!! It is so huge and we were able to pack so much stuff. I was traveling with my husband and two kids so we had a lot to pack for a 9 day trip to Gma and Gpas. We flew Southwest Airlines from Kansas City to Oakland and back. I read reviews and took a chance. We were NOT charged for having an oversized suitcase. We were careful to keep it under 50 pounds. If you were packing heavy items, you could go over. We traveled during the summer and that helped. There are tons of zippered compartments. To cut down on weight, the sides are not reinforced. I worried about that, but our case is still in excellent condition. Once the case is full, the sides are ok. Just be careful and don't pack fragile items if you can avoid it. I was a little concerned that once the bag was full, the side handle did feel like it could rip if you hoisted it hard enough. We just used the top handle and telescopic handle. We got this item at an awesome sale price with free shipping. For the brand, it was simply an excellent purchase. We don't travel enough to justify the extra cost of having a spinner case. This was great for us.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2014
We had two exchange students and during the last year they bought a whole bunch of stuff - so they needed a second suitcase to bring all their stuff home. We shopped around and eventually picked this one as it offered a very large internal space and barely fit the measurements to qualify as a standard and not "oversized" suitcase on their returning home airline.

Initially our student from Thailand loaded this bad boy up to the brim - and when we put it on the scale it tipped at just over 90 pounds!

When I lifted it by the upper handle (the one riveted to the body of the suitcase, not the telescoping handle), I heard the sound of a few threads tearing. It probably would have been fine, but I was clearly stressing the suitcase beyond its limits, which is the ONLY reason I cut one star off the rating. Since she could only have 70 pounds in the suitcase per the airlines regulations without it being classified as "Air Freight", she removed 20 pounds of stuff and we got it to the exact number.

Suitcase has numerous pouches in front, handles top and side, nice wheels, and made it half way around the world (Michigan to Thailand) through 4 airports without any issues.

You can certainly pay a lot more for a suitcase, but why?

It worked so well that our exchange student from Germany bought the exact same unit in a different color and is going to use that to bring all her stuff back as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2014
We bought this for a week long trip to London. It easily fit in under the criteria for size specified by British Airways. And its light weight also enabled us to come in under th 51 Kg limit that BA has. The multiple handles allowed us to both heft it up and down those countless steps in the Underground and it rolled very easily on sidewalks with different textures. It rolled easily, the handles extended and retracted with no issues. As many have noted, it's a huge bag! Probably 3 people could fit 1 week's worth of stuff in it with room to spare! The color is as shown but it's hard to name so I guess Solar Rose is as good as any. Very easy to spot on the luggage carousel. I Scotch-guarded it before going and it didn't pick up any stains or even just dirt marks. I definitely recommend this bag and at the price I paid ($77), it is a serious bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
A good suitcase as long as you're not travelling by air. My experience with this was great until then. The size unfortunately makes it easy to overpack and because it also expands you will exceed the Length/Width/Height restrictions, especially with Delta. I had to pay an extra 200 for this, which was ridiculous! It already weighs 13 pounds, which I must have glossed over when I purchased this, because that is a very significant amount just for the luggage before anything is even inside! Otherwise great quality.

TL;DR: Don't buy this if you're considering flying. Exceeds length/width/height restrictions. Easy to overpack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2014
My wife brought home a bag from a local store. We paid $120 for the bag she purchased, and I thought it was a bit excessive. I decided to purchase this American Tourister case because it was the same size, and almost $50 cheaper on Amazon. It arrived two days later, and I was able to compare the two. The materials used in the American Tourister case were definitely inferior. They used a lightweight cotton/nylon mix, whereas the other brand used a high density polyester. The cases were approximately the same weight, but the store bought case was superior in every respect (zipper quality, material, wheels, etc.). We do a fair amount of air travel, and I just don't think the Tourister economy luggage will hold up as well. The bottom line is that you may be better off buying luggage in a place where you can compare quality close up. I'm sending this one back for a refund...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
Bought this luggage for my mom as her big check in bag for Delta Airlines and it went through well. She loves the color and space of the bag.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
Light weight is true ~ yet equals poor construction. American Tourister did not stand up to it's name. The size is wonderful, yet when you fill it to to the required airline allotted allowances, it looked as though it would buckle and crumble. It was brand new yet I forced myself to cut-off the side handle that carriers would grab. Otherwise I would not have arrived at my destination with my goods. HOWEVER - wheels are and zippers are 100% American Tourister quality. I highly recommend this for regular travel other than air travel. It truly is a great bag with all of the side zippers, etc. And it really is perty ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here