Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 92 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 100 reviews
on June 22, 2014
It's a sturdy processor with some power. This is a processor that has 2 faces. If your looking to save a couple bucks but still get some power get this processor. If your looking to use it for gaming and can afford a higher end quad core or higher go with that. The reason I'm saying that isn't because this CPU can't handle gaming because it can. I'm saying that because the next generation of games will require better processors. Graphics these days are very impressive however games are turn toward improved immersion which includes voxels and those require more cpu power not textures and more detailed surface modeling. The computer I builts specs will be included at the end. Some of the games I've played on it are Eve Online (Max settings), Titanfall (High settings), Space Engineers (Max), Skyrim (Maxed with enhanced graphic and immersion mods), Watch_Dogs (Medium textures, Maxed shadows and lighting).

System Specs,
Thermaltake Chaser A71 No Power Supply Full Tower Case VP400M1W2N
Gigabyte Intel Z77 LGA 1155 Dual UEFI BIOS ATX Motherboard GA-Z77-DS3H
PNY XLR8 SATA 120GB 6Gbps 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive SSD9SC120GMDF-RB
Corsair CX Series 750 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Bronze
8 GB DDR3 corsair vengance
Corsair Vengeance Blue 8 GB (2X4 GB) PC3-12800 1600mHz DDR3 240-Pin SDRAM Dual Channel
Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64bit, System Builder OEM DVD 1 Pack
EVGA GeForce GTX 660 SUPERCLOCKED 2048MB GDDR5 DVI HDMI DP Graphics Card 02G-P4-2662-KR
BenQ Gaming Monitor RL2455HM (24-Inch LED)

Cost approx $750 for the machine without OS or Monitor. Also if you can afford to build your computer do it. You'll learn a lot about them AND save some bucks down the road since you can upgrade it yourself with the parts you want instead of replacing an old outdated name brand computer. For instance all I would need for Max graphics in Watch_Dogs is a graphics card with 3GB GDDR 5 (those are exspensive btw and the game looks amazing without it). Or if I find a game that requires more CPU power then I can upgrade the Motherboard and Processor or just the processor as long as it's compatible with my current motherboard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2014
Bought this CPU for a (mostly) media server and HTPC roll. Has been a spectacular performer in all regards. On the rare occasion that I ask it to perform CPU-centric processes, such as decompressing a 10GB movie file from .rar format, it is very slow, but I knew what I was buying when I bought it. It runs Windows Server 2012 R2 like a champ. It handles my 16GB RAM and 17+ TB of HDD space, no problem. Even plays my older video games without a single snag (Civilizations 5, with a modest video card). I'm not a gamer, so I would not expect it, nor even ask of it, to play any modern video games.

In all, this CPU is a workhorse. Don't buy it to play intensive video games, don't buy it to render video or audio, and don't buy it if you run a lot of CPU-intensive processes. Buy this CPU if you perform basic functions, such as watching video, or creating/modifying documents within a productivity suite, including e-mail, etc. If you want basic I/O but need more than a Celeron (note: Celerons only belong in PC's which have little-to-no human interaction), this is the best and cheapest CPU you can buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2017
Bought this to replace an overheating processor. I had to return it because kept rebooting the computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2013
I USED THIS FOR A HTPC BUILD MORE THAN ENOUGH FOR THAT PURPOSE, WITH STAND ALONE VIDEO CARD.I DID NOT GIVE IT A 5 STAR BECAUSE I HAVE SYSTEM WITH AN I5 3570K. THAT BEING SAID I DO HAVE TO ADMIT IT IS QUITE FAST FOR DESKTOP STUFF VERY IMPRESSED. Sorry about the cap lock to lazy.Just wanted to add for the Die hard AMD fans I do like AMD products and all my video cards (5 builds) all have Amd video cards But, intel cores are equal to 1.5+ cores of Amd. family fight my I5 4 core only 2% less than my Brother in-laws AMD 8350 8 core yes less money but also less efficent cores.Tried AMD A10 6800k With fm2 board Returned for I3 thats all I have to say about that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2013
I bought this CPU for my first build ever and man does it do work. When coupled with my HD 7850 graphics card I could run games like never before on higher settings and with smoother frame-rates. I am very happy with it because it was so much better than what I had before in my old desktop. (AMD Athlon X2 250) Simply a great product that is a work horse and will make your comp feel like your own personal gaming machine. Or whatever machine you want it to be. A processor that is fast and affordable, you can't go wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
Intel has ALWAYS been my brand of choice for processor, hands down. This processor continues the reliability and power that all processors from Intel boast. I almost went for the i5, but didn't need a quad core processor. However, I felt a little regret with not spending $90 more to get it, but after installing this i3 into my desktop build, I am happy to have saved the money because the dual-core i3 does everything I want and more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2012
I have been building a gaming rig and choose this processor as a start. What is excellent about this processor is the power comsumption and the hyper threading feature.
PROS:
- The hyper threading feature allows you simulate two more cores at fast speeds, is being recognized for some programs as a 4 core cpu.. The 3.3 ghz on this baby make it very fast!!
- The temperature is not high at all but I have it with an aftermarket NZXT respire T20 and it idles at 28-31 C and while gaming it reaches 48C as a maximun that I have recorded. (Awesome) The stock fan was at 31-33C in idle and reached 54C while gaming. So you can compare.
- It does not bottleneck my AMD Radeon XFX 7850, I have played games like Hitman absolution, Dishonored, Torchlight 2, COD black OPS 1 and 2, Dirt 3, Mass effect 3, all of them at the highest settings without lag.
- If you do not have a dedicated video card, the Intel Hd graphics 2500 perform very good. I was able to play movies at 1080p and to stream them to my PS3 using the PS3 media server, and all the movies played fine.
- The integrated 2500 graphics are for casual gaming, but I played before DMC 4, dishonored, dirt 2 and medium to high settings but in 1280x600. You need to tweak a little bit the settings.
- Excellent processor for multitasking and daily basis computer programs.
- It scores 7.2 in windows experience in Windows 7 ultimate.

CONS:
- Not a good processor if your stuff is video editing. Although this processor is good and fast at it, you might need an i5 or i7.
- It might give you lag while playing Battlefield 3 multiplayer, since that game is very processor demanding. But the single player story runs fine.

I highly recommend this processor for anyone building a gaming rig and for daily basis tasks.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
I bought this to upgrade my daughter's old core 2 duo computer. This thing has no problem pushing a geforce gtx580. She mainly uses her computer to watch YouTube videos, plays Star Wars Galaxies and miscellaneous browser based games. She edits videos and movies (with windows movie maker) with ease. She also does Microsoft PowerPoint for school...thus is a top notch processes that more than fulfills the above needs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
Well, first of all the CPU is great, i used to have the Celeron G530 paired with the HD6850 from AMD, and it was ok at gaming but sometimes the bottleneck from the CPU was annoying so i decide tu upgrade to the i3..(not enough money for the i5).

The "problem" that i have is with the temperature of the cores, i read reviews here and on another sites and it seems that the idle temps are between 28 and 33, my cores are at 38c on core0 and 14c on core1 with a room temp of 15-17c....at full load the temps are more close, 56c on core0 and 48c on core1, i thought that maybe the motherboard wasn't reading the heat sensor right so i try the i3 on another board and the result is the same, it kind of worries me that i received a faulty chip, and that at some point it may fail on me, because right now is very cool where i live, and it idles at almost 40c, so i don't know what is going to happen when the ambient temperature rise to 30-35.

I still think that the CPU deserves a 5 stars rating because the performance/price is great, and i do understand that when you buy electronics, something can be defective...it happens.

Any ideas about the high temperatures?

Thanks.

P.S. I apologize if my English is not right.

UPDATE 01-21-2013

I decided to return the CPU to amazon after the user M.Zaurov told me on the comments of this review that it was possible (i didn't know that) and i have to say that i'm very impressed.

I sent an email to amazon support at 12 pm on January 7th and in less than 5 hours i received an email telling me that a new order was placed for me at no charge and with the prepaid labels from UPS for the return of the defective CPU. Amazing.

The new i3 i recieved is working as it should, the idle temperatures are between 26-28c on both cores and on a very cold night it goes down to 18c using the Hyper 212+ and 43-45 at full load. With the stock cooler i didn't notice a big difference at idle, 27-29c but on full load it goes up to 51-54c so i decide to use the Hyper 212+ although the stock fan is quieter.

Yes, i'm happy now :)
99 comments| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
Bought it for my first build. Superbiiz.com had it a little cheaper but I had some Amazon credit so purchased it from here. I mainly surf the web, play a little Diablo III/SC2, some word processing from time to time. It does what I need it to do stays at 36 degrees unlike some AMD CPU's I have had in the past that would get as hot as the sun. Great for entry level computer builds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse