Amazon Business Books with Buzz STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Shop Popular Services girlss6 tgirlss6 girlss6  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade in and get paid instantly Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 119 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 125 reviews
on May 30, 2013
I wanted to leave a few comments regarding these shoes. I purchased the brown pair and they fit really well. I usually wear a 10.5 (D) in Sperry Topsider and these shoes were a perfect fit. The color is a deep chocolate brown (like a chocolate bar). They are a little on the wide side though, but this might be more that I need to get used to them. I have been wearing Sperry's for the past three years so this is a definite change. The sole of the shoes is definitely the same gel sole that is found on most Clark shoes. They are comfortable, but there doesn't seem to be much cushion or arch support.

11/2013 UPDATE: just wear them for a week and they turn into wonderful little cloud puffs on your feet! So comfortable!. So expect (initially) to be a little soar after being on your feet all day. I would say that has been the biggest drawback so far. But again, I may just need to break them in. I think I will provide an update in a few weeks on how they fit. Other than that the construction of the shoes seem durable and the leather is very soft. You can walk in them right out of the box. Are they worth the money? I say yes. They are very classy looking but with a casual flair - so they're not over-the-top ostentatious like the Bostonian Alito Oxfords.

11/2013 UPDATE:
I have had the tan pair of shoes for quite a while now, and I absolutely love them! I have only one complaint, the soft sole. It wears so quickly. I usually swap between these and a pair of just-as-comfortable Sperry Mako's (actually I can't tell a difference between the two shoes! They are equally comfortable!) However, there are a couple of things that I do to them to keep them in tip-top shape, first I keep them the shoe stretchers in them when not use. Second, I keep them shined with some Kiwi Brown shoe polish (about a shine once a week), and finally, I always alternate between shoes. I noticed the price of these have dropped exponentially. That was upsetting after shelling out almost $80 for them initially, but what can I say? I will probably purchase another pair soon just to keep as a back-up or alternate. I really love these shoes. If you're on the fence about them, don't be. They are of great quality, and, man do they look good with any style.

10/2015 UPDATE:
I purchased these shoes two years ago and they are still in great shape. Since it appears that Bostonian has discontinued them, I have been very careful about how I treat them. I wore these shoes for about a year every day, kept shoe stretchers in them at night, and polished them weekly. They are still in great shape. I am so impressed with these shoes. To slow down aging, I have recently began switching daily between pairs of shoes. However, the rubber sole has held up great over these last two years years. I am really happy with my purchase. I keep coming back to see if they have been restocked, because I would buy another pair in a heartbeat!

12/2016 UPDATE:
Still going strong. I wear them every day and keep the shoe polish on them monthly. IF ANYONE COMES ACROSS THESE OXFORDS IN RETAIL PLEASE DROP ME A LINE! I want to know where so I can purchase another pair. These have been the very best shoe I have ever worn. Does anyone know if they can be resoled? I have not looked into it yet, but when I do, I will provide further feedback. Hopefully, for all those who have purchased them, they are still going strong for you too!
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2013
I wanted to get new pair of shoes for my new job and decided to go with these. They fit well and look sharp. I like Bostonians and will likely purchase more in the future. They're a great shoe for the money.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2013
The shoes are a little bigger around than most shoes, meaning when I lace them up tight the two sides of the leather uppers actually touch and there's no gap through which you could see the tongue. The color is a bit lighter than the pictures imply and the leather has a bit of a plastic-y kind of shine and lack of texture that I'm hoping will wear away soon. But, they are nice overall and fairly comfortable. I think they do a great job of dressing up a pair of jeans with a nice button-down shirt and optional jacket, which is exactly what I had wanted. They are pretty comfortable, and I have picky feet, so that's usually a bit of a challenge for me.

All in all, I don't think they're the best shoes ever, but I'm happy with the value and will definitely be getting good use out of them.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2013
So far, these shoes fit well, seem high quality. The leather over the instep is soft. I ordered the "grey" which is actually a washed out tan as in the picture. A great value at 48 bux.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
The contrasting tans looked desirable on the Internet but in person it really stood out and just wasn't my type so I returned. Fit was fine and the shoes were comfortable for the few minutes I tried them on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2015
Despite what other reviews are saying about the color and the material, they aren't a bad pair of shoes for casual wear. The web photo fails to convey the appropriate scenarios for this type of shoe. They do work well with a pair of jeans. However, I may have gotten a defective set. On the very first use, the sole began to come unglued on both shoes. I barely made it through the day. Maybe it's just me but they appear to be cheaply made. The quality of the material is also questionable as it seemed rubbery and flimsy after one use. Exhibit A
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2013
First time ordering shoes online. I followed the size recommendations. Hmmm..normally I would look for a 1/2 size larger. Now I am considering that maybe I have been settling all along for slightly oversized shoes because that is what is usually available! Yes, these fit just right really. Also the first time I ordered a wide size. Great thing is that the exact size and style I wanted was available although in a different state but HEY! that does not matter anymore!!! I have found that a wide fit was a tad loose at the top of my foot and that simply lacing the shoes such that the laces loop under rather than over eliminates the "loose top". Lacing loop over seems a good way for a "tight top". Hey, I am 47 and learning stuff, I bet some others out there might be helped along by my little pleasant findings here.

Oh and the shoes. These are very good quality. The sole is stitched on and can be replaced in the future. Nice finish, creative and just right for jeans and a sport jacket which is my preferred daily. The interior is a nice microfiber suede. The uppers and excellent quality leather. The soles are fairly cushiony for all day wear. Perhaps my favorite pair ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2015
Would have given it 5 stars - but after heavy use the rubber glue is coming off where the toes bend.

Other than that it was a good quality product - lasted for about a year of daily use. I've only stopped using it because the glue came off and that's unsightly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2014
What can I say this is my first pair of Bostonian Pavillions(tan) and I absolutely LOVE them. Everything I expected and more. Very comfy once you break them in and they look even better in person! I went with a size 11 . I wear an 11.5 in running shoe and these fit perfect so if you are thinking of buying these I highly recommend buying half size smaller than what you normally wear in a sneaker. For $38 a pair these are a steal!! They are made in India. They retail for $100 or more! Amazing value, amazing craftsmanship , high quality leather uppers, grippy outsole, very comfortable because of the great insole they have and they look great as well. Thanks to the shipper everything came on time and as expected, great service. Thank you amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2014
I ordered several pairs of oxfords/wingtips to find a pair I liked best. I kept these Bostonians and returned the rest. Comfortable fit--I walk a lot and even bike in these shoes with no issues, and they were comfortable from the start without any awkward breaking-in period. The pale brown color is as shown in the picture, (not really "grey" as described in the product description text), and goes well with many outfits. It's a great bargain at this price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here