Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 203 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 290 reviews
on June 20, 2016
I'd read many of the reviews before ordering this, so I too was ready to spend a day putting this together, by gluing all the joints with wood glue and putting a generous coat of polyurethane for outdoor use (to protect from sun) on it before completion. I was impressed with the quality of the wood top, drawers and stanchions. I will be ordering the castors for it so that I can pull it from the wall easily for larger projects.

New Information: After a run of heat in the Phoenix Valley, I went to my garage and found the bench had split on both ends.
The seller Cashpenny - Amazon Marketplace have been a pleasure to work with and have done everything they can to replace the top.
I'd recommend Cashpenny any day.
review image review image review image review image
22 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2017
Value is pretty good. The "Windsor Design" workbenches have been around for quite a while. I own three and all have the common hardwood frame and basic same dimensions. Number of drawers and compartments as well as number of vises varies based on the model being made. No models have a back cover.

This is the latest version and it comes with 4 drawers that have limited extension. They also made a six drawer version with a bottom compartment with twin swing open bottom doors. I have one in my pole barn that has two vises, a rear tool tray but NO drawers. The holes on these workbenches are sized to fit four included bench dogs. The top is too thin to hammer in a forged hold down. If you want to use a drop-in forged hold down you will have to add about an inch and a half of material on the bottom of the work bench top and, of course, adequate room under the workbench top. Stay with simple bench dogs which work just fine with the vise.

REVIEW of this version of a Windsor Design workbench
Assembly is easy. Everything fit together well. I assembled it but without the four stock drawers which only open about 2/3rds of the drawer depth. I found that unacceptable so I made custom drawers with full extension drawer glides -- four on the bottom and one large wide one just below the workbench top.

Modification Details
As I stated earlier I did not install the stock drawers and opted to make four drawers that sit at the bottom and are covered with 3/4" plywood. Drawer bottoms are 3/4" plywood. Sides are made from 1/2" birch plywood. I also added a 1/2" plywood sheet to cover the back of the bench. I glued and screwed it in place to stiffen the bench. Below are some pictures. Drawers are 15" deep but I had 12" Shop Fox full extension drawer ball bearing drawer glides in my inventory. So, the bottom four drawers don't fully extend but rather than buy 15" drawer glides I decided to use what I had. I made the 4 drawers as a plug in module. It is a lot easier to build and assemble as a module then slide into the workbench and screw in place. The 4 drawers at the bottom left a shelf that went side to side. I found the shelf, while good size, was difficult to use so I built one more drawer that is bench wide drawer and installed it with 100 lb. capacity 16 inch overextension drawer glides. This top wide drawer was made exclusively from 3/4 inch plywood. The Kreg pocket hole drill jig was used to make the joints.

Backside storage of spray cans was built using three of the four left over drawers. I simply rotated 90 degrees and added a shelf with retaining strips.
I also added a tool tray to the back of the workbench and wheels that lift up to roll the bench around but when released the bench sits on the ground.

Lastly, I added an inexpensive Irwin ($20) bench vise I bought on line at Amazon. I mounted it on the opposite end of the standard vise. Normally, if you had the clearance, you would mount in on the left side of the long side of the bench, but access to the fifth drawer I added precluded doing so.

Bottom line is this workbench can be made into a very good workbench.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
I'm a female and consider myself pretty handy, but no expert. Therefore, I read all the reviews before ordering, and printed out those reviews with very detailed instructions and extra hints for assembly (thank you Sleeper Steve, C. Courtney "TAZ" & from the audio file)! Your additional instructions were extremely helpful.

The bench arrived in a box that was very beat up, and very heavy. A neighbor moved it into my house for me, and i took the pieces down into the basement bit by bit, for assembly. Even though the box was a mess, the pieces were carefully wrapped and there was no damage to any of the wood.

I used wood glue, as instructed by several of the reviewers. It seemed to be a big help as the finished product is very strong and sturdy. It took me about six hours or so, as I did not have an assistant and I used a cordless and regular screwdriver and lots of elbow grease, not a drill. If you're comfortable with a drill, by all means use a drill.

I will be plugging the holes on the top of the bench (don't need them), as suggested by one reviewer. I'll use darker dowel rods for that and I think the top will look fantastic. I also added my own handles, for a sleeker look. The handles in the kit were kind of clunky looking. I will be changing out the vise and adding a steel machine shop vise that was my dad's....but that's for sentimental reasons. The vise included with the kit works well.

The main con for me was that the sliders on the drawers are not smooth. Two of my drawers open nicely, and two need to be tugged hard, then forced shut. I'll be getting new sliders, per "from the audio file" reviewer who did the same. Not sure if that was design or operator error, but I want drawers that open easily.

All in all, I'm very pleased with the results and am thankful that some purchasers took the time to write long, detailed instructions on how to improve the assembly of this piece. I've added a photo of mine, and while it did not cost 25 cents, it was $157 including delivery, and I think that's a steal, even if I have to replace sliders on two drawers.

My brother-in-law, who can pretty much build anything, stopped by and was very impressed with the workbench and with me for putting it together. He said, 'That's butcher block on top!' He couldn't believe the quality for the price (though I don't think he tried to open the drawers).

You won't be disappointed if you purchase this piece. You might want an assistant for assembly, though, to cut the time/work in half. Still, it was a pleasant way to spend an afternoon and I'm proud of the final result! I'm giving four stars due to the drawers. Other than that, I love this workbench.
review image
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
As others have mentioned, this is a fairly well designed and made product, and is an overall good deal.The product is relatively easy to assemble, though pretty much requires 2 people. The directions could be clearer - the photos don't help much. The lower shelf did not fit well into the grooves - some banging required and I'm still not sure how close it is to slipping out. Reason is one of the lower cross braces bowed outwards slightly. Perhaps from stress. The solution for that would be to add cross-piece under the lower shelf, and screw the cross-braces to it. This would pull them inwards and hold the shelf securely. Another suggestion would be to make all the drawers or at least the lower two an inch or two bigger (vertically). After installation was complete everything looked good but there is a noticeable gap between one of the drawers and the other 3, and the drawers do not slide smoothly. Lastly - I'm not sold on the included vise. There's a very limited set of tasks for which it's useful, and in the snug space I have it gets in the way. So I just drilled holes in the top and mounted my own vise.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2017
If all you want is a quick top and some legs, go ahead and buy it - otherwise don't waste your time or money.

This arrived in a rather large box, pretty beat up, but looked like everything would be fine. I unpacked everything carefully to make sure all of the main parts were in order, they weren't... The top and legs looked fine, as did the bottom shelf.

The solid wood parts are mostly made of finger jointed pieces, but there are quite a few pressed board components as well (see drawers below.)

The "drawer system" however was a mess. The drawers themselves are made out of press board and laminate (almost every one was chipped in some way.) One of the drawer sides was completely destroyed and one of the "felt lined drawer bottoms" was crushed beyond useful. The center support for the drawers was actually partially built, but the sides didn't line up and would make it impossible for the drawers to slide properly.... I actually considered just rebuilding the drawers and support using the hardware, but realized the whole reason I bought this was to get back to work quickly not add to my already growing list of projects.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2016
I have bought two of these benches for different purposes. The first bench I used as a woodworking bench. The second as an electronics / assembly bench.

Each of the benches needed some customization for my purposes, but I expected that.

The overall quality is very good for the price. The wood is soft, certainly not oak. I can hand drive all of the screws into the wood without drilling pilot holes.

The top has a lip that overhangs. I decided to add additional blocking under the top (and actually make it into torsion box for additional stability) because I used the top for clamping projects while gluing.

The fiber board components that make up the bottom shelf, vertical drawer supports and under drawer stiffener are all easily damaged and not really load bearing. Definitely pre-drill holes in these fiber board components as the board splits very easily. Or better yet, replace the these components with something more substantial.

The drawers themselves are well (classically) designed and even though the bottoms are made from the same fiberboard, the serve the purpose well.

The most recently bought table had some drawer alignment problems. I needed to shim the left two drawers by 2mm to correctly engage the drawer slides. The drawer slides are stiff, but very serviceable. The drawer pulls are not comfortable for my hands, so I replaced them with some nicer drawer pulls.

The older workbench came with wooden bench dogs, the more recent one came with steel bench dogs and some wooden tall dogs.

The finish seems quite thin. I decided to refinish both workbenches with spar varnish before I put them into service.

I found that I needed to add blocking, a bottom strut and additional shelf supports to stiffen the table for my purposes.

So bottom line: This is a good, inexpensive work bench that can give you a solid foundation for customizing.

Oh, a note on the packing / shipping. My latest bench came with lots of shipping damage. It looked as if the box fell off the truck, was dragged for a couple of blocks, and taped back up with bits from other boxes before it showed up at my door. The bench was slightly damaged, but since it was a work bench (I expect it to get dinged up with normal use) this was not a big problem. The most important point here is that no parts, including the hardware was lost during this shipping fiasco. So kudos to the way they pack the hardware as a single unit backed by cardboard.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2016
The package arrived a little scratched, which is pretty excusable given the thing is more than 50kg. It took my partner ~3 hours to put it together (alone). You have to drill your own holes for the screws, which can be useful if you plan on modifying it. Overall, very satisfied! Especially since everything remotely comparable is at least 3 times the price.
review image
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2016
The table arrived with the packaging torn but the table was not damaged. Some of the screws were missing but had a similar size and twist. Without modification the table took little 4 hours to assemble. The drawers do need a new track system as the tracks are weak. The dog hole run straight through the table so I will need to modify so dust will not fall into the top drawers. The bottom shelf is made of pressed wood. It will hold for the interim but will need to be replaced as well.

All this being said, it is a solid table definitely worth the price!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
If I could give it a 0 I would. This "hardwood" bench is a piece of junk. Good price-point -- TOO good to be true. Table top cracked in 4 places, none of which were on a joint line, and were through to the plywood sub top; of course it was outside of the warranty period. Bench was used by a hobbyist bearing no heavy weight nor heavy hammering. Seller would not even acknowledge my concerns and so the seller gets a "zero" as well.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2017
This table was a nice purchase for the price. I have mine installed for a couple of days. The instalation amwas simple and relatively fast. I did allone and everything works nicely. I was looking for a workbench for a while and all options were not for less then $200.
Pros: price, quality, plugs over the counter, presser, heigh (i am 6 feet tall and work confortable in this table)
Cons: drawers, are to shalow and fragile if not well assemble. Width little small, but not a real problem if you lack in space. The size of the lower shelf holds two lines of paint cans of one gallon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse