Spring Deals Automotive HPC Children of Blood and Bone New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment. Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now TG18SW_gno

I bought this bag for our daughter, who will be going off to college in the fall. We've had several Jansport backpacks over the years and they have held up really well despite heavy books and tween boys. We would rather pay more for a Jansport than two cheaper ones from Walmart that won't last the school year.

I was a little taken aback when this backpack arrived today. It's got all the familiar Jansport details - a quality zipper, a top handle, padded shoulder straps, a mesh water bottle pocket, a small zipper on top for ipod headphones, and a side zipper for a laptop. But the material is stiff and thin and I wonder if it will last. Our other Jansport backpacks were made of much thicker, more flexible fabric. I was also sad to see that this backpack is made in China.

Jansport offers a lifetime guarantee on their backpacks, but only for defects in workmanship. Straps tearing or seams splitting because of books inside or from tossing it into a bus seat aren't covered.

I'm giving this backpack four stars because it's a great size, has great features, and because of our past experience with Jansport products. I'll adjust the stars up or down after she's had a chance to use it and lets me know how it holds up.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 26, 2013
I bought this about a year and a half ago...and I'm still using it! I bought it mainly for college, and it's done the intended job really well! The pouch near the top handle is useful to store coins, pens, and the like (what I use it for), the central compartment holds books pretty well, and is roomy. Not a huge amount of space, but you can certainly pack a couple books in. The laptop slot is a great bonus. I haven't used it because my current laptop is too bulky to fit, but on the plus side, despite its weight, this backpack has managed to hold it without breaking. There's another pocket on the front, which is slightly bigger than the one near the top handle, and has served me well, the straps are nicely adjustable depending on what you're carrying or what you're wearing, and a small pouch on the side of the backpack is included for drinks. If you have a big mug, you'll be out of luck, but the free EcoMug I received at my college fits well inside it. Sure, there's bigger backpacks out there, but this has worked for me pretty well over the past year and a half, so when this one wears out, I think I might just buy another one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 23, 2011
Ordered this Jansport Backpack after my old one was starting to fall apart after nearly 5 years of abuse. Yes, that backpack got me throughout high school, and I have to say that one was really sturdy. I was searching for a backpack that could fit a laptop along with textbooks. I was able to fit 4 textbooks, 2 binder/folders, 2-3 little notebooks, and my laptop. The middle component could be handy for something like an iPad, or a little notebook perhaps. And there is a little pocket at the very top that could be useful for really little things. The front component is a great slot for things like wallets, keys, phone, etc.

Just a note to all, although it says it has a dedicated 15 inch laptop sleeve, this doesn't fit a 15 inch laptop easily. The laptop slot is a side zipper behind the main component pocket. Mine is 15.6 inch, to be more precise, and I had a hard time fitting it in at first. But it definitely is possible to fit a 15 inch laptop in the laptop component, by first inserting it vertically, then turning it horizontally slowly. It takes a little time, but it can definitely fit. I prefer to put the folders/binders in the laptop slot, and just put the laptop in the main component. Not what I expected, as I expected a labtop slot inside the main component with a sleeve separating it from the rest. But it still fits smaller laptops.

Overall it's a great backpack, looks pretty sturdy, and felt comfortable enough to go through a whole day. The only disappointment was the laptop slot, not what I was expecting, but I'm not very picky about backpacks, and it gets the job done, so that one laptop slot was not enough for me to lower it to 4 stars. If you don't really care about bringing a laptop, I absolutely recommend one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 30, 2012
I have had many JanSport bags. All of them have been great and if there is a problem they are great to work with for repairs. However, although my bags last years, my daughter still can't keep the same bag through a year. This year is finally different. We have made it through the entire year with the same bag and it still looks new.

I think part of that is quality and part is style. I'm sure she allows things to happen to a bag when she is tired of the style. She still loves this one and protects it. I am very happy with this product and so happy that I do not have to buy a new backpack for next year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 21, 2012
It's a nice backpack, comfortable to carry my dell laptop inspiron 14 (N4030) and some books, but entering the laptop in the bag is a tight fit (not what i expected from the page info that says the bag can take a 15" laptop in the laptop compartment but i guess it can carry a laptop of this size in the main compartment).

I'll update the review when i use the bag more. (including storing a 15" laptop from a friend).

UPDATE: now i have a lenovo thinkpad r61, 15.4', it's a pretty tight fit, a laptop going to 15.6' won't fit in the laptop compartment.

Other thing i can tell you is this bag is resistant, that lenovo is pretty heavy, (i think it has 5 to 7 pounds), it takes everything i can carry, it's a A product in by book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2011
I love my bookbag. I haven't had any problems with it so far. I will second that the laptop pocket doesn't have a lot of padding. My laptop is a 15.7" so it doesn't fit in the pocket anyway (I just use a laptop pocket and slip it in my bag), so I use it for my main binder. I can fit three giant college books and my laptop into the main compartment, and in the laptop pocket I put my 1.5" main binder, tons of pens pencils and a couple smaller notebooks in the outer pocket, and in the outer most pocket, I use it as a snack pocket, in addition to some other random items, since I am constantly in class or studying. There is also a top pocket up near the back of your neck, I think it's the perfect pocket for wallet, cell phone, keys, and ipod. I was a little hesitant at first in buying the bookbag offline, due to size constraints I have had in the past with other bookbags, but this is the perfect bookbag for me and I recommend it for Commuter Students.
review imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview imagereview image
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 4, 2014
I bought this bag on Jan 21st. One of the straps is already broken and the other looks like it is not that far off. What good is a backpack that lasts for a month and a half? Unfortunately for me, I am unable to return it for a replacement or money back because the return window for the product expired on Feb 24th. I am very DISAPPOINTED. I wish I had paid more attention the one-star reviews. What a waste of money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 16, 2013
While I liked the backpack in the beginning, after a month of using it, the strap just broke!! I couldn't understand why because I don't carry much, just my iPad and 5 star notebook. The strap not only broke, it took my iPad too and cracked the screen in impact. I trusted the jansport brand and realized that they are no different from the off brand store backpacks. Amazon was great at fixing the issue, however, I don't think I will be purchasing anything from jansport anytime soon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 19, 2012
I used to own the entry level Jansport backpack until I decided to put deodorant in it while it sat in the car..... I found this backpack and couldn't be happier. I has so many different pockets but isn't bulky at the same time. I would recommend this backpack for school or for travelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 7, 2011
This has to be the best backpack... EVER. Well, probably not, but for $35 bucks, it's a bet! I put my iPad, computer (15.4" macbook that doesn't fit in the laptop slot), 2 binders, 4 note books, 2 slim paperbacks (text books) and a hard cover. Now, that's not my load, I was just testing capacity. Don't buy for capacity, it's more of a storage convenience, the laptop slot is not padded as much as I would have wanted it to be, but everything else is great!
draft pencil in pencil slot (can't carry in pocket due to tip that can easily bend or break), two pens (shape fine), calculator, pulse clicker, iPad (SECOND FRONT POCKET)
Macbook (like 1 inch thick), 2 notebooks, small texts books. (MAIN)
BINDER (like 3 inches thick), slim binder (under 1 inch)

It's a comfortable load, with the padding meant for the laptop, well, it's used for my back. Hell, I have my laptop in one of the foam cases anyway... you know, in case I get hit by a car or something.
11 comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 19 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here