Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: New Balance Men's MX797v2 Cross-Training Shoe,Dark Grey/Yellow,7 2E US
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 18, 2013
I ordered the Grey/Lime version size 8.5 2E of these New Balance MX797 shoes, and I think they were a fantastic value for the price I bought them at. 5 stars for the great fit and for being USA made.

Here's the reason for the 4 stars:

A relative tried on my shoes and wanted a pair, so I bought the "Black/Silver" version of these shoes and was very disappointed when they came in. I ordered a size 8.5 2E like mine and the width looked and felt like a D instead of a 2E. Also when I looked at the tags of the "Black/Silver" version of the shoes, they were made in China and turned out to be a different model called MX797BK2. The "Grey/Lime" shoes were made in the USA and are the model MX797SL. In fact, I noticed before buying the second pair of shoes, that the pictures on Amazon were mildly different in shape and design than the first pair of shoes I ordered, but thought the fit would be the same anyway.

STRAIGHT TO THE POINT:

If you are ordering the [BLACK/SILVER], [BLUE], or [DARK GREY/YELLOW] colored versions of this MX797 shoe, be aware they are MADE IN CHINA and are [MODEL# MX797BK2] according to the pictures posted on Amazon. The fit is TIGHTER (size 8.5 2E feels like 8.5 D), and the treading underneath and overall design is actually different than the other colors. In essence it is a completely different shoe and should not necessarily be grouped together without some sort of description giving the differences. The colors and design look great, but the fit is something to be weary of if you have wide feet. Also it is not made in the USA if that's not your cup of English Breakfast.

If you order the [GREY/LIME], [BLACK/BLUE], [GREY/ORANGE], [WHITE/BLUE], or [GREY/RED] colored versions of this MX797 shoe, they are MADE IN THE USA, and are [MODEL# MX797SL] according to the pictures posted on Amazon. The fit is accurate as the 8.5 2E feels like an 8.5 2E. HIGHLY RECOMMEND if your size is still available in any of these colors for wide footed people looking for a nice light shoe for walking/jogging/running from an axe murderer/using ATP in general.

Edit (11/16/13):

I just noticed I should make some corrections to my review with some realizations.

The Model BK2 and SL probably just stand for the colors of the shoes (duh, Black and Silver/Lime respectively), rather than representing the general model of the shoes themselves. Also, for anyone interested, the "M" in MX797 stands for Men (which is obvious now that I think about it). Regardless, there are 2 different models of MX797 being offered under this page as I described originally which you can easily tell the difference by inspecting the sample images given for each of the different colors being offered. According to a commenter of this review, they are probably the v1 and v2 models of the MX797.

Compare the sample images on Amazon to the images of the v2 shoes from the NB website ([...] and you'll probably easily figure out which colors are v2 and which are v1. I own the v1 MX797s so you can apply that to my original review.

Either way I'm still wearing these shoes, as I have been daily for casual commuting ever since I originally posted my review. They're still quite good looking and feeling (albeit quite dirty), so I still recommend them after 4 months of consistent everyday use.
66 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2012
I have been looking for a pair of lightweight cross-trainers for some time. The rest of my family rave about the Nike Free Runs that they have, but since I am cursed with wide feet those shoes are not an option for me. I have always liked New Balance runners so when I saw these available I decided to give them a try. Happy to say these are great!

I am using these shoes exclusively for indoor training and they felt super comfortable right out of the box. They had no hot spots right from the start, but admittedly they feel a little better after a few days of "breaking in". These shoes are very lightweight and the mesh allows for great air circulation to keep my feet cool. The sole is flat with good grip which suits my needs fine, but seem softer than other cross-trainers I've had so only time will tell how durable the bottom is. The construction is excellent, as is the case with all of my New Balance shoes.

I would recommend this to anyone with wide feet looking for a minimalist-style shoe!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2012
These shoes are great. I purchased the white/blue/yellow ones, and on the first day of wearing them I started receiving complements on them.
I'm not planning on doing a lot of running in these, as I have other shoes I like for running. These are mainly for walking, and feel great. I usually stick to Nike Free, Adidas Climacool type shoes.. and these are a nice addition to that collection. They are just as light, if not lighter, than the Nike Freerun 3's that I have. They have a little more support on the sole, which I like. With the Nikes, I sometimes feel there's a little too much play with the way they designed their sole. These feel solid, light, and are VERY breathable... which is what I look for in an everyday shoe.
If you like the Nike Free or Adidas Climacool style of shoes, you won't be disappointed with these. They have that same minimalist feel, with better support, and much more roomy. If you have wide feet, you'll LOVE these shoes. I'm a size 11 1/2, but always need to go to size 12 for Nike. With these, 11 1/2 fit perfectly.
Another thing I like about these, and New Balance in general, is that they are made in the United States. The construction is top notch, whereas Nike is hit and miss with their quality. My Nikes last maybe 2 years with normal use. I still have a pair of New Balance from 6 years ago that are still holding up. I'm just glad New Balance is starting to make shoes that actually look good ;)
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
Seams are glued on shoe and top layer on outer edge came unglued after 2 months. I only use these shoes for cross training at the gym, nothing else...

Simply, don't buy, and spend a little more quality as this is junk 'made in china' !
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
Very lightweight made of a novel layered mesh that's difficult to describe and see in the black surface, but attractive and functional. Great looking, breathable, and comfortable. The bright blue sole stripe is just enough to make the shoe stylish but not garish. I don't know if these give enough support for running (probably were not made with that in mind), but I bought them for the gym and general wear and they are great for both. I got a 2E (wide). New Balance is thoughtful to offer width options, unlike most other manufacturers. I think of my foot size as a true 10.5 D, but buy 11 EE (as these) in athletic shoes and usually find a half size up (sometimes larger) a good fit. I suspect that young men like the idea of thinking they have larger feet in the image of basketball stars, just as manufacturers of women's shoes are going the other way: marking sizes down so women are fooled into thinking their feet are smaller. Ah. . . marketing! Alas, I always thought New Balance were USA made, but I see these were made in China. A shame. I'd rather spend a few bucks more to support adult US workers. Overall, though, I give these very high marks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2015
Had the shoes for a month and then the sole started to come off on the back heel. Put some glue and it was ok but it should be longer than a month before the sole started to come undone. Other than that they are good for basic cross training and light running.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2013
I bought these to replace MX813, that I bought 2E as well. MX797v2 look nice but are not wide at all for 2E, the shoe also feels like it forces me to walk/run/stand on the insides of my feet. The toe pocket has adequate space, but the mid sole is quite narrow even for a 2E. I am a New Balance person, but this was a bad design.

****UPDATE********UPDATE********UPDATE********UPDATE********UPDATE********UPDATE********UPDATE****
I think I spoke to soon in my original review. After realizing that I was previously wearing a shoe that had little to no support, it made the MX797v2 seem tighter/constricting. I just was not use to the support this shoe provided. I do like the shoe, as I broke them in it became more comfortable. I recently bought the MX997s and was disappointed because this shoe ran narrow for a 2E. I will return the MX997 and order an additional pair of MX797v2.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
I got these and i was super stoked to workout in them. I do crossfit, but im a big boy at 5'11 and 220lbs. The sole area near the balls of my feet started ripping off after less than a month. I noticed when I did pushups and burpees that I would slip a bit. then I looked at my shoe and they were starting to rip off. Now I know its discouraging to know that this happened I am aware it could just be an isolated incident. You might use these to walk around or just for simple circuit training in which case they should be fine. The thing I love about them is the style. I got lots of compliments on these, people asked where I got them. Not to mention the price is great. After they ripped I contacted New Balance customer service and they replaced my shoes at no cost to me, even paid for shipping. all in all I would stick with new balance for the excellent customer service.
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2015
Used these for my bosu class for about a year and wore these out. It's already minimal when its new but all cushioning is gone. Switched to a pair of Nike's and immediately I noticed so much more traction in the new shoes. While these are okay, they're not the best for cross training on hardwood.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2014
This shoe runs narrow when compared to other brands. I purchased 3 of these shoes in different styles of the same New balance brand and they were all one size more narrow then the other shoes I purchased in other brands. The heel of this shoe fits snug and keeps your heel from slipping even if you order a wider size. The shape of this shoe fits my foot almost perfectly when I order one size wider then I need and I did end up going with a New Balance shoe after returning all the others.

This shoe has a mesh that lets the rain, wind, and light through quite easily so its appears to only be good for summer unless you prefer cold wet feet during the rest of the year.

This shoe has almost no arch support at all and I wouldn't recommend it for any one with high arches but then again there are no shoes made for high arches as you'd know if you have them, and if so then you also know its impossible to find insoles that can support your high arches so good luck with that.

The style (black on white) of this shoe is surprisingly rare and hard to find so if you like this type of style you might consider weighing your options in terms of its availability for next summer.

I would recommend this shoe for summer time use, but not for any other time of year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here