Industrial Deals HPC Save up to 90% on textbooks Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now



on June 1, 2009
I have tried a couple of laptop keyboard protectors and this is the best one. It stays in place, keeps out dust, pet hair, etc. Yes, it does take some getting used to, but I can type just fine and keeps my keyboard CLEAN!

It adheres very well and does not slip. The one I had previously did get dirty from finger oils and when I washed it in soap and water it lost its ability to adhere to the keyboard.

It isn't too thick and feels okay once you get used to it.

Since this one is so inexpensive, as soon as it is smudgy and dirty looking, I will simply purchase another one.

My previous one lasted about one year before I decided it was time to replace it.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 17, 2012
I just received my universal keyboard cover in the mail today and immediately installed it on my new HP dv6. I was a little taken aback by the way the company packaged the product (folded up inside a plastic covering and shoved in a soft USPS envelope.) I was even more worried when I read the email about a weird crinkle in the silicon (Hmmm, wonder where that came from?) That said, there is a small fold in one end but this does not at all affect the performance of this product. I own 6 dogs, 4 cats and a rat so hair is a constant issue in my home. I can see how this may become a hair magnet, however, I KNOW my computer is so I would prefer that this piece of silicon attract that hair as opposed to my keyboard. And for the price, you really can't find a better deal! It fits my keyboard very well and I am amazed at how easy it is to type! I type 120 words a minute and my new computer's keyboard was not really what I wanted as far as typing ease, but this product actually makes it a little easier to glide my fingers across the keys. I am very impressed and should I need to replace it due to my inability to clean, so be it. It is well worth it!

UPDATE: Hello all, so after 6 months of owning the universal keyboard cover I am changing my review from four to five stars. This is an absolutely amazing product. I haven't had to take it off to clean once and the small fold on the edge I mentioned went away just in a few days. It fits my 15.6" laptop perfectly and my keyboard underneath looks like the day I bought it! I'm back to buy one for my mother's keyboard! Great product!
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 3, 2013
I have very long nails (natural nails) and my nails kept slipping off my keyboard keys, so I originally used the plastic that came with the new key board as a non-slip surface over the keys. It worked fine, for a time, my nails chopped it all up. Then I got to thinking, hum, would the keyboard skins work better or will they get all chopped-up too? So I ordered one, but I didn't know what to expect when I purchased this because first, it was under $1 and second, would it rip apart like the other plastic cover? Well, I have to tell you, I was delighted the minute I opened the package! This skin is WONDERFUL!!! Not one problem with it and it makes typing a breeze - no slipping! It's a funny little silicone thing and I love it! I even washed it to see if it would hold up, and it did beautifully. This is a fantastic product and I will continue to purchase these, in the future, should I need more. The shipping was only a couple of dollars too, so to get this product for $4 or $5 dollars is a perfect deal. Thank you HDE, it's amazing how such a simple little piece of silicone could make such a WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL difference!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2013
Ok, I gave this about a star more than my personal preference, because the item's quality is very good. it's essentially the texture of un-powdered latex gloves, but thicker.
Because it is 'universal' in size, it was too large for the keyboard of my Derll n-series mini. (It would have wrapped around to the bottom, and blocked access to the ports on the sides.)
I trimmed it to size, cutting one edge, which removed the finished "lip" at the edge of that side. The curved manufactured corner fits along the bottom corner of the mini, and the cover extends to cover the keyboard in one piece to the power button. (It stops just at the bottom of the power button.)
It's translucent, not transparent (remember, latex gloves) and is a little challenging to see through because i don't have a baclit keyboard. I ordered a keyboard light to help with that.
The cover seems to stay on the keyboard pretty well, though. And the integrated touch pad works just fine. Not elegant, but ok looking on the workplace mini-laptop
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 30, 2013
For whatever cheap price I bought this for... It was probably like 99cents... it was a while ago that I got it, but I've been so happy with it that I keep thinking I should write a review. It is completely simple and basic... nothing fancy to it, but without it my keyboard would be so gross and caked between the keys with who knows what. I would buy this product again and again with no hesitation. Perhaps it's a bit ugly on the computer... but not really and the results are so worth it. I'm always so amazed when I take it off to clean it, how NEW and clean the keys look underneath. I am more than happy with this product and I've had it for a few months now and it doesn't look like it will be needing replacing any time soon... aaah, knock on wood. Don't want to jinx myself. Great product DEFINITELY recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 21, 2013
This package shipped from Texas and WOW it shipped fast, thanks! Really nice to see that happen.

The product itself is very light, came in very elegant cardboard wrapping which I think was more expensive than the product itself. Which is ok because the product does the job very well.

It's a little early to write a review but the item is see-through, durable, and fits very nicely. Silicone based and sticks over keys very well. Haven't needed to wash it yet so I will wait to review that part, but otherwise very pleased with product and highly recommend. It is a wonderful fit for compact model keyboards used in laptops and such, so make sure your edition is the appropriate size first or else it probably won't fit. Well worth the money so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 13, 2012
The product is definitely not universal. I have a 17+ inch laptop, and the protector wouldn't fit over my whole keyboard. It left a couple rows of the side number pad exposed, once I finally got it on. After a while, it did start to come off very easily as well.

However, the area that is covered is still pretty large, and most of the time it stays stuck in place. I didn't pay very much, so I'm not too upset with the downsides. I just wanted to keep my keyboard clean while I found another protector. It's good if you need a quick fix, but if you want something for the long run, I'd suggest maybe buying something else. That's what I'm going to do here, pretty soon.

Overall, the product isn't terrible. But it's not really that wonderful, either. Just okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 27, 2009
First of all, it is NOT to thick, many people seem to say it's to thick, I personally think it's perfect, not to thick, but not so thin it'll rip. It's strong and durable. The only thing that would make it better is if it fit your keys perfect, but that would defeat the purpose of it being universal. This is probably the best you will get for a laptop keyboard, unless they make one specifically for your keyboard layout, for mine they don't.
It's basically just a latex slab that that sticks to your keyboard good, just don't take it off. I got it so nothing can get through the cracks of my keys and damage my mother board, and it seems to work great for that.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2012
Got sick of the bagel crumbs on my keyboard ... among other things ... and got one. I was always having to reposition it and fuss with it until one day I sprayed the top of my keyboard, the area beyond the keys themselves, with temporary art glue, and stuck the top of the skin to it. Bliss, nirvana, and a noted absence of bagel crumbs (and globs of mayonnaise) between my keys. Heartily recommended ... along with the temp glue. I've even removed mine, washed it by putting it into a jar half-full of soapy water and shaking it a half-dozen times, then rinsing, drying, and re-sticking. Works like a dream. (Check out art supplies for re-positionable spray glue.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 9, 2013
First off, the price for this is so extremely affordable, its definitely worth it. I've had this on my laptop for months now and its still going great. i have removed and cleaned it with no problems re-applying. It does its job when it comes to preventing particles from getting in between the keys, as well as it attracts dust particles that are under the keyboard and it adheres to the skin. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to protect their keyboard, especially if you watch movies and hence, snack by the laptop....dead useful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here