Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 54 reviews
on April 19, 2013
Fujifilm has been on a roll lately - and if you're looking for proof, look no further than this lens. I own this lens and the 35mm f/1.4 for my Fujifilm X-Pro1. Everything from the all-metal build to the precise feel of the focus and aperture rings helps justify the $899 price tag. I find it to be very sharp at f/2.8 and extremely sharp at f/5.6. Even the corners at f/2.8 are impressive for a wide angle lens. Focus speed is quick and unlike the 35mm lens, the 14mm focuses internally, so the front element doesn't move in and out. It seems a bit quieter than the 35mm as well.

I previously used Canon equipment, but last year when it came time to upgrade, I noticed some alarming trends in Canon's business model... New lens designs were very expensive for their specifications and bodies had sensors that underperformed relative to the competition. The Fujifilm X system is still relatively new, but if this lens is any indication, it will be a winner.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2013
The 14/2.8 is my favorite lens of the Fujinon XF fixed-focal length lenses to date. The images are crispy sharp from edge to edge, across the range of routine working aperatures, f/4 through f/11, and the rectilinear design really keeps the straight lines straight. High-contrast lines in the image corners are free of color fringing. This lens is such a pleasure that I look for excuses to enjoy using it by getting closer to the subject. I am more conversant with the angle of view from the XF 18/2, but the 14/2.8 is the all-around better lens.

The snap-back focus ring with its depth-of-field scale is fantastic for both landscape photographs and grab shots using either zone focus or hyperfocal distance. Once you become fluent in choosing between manual focus and autofocus with this short focal length, the control scheme on the 14/2.8 is natural. It is a great technical solution. For my style, the 18/2 and the 35/1.4 would have been more nimble if they had been designed with the same snap-back feature as the 14/2.8.

The focus ring does, however, supersede functions that resided on the camera's focus switch for other XF lenses, and the 14/2.8 in manual mode does not respond to the AEL/AFL button the same way that the other lenses do: when the lens is set to manual focus with the ring snapped back, the AEL/AFL button only controls auto-exposure lock. With the lens set to autofocus and the camera body set to manual focus, the lens responds to the AEL/AFL button by focusing to the target area and holding that focus, but the focus ring will not adjust the focus. Depending on your style of working with the other XF lenses, the interactions between the 14/2.8 and the camera body might frustrate you.

Minor complaints: first, the online technical reviews have reported that the camera software is correcting for fall-off. Coming from a background of 4X5 landscape photography, I expect that short focal length lenses will vignette somewhat at full aperature and will exhibit fall-off at all aperatures, which I automatically factor into my compositions. Second, the plastic petal lens hood is satisfactory, and it does reverse for convenient storage, but it is a little ordinary after the distinctive albeit weird metal hoods that come with the 18/2 and the 35/1.4.

In summary, this is a classic short focal length lens with great optical performance and well designed features.
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2013
I like shooting wide. This lens at the 21mm equiv focal length is another excellent lens for the Fujifilm X-Mount (XE-1, X-Pro1, etc.) camera system.

The build quality is excellent. All metal construction. All black. Light but sturdy. Feels great in hand.

The image quality is excellent. No chromatic abberation. No barrel distortion. Little to no vignetting. Sharp sharp sharp throughout the frame when stopped down a bit.

~

What really hits this thing home is the manual focus, which has drastically changed from the 3 prior primes. Pushing the focus ring in towards the camera changes the camera's focus mode from auto to manual and shows the hyperfocal distance meter as well as a non-continuous focus ring. The mechanical change makes it much easier to zone focus from the hip and provide better precision when focusing manually in general

(On a side note: If they keep up this build with the upcoming primes, then the upcoming 23mm f/1.4 (35mm equiv focal length) is going to be a killer lens. So excited.)

Highly Recommended for the landscape shooter and the street photographer.
review image
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2014
if you only have 2 Fuji X lenses, this must be one of them. If you are attempting to decide between the 12, 10-24 or 14- this one may not be the widest, but its the best feeling, has a MF clutch with DOF markings, and is sharp from edge to edge wide open, which the others aren't. win/win/win.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2014
I would have given this lens four and a half stars except you can't indicate a half. This is a well made, very sharp lens that is also lightweight and smallish in size.
I use it with the 18-55 zoom and get everything in one small bag. The combination of those focal lengths lets me do everything I want with a rangefinder type style camera .
I like the ability to slide the lens ring to access manual or auto focus and the fact that it has an aperture ring.
I don't mind a certain amount of distortion in a wide angle lens and this one does not disappoint, so if you're looking for a rectilinear wide angle with little or no distortion this is not it, but you will pay more for such a lens.
The AF is silent and the wide aperture allows for low light shooting. It is sharp in the middle, at wide aperture, and contrasty overall. Stopped down to F8 it is sharp edge to edge.
I have no regrets owning this lens as it allows for a very different point of view when used up close and for landscapes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2015
This is one of the best lenses available for the X system, although I admit that's a tough call to make. Optically it's about as good as it gets. Distortion is very well controlled. Build quality is excellent, as expected. The clutch focusing mechanism works very well, and auto focus performance is quick and more accurate than some of the other X lenses. The f/2.8 aperture, combined with the great high ISO ability of the X system, makes this a great wide angle lens for reportage style shooting. Use it indoors without worry. It's reasonably compact as well, something that can't be said for all of Fuji's lenses. Much smaller than Fuji's wide angle zoom lens. If you're looking for an ultra wide and are OK with 21mm equivalent, you can stop looking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 22, 2016
This lens has changed me. First time shooting with something this wide and I love it. I've read several reviews looking for the best x-mount lenses to buy and this one came up in several places. Love it. Great on catching focus quickly. Sharp images and very little distortion unless you're shooting up close, but still give you a great look. Definitely recommended for a 2nd or 3rd lens. I really doubt you'll be disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2015
It's been my workhorse for landscape and environmental portraits since then. I'm surprised that there is so little distortion for this super wide angle lens and I'm using it for my trip to Oregon. Strong recommended.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2017
The xf14mm is such a gorgeous lens. I've had it for a couple of months now and I rarely leave the house without it. It's so compact and brilliantly sharp with almost zero distortion. I've never considered myself a 'wide' shooter, but this lens has given me an entirely new perspective out in the field.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2016
The lens is a the needed kit addition for the wide angle option. giving an effective 21 mm package. I found the lens to be built with an almost old fashion build style that is very refreshing. I have been comparing 3 platforms with base in Nikon, fully Sony A7 kit, and then now this Fuji Mirrorless. The Fuji is built so similar to what I call the Classic Nikkor era, instead of the plastic world of today. The sharpness is there in the
Fuji and find I hardly ever sharpen. Color cast is vibrant with the Fuji and lens, I often find my dropping the vibrancy a shade with the Fuji, ok for those that love vibrancy, but sometimes a bit much for me. So, essentially, if you shoot primes, this is the absolute requirement if you plan on shooting with Fuji, I would recommend the 14, 21 2.0 and 35 2.0 to e all essential primes for Fuji. I have so far got the 14/35, the 21 is still at non discount price (bought both the 14/35 on sale). so, this lens is on the recommend list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here