Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon Ellen

Price:$123.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 253 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 283 reviews
on September 12, 2014
Have purchased two of these printers. One to replace my old tired color laser and one to replace my father's ink jet.

First of all, LED and Laser printers use the exactly same technology to print the page. Only the light source to create the image on the drum is different. Other than that, they are essentially the same. Don't let it be the determining factor in buying a printer.

The printer is fairly loud for a laser, but no where near as loud as an inkjet. It doesn't have a dedicated paper tray, which I shouldn't complain about because of how tiny the footprint is. It will fit anywhere an inkjet will. Lastly, you must connect via USB to set up the wireless, which I suppose is not a huge issue but seemed kind of strange. Then again, you only initially set it up once, so I guess it's pretty minor.

The positives? Very fast and once it's set up it's done. I connect multiple devices via wifi and it always works. It always wakes up and prints. It draws very little power in stand by mode, so I can leave it on all the time. So it's very quick to warm up and fast to print, and those are big positives. Print quality is very good to outstanding. At 600 x 600dpi, black looks very good, but there are 1200dpi printers that do much better. You can't really tell unless you put them side-by-side though. The color output is outstanding. Service from Dell has been outstanding. The printer I use developed squeaky feed rollers after a couple of months and Dell shipped a replacement out at no cost--no questions asked. And the new one has been running problem free.

The original toner it shipped with lasted about 800 pages and the color about 700. This is exactly what is claimed by Dell. I have used $80 compatible replacement toner cartridges which are rated at 2,000 pages and that's about what they last too. Comparing this cost to inkjets, that works out to about 1/4th the cost of consumables comparing compatible toner to refilled ink cartridges (if you buy new consumable I would expect the difference to be even better). As for the drum and toner, they are not serviceable and should last 30-35K pages, or 3 years at 1,000 pages a month (6 years at 500 pages a month).

This is a great choice as a printer for home or light-duty office printing where you need a small footprint printer.
44 comments| 183 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2016
The printer arrived in an apparently undamaged box, albeit one that appeared to have been opened before. I prepared the printer for use following directions in the quick start guide. The directions for setting the printer up to use wi fi say to install the printer software and drivers on a computer first, then turn the printer on and watch for a blinking blue light above the small LCD display, then connect. Immediately after turning the printer on, I instead saw a blinking red light and Error Code 007-371 with a message to try again and if the error repeats, contact Dell Support. The error repeated. I tried unplugging, plugging back in, starting again. I also tried connecting with USB. Setup of any kind was impossible. Whatever the error code signifies is serious and the printer will do nothing but show the error code until whatever is wrong is fixed..

I looked in the accompanying documentation and online for what the error code indicates. In the manual, 007-371 is among a very long list of error codes for this printer for which no explanation of any kind is offered. Online, I found a forum post for that error code on an older Dell printer. That post indicated some kind of problem with the printhead assembly, and said disassembly of the printer and repositioning of the printhead was necessary. I was not about to undertake anything like that. So, I went to Dell Support on the Web.

The young man at Dell Support who tried to help me in a chat session was polite but clearly a screener who knew little about the printer or troubleshooting the printer. On seeing my description of the problem and the error code there was a lengthy pause followed by a question: Did I plug the printer directly into a wall outlet? (Answer: yes.) He failed to answer my direct question about what, exactly, the error code means. When I asked a second time, he took a time out to talk to someone else. When he came back he said he was escalating the problem to a higher level of support and that I would receive an e-mail in 24 hours. That was on a Friday. Shortly after closing the chat session I received an e-mail from the screener saying if he could help in any other way to e-mail him. Twenty four and a half hours later, with no sign of an e-mail from a higher level of support at Dell, I sent an e-mail to the screener. Two hours after that with nothing more from Dell Support at any level I went to Amazon seeking to return the printer. That, I'm glad and relieved to say, went off without a hitch.

I'm rating this printer one star mainly due to dissatisfaction with Dell's lack of documentation for the error code and a support setup that failed to say just return it when that clearly was the only proper solution. I'm sure that if an explanation for the error code had been available to the screener, he or his supervisor would've just told me to send it back.
My wife belatedly told me today that we had gotten two or three messages on our home phone from Dell Support, the first apparently having been during the week following my support chat session. Whoever left the messages said they couldn't e-mail me because they did not have a working e-mail address. That's hard for me to understand because, before getting to where I could chat with support, I had to fill in a Web page form on Dell's site with my name, address, phone number, e-mail address, printer model, serial number, and so on. And, Dell's screener was able to e-mail me back after the chat session without any problem. My only guess is that Dell's higher level of support didn't think of looking on Dell's Web site form to check my e-mail address, or else isn't aware there's a form on the site where my e-mail address could be checked.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2016
If all you want is a printer that will print on plain paper, this is an okay machine and can be run economically if you buy dupe ink cartridges. HOWEVER - if you ever wish to print on card stock or any other material, this is not the printer you want.
I was up til one in the morning trying to print the new month's calendars for my yoga studio and could not get the machine to accept light card stock.
This morning I got in touch with Dell customer support and they had me running in circles getting service tag numbers and the exact name and weight of the card stock before they finally just came clean and told me to stop trying - the machine doesn't print on anything other than ordinary letter paper. I wish they had just been upfront with that fact. This is not the machine I'd have gotten if that limitation had been made obvious.
It's nice enough doing what it does, but now I need a printer for the other function we use a printer for.
Not pleased about that.
11 comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2014
I got this printer to have a reliable color printer that could easily be accessed by family members throughout the house.
I am always nervous about setting up new hardware, but the physical setup went very quickly and easily and the software installation went smoothly for the first computer. Because some of the instructions in the software installation are a bit unclear, it took us a couple of tries to get it installed on the next computer, but one we figured out the combination, everything was fine. Overall, the setup and installation took less time than I expected to spend.
The quality of the prints is very good, if anything they are slightly better than I had expected.
Some people have commented on noise levels, but I have this printer located in my den next to my mono laser printer, within reach of my desk, and the printer noise levels are not objectionable at all (at least to me) and certainly no worse than the other printer.
When sending print jobs wirelessly, it takes the printer a little time to wake up and do the print, but no worse than I would expect. And the page speed meet our needs for home printing with multiple users accessing the printer sporadically. (Print speed might be a stretch in a busy multi-user office environment.)
We have only had it in operation for about 3 weeks but it seems to perform as expected. (For those who remember televised coverage of manned space flight, "operation is nominal." In other words, it works like it is supposed to work.)
And we managed to catch this printer on a very good deal, for considerably less money than I had originally expected to spend. Another bonus.
I would recommend this printer to my friends.
Now if I can convince my boss that I should have one like this on my desk at work ...
33 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
I feel cheated - I purchased this printer because it was supposed to print wifi from iOS devices with Mobile Print App for Dell - when you search for the app at the app store, you can't find it - when you google it, you are directed to the Dell website. The Dell website, under the Installation heading states "The Dell Mobile Print App for Dell" is no longer available for download!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2016
Cheaply made. Cannot get it to remain connected wirelessly. (I can only get a USB connection to operate). Upon trying to reinstall and program from the menu screen, I now have a non working printer at all with error codes telling me to contact customer service. I looked up the codes, and printer needs the Multi Protocol Card reinstalled and firmware updates...BRAND NEW OUT OF THE BOX! I have yet to hear from the seller (Special Gift Box) regarding a return....one full business day to respond. I am very unhappy with the product and the seller!
review image review image
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2017
I bought this to replace my inkjet printer that was less than a year old. I don't print that much and the darn jets keep getting clogged. It gets expensive when I have to replace cartridges that still have plenty of ink in them. I finally decided to spend a bit more and get this printer. Problem solved. Printing just got a whole lot cheaper in this house. Set up was a breeze. I'm using it as a usb device, not wireless. It prints at least 10 times faster than the inkjet, and even though they say it's not supposed to be as good for pics, I find that it's better. It's much quieter. Although it's bigger than the other printer, it occupies the same footprint.

There is only one downside, and that is the way the paper hangs out the front. I leave it closed up, like in the picture, until I want to use it, then open the door and put in the paper. This is a quality product at a low price. They are particular about what paper should to into it, but I found the stuff I had been using - general purpose printer paper - worked just fine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2016
We've been through TWO Brother Color Laser printers. One that cost almost $1000. Both of them bombed pretty quickly. We spent $150 each replacing the drum units, around $80 PER COLOR for toner, and the end result is a streaky and ghosting mess. We searched and performed every known fix we could find and nothing would fix it. After thousands of dollars in drums and toner, I've had enough. Especially with Brother.

So I checked this one out. It was very inexpensive, and I researched ahead of time how much the toner was (a 4 color set was 1/2 the price of a single Brother color! Less than $30 for 4 colors). Was skeptical, but I'm now in about 300-400 full color copies and it is near perfect!

Someone else mentioned trouble setting up. We're actually using Ethernet instead of WiFi, so we didn't have to hook it up to USB first. We simply plugged in the Ethernet cable, and the software found it almost immediately and we were done. There IS a Wifi WPS button right on the thing, so maybe that would work if you didn't want to connect it to your computer first?

The size is fairly small and very square which I like. Not a lot of things protruding that can break off (did I mention that on our $1000 Brother, the feed tray broke off in a matter of a few weeks?). The paper tray IS a little flimsy, and I would have liked to have seen that tucked inside the main printer. Instead it sticks out exposed to dust, desk debris, etc. And you can't close the front door (as you see it in the picture above) with paper in the tray.

Start-up is extremely quick. Almost seems like an inkjet where you can start it and print right away. No fans and cool to the touch everywhere except on the top where it's slightly warm. It does go to sleep quickly which I guess is a good thing.

The toner cartridges are actually mounted on the right side of the printer. Very unusual. It IS kind of a minor annoyance depending on where you put the printer. You need access to the front of course, and with the carts on the side, you'll inevitably need to open the side panel, so if you put the printer in a spot where you can't get to the side, you'll need to move the thing around to get to it. And the weirdest looking toner cartridges I've ever seen! But really simple to insert and replace. They just click in.and out with no mess. The start cartridges that came with it are almost all done for. We've replaced the yellow and cyan about 100 copies ago. We're using non-OEM cartridges and there is ZERO difference in color.

If there are any negatives, I'd say that it's a slow one. Compared to the Brother printers, 5 copies would come out one after another. This one spits out 1, then there is like a 10-15 second pause, then another. And it spits out slow. But for us, this didn't cause a single bit of inconvenience.

The other is that the output has a slightly "waxy" appearance. If you remember when color copiers first appeared at copy centers, they had that waxy, shiny appearance. It's not as bad as those old days, but if you're printing promotional things like flyers or something like that, I don't know if it would cut the mustard. There is a slight sheen. Maybe I'm exaggerating it. For us, again no problem whatsoever.

I'm almost tempted to buy another for backup. With my personal horror story with the Brother printers, and what I've read here with HP, I'm thrilled I finally found something I don't have to mess with and spend ridiculous amounts of money on.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2016
Just finish setting this printer up. Tried to set up wifi, but it didn't work as expected. I had to install it with the USB cord first. Then I went back and installed the WiFi option. I still had to install it manually because my laptop wouldn't find the device. I had to enter the port and the ip address lol...What!? I ended up getting the ip address from the dell print app on my phone (this app worked seamlessly btw)...I guessed the port number as 1 and voilá the install completed! I tried printing and of course it didn't print...but thank Bill Gates for "troubleshooting" intelligence...I clicked it...it figured out that the printer hadn't been shared with the network and now, finally...after 1 1/2 hours...I can print wirelessly from my laptop! It prints beautifully AND I don't have to deal with clogged ink jets because I don't use my printer often enough. I think the toner that came with the printer will last me a couple years cuz I mainly use it at tax time and to print random shipping labels...Life is Good! Lol
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2014
Print quality is good. I have an HP P1102W monochrome and am replacing it with this Dell. It is only slightly bigger in both length and width than the HP P1102W, so it takes up about the same amount of cabinet space and gives me a color option without having to have an additional inkjet device. With the paper output extension unfolded, it takes up about 3 more inches in height than the HP P1102W, but the printer can easily be used for smaller print jobs without the paper output extension being used. It has a priority sheet feeder which fully recesses into the printer easily which is useful for envelope printing, and envelope printing is pretty easy and on par with the HP1102W. When folded up as in the picture, the paper tray is full enclosed, so there are no additional accessories which need to be stored outside the printer. Manual duplexing is an option; however, the intermediate step requires using the printer panel as opposed to either the printer panel or the software. That's a minor issue, and I still like the printer and print quality overall. Wired and wireless connections were easy to set up on my Windows 7 64-bit system. Shipping was truly excellent - I placed the order at 9:00 am and received it by 5:00 pm the next day using the standard shipping option (in other words, shipping was better than amazon prime). I opted for this model instead of the C1660W because of the paper handling/bypass tray options and the higher-capacity toner cartridges available for this model.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse