Industrial Deals HPC Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



on November 20, 2014
only 4 stars, as i haven't had occasion to wear it during heavy rain. i assume it will perform as admirably as it has in moderate rain, but once i test it, i may revise to five stars.

i say it runs a bit big, but that is more a reflection of the clothing industry in general, where sizes are all over the place, and i expected it to run small. it did not, it is as a 2XLT should be (IMO).

i want to be able to layer, as i work outdoors through (CT) november, and this gives me all the room i need (I am 6ft4, 260lbs, barrel chest, big arms)

i would rate it as medium light. i was hoping for something lighter, but that is more a result of me being in a hurry to get a rain jacket and not reading the description thoroughly. it's a tad heavy for new england summer.

zero complaints, but not tested enough for 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 27, 2014
this jacket is light weight and very well made. its just a little longer than I thought it would be but that's ok. there is also just enough room in it for layering if I need to. plus I also like how it will pack into its own (on the left inside of the jacket) pocket. the one thing I don't like about the jacket is how the hood is suppose to roll up inside the jacket when not in use, it just looks sloppy. I wish that the hood could have been made to fit into its own collar but then again that would have defeated the usability of the hood. I haven't had a chance to try it out in the rain or snow yet but I might get the chance this weekend, I will update when I do...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 27, 2012
I ordered this for my 6' 4" 180 pound son in an Large Tall. It is a real nice jacket - I think it would work great - only it runs VERY big. Way too big for my son. He really needs a Medium Tall in this jacket, but they don't make it in that size. Unfortunately I am returning the jacket. Go ahead and order it, but beware of the sizing!
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 15, 2014
Well I ordered the two tone black and grey, they sent the all black. I ordered 2XLT but wanted 3XLT which they didn't have. They however sent me a 3XLT despite telling me they didn't have that size any longer. In any event the jacket fits great, you stay dry, you don't feel like you're wearing a plastic bag. The product I give 5 stars the company selling it well because it all turned out well I can't be too hard on them but it sure makes you wonder did somebody get the two tone 2XLT that I ordered and are very disappointed now?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 18, 2014
I bought this as a casual, everyday rain jacket, even if we hardly ever get rain in Austin. I am 6'4" man with a freakishly long torso and as such am thrilled when I find tall sizing for items I like. This jacket has not disappointed. It continues the Columbia legacy of highly wearable and durable. I haven't noticed any issues with sweatiness or such, but haven't used it for hiking or running at all. The fit is superb and color...dashing if I do say so myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 10, 2014
Man I lucked out. I have slightly longer arms and I wanted the hem to go below my belt line for when I ride my bike in the rain. Ordering the tall was just the ticket. It fits really well and has enough room for a warm layer underneath, yet doesn't look weird over a t-shirt. It has done a good job of keeping me dry and I've owned it for a couple years now. It's worked as well as the Patagonia that cost cost twice as much, plus I like this one better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 30, 2014
I purchased this rain jacket to replace one that was several years old that had begun to shed white specks in the washer on other items. This jacket is very light but feels warm and the wind does not blow through it. I hope the omnitech feature is just Gore-Tex with a new name. I cant comment about the waterproof features until it rains and I can put it on and run around in it to test it. But the price was right and the quality of Columbia clothing is purported to be very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 10, 2014
The description said "2X" for size and it is that. I'm 6'2" and the sleeves are just a touch long, but I expected them to be with the 2X size. It's good to have them a bit long for walking in a pouring rain where I live in the Pacific NW, US.
I wanted the rain shell to be a little large to fit over an under jacket, if I want the added warmth. This shell is warm enough by itself until the temp drops to below 45 degrees or so.
Other reviews here mentioned that this shell breathes well without having sweat build up on your shoulders and arms. They were right, at least by my experience so far. It breathes well without sweaty shoulders. And it does its job of keeping out the water from rains. It's light enough to not be bulky of stiff in the arms.
I'm happy with my purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 29, 2011
I got this jacket as rain-gear for camping - it's lightweight, packs into it's own pocket (doubles as a camping pillow when dry!) and used it twice for rain outside. With a light sweater under it, this coat kept me dry and warm even in 35F weather (I'm a girl who tends to get cold very easily). Outside pockets are warm and zip against the rain; inside pocket is deep and secure (velcro closure). Top outer pocket is handy for ID or cash / credit cards. Adjustable velcro on the sleeves and drawstring at hood and at bottom hem let you adjust the coat to fit it any way you like. This is my new holy grail throw-on jacket - it's light enough to use in the spring and summer (has breathable inner lining), but also is warm enough to layer and use in fall and winter. My partner said, "We should use that when we go skiing" - it would work great for that too. Secure front zipper also has snap closures to cover against the rain. Great jacket! SO worth the money, and half as expensive as other jackets! Very glad I got it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 26, 2013
This jacket works great, its light weight, semi breathable (wind doesn't penetrate but seems to let body heat out pretty well). It definitely runs a little on the loose side vs columbia's other products and the reason is for layering. Its cold and raining here today (winter storm Boreas hitting the east coast) and I wore this jacket over my Columbia Mens Tall Ascender 2 Softshell (also 3xl Tall)and the combo works great.

User specs
Height 6'8"
Build : muscular with an average american gut and big legs (former powerlifter)
Shirt sleeves 38-39
Shirt Neck 18 1/2-19
Weight 350lbs
Waist (jeans) 42-44
Inseam 36

I wear size 3XL Tall shirts, coats and jackets and all of Columbias gear fits me just right so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here