Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition $79.99. Limited-time offer. Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 27, 2012
I ordered this for my 6' 4" 180 pound son in an Large Tall. It is a real nice jacket - I think it would work great - only it runs VERY big. Way too big for my son. He really needs a Medium Tall in this jacket, but they don't make it in that size. Unfortunately I am returning the jacket. Go ahead and order it, but beware of the sizing!
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
only 4 stars, as i haven't had occasion to wear it during heavy rain. i assume it will perform as admirably as it has in moderate rain, but once i test it, i may revise to five stars.

i say it runs a bit big, but that is more a reflection of the clothing industry in general, where sizes are all over the place, and i expected it to run small. it did not, it is as a 2XLT should be (IMO).

i want to be able to layer, as i work outdoors through (CT) november, and this gives me all the room i need (I am 6ft4, 260lbs, barrel chest, big arms)

i would rate it as medium light. i was hoping for something lighter, but that is more a result of me being in a hurry to get a rain jacket and not reading the description thoroughly. it's a tad heavy for new england summer.

zero complaints, but not tested enough for 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
The description said "2X" for size and it is that. I'm 6'2" and the sleeves are just a touch long, but I expected them to be with the 2X size. It's good to have them a bit long for walking in a pouring rain where I live in the Pacific NW, US.
I wanted the rain shell to be a little large to fit over an under jacket, if I want the added warmth. This shell is warm enough by itself until the temp drops to below 45 degrees or so.
Other reviews here mentioned that this shell breathes well without having sweat build up on your shoulders and arms. They were right, at least by my experience so far. It breathes well without sweaty shoulders. And it does its job of keeping out the water from rains. It's light enough to not be bulky of stiff in the arms.
I'm happy with my purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
This jacket works great, its light weight, semi breathable (wind doesn't penetrate but seems to let body heat out pretty well). It definitely runs a little on the loose side vs columbia's other products and the reason is for layering. Its cold and raining here today (winter storm Boreas hitting the east coast) and I wore this jacket over my Columbia Mens Tall Ascender 2 Softshell (also 3xl Tall)and the combo works great.

User specs
Height 6'8"
Build : muscular with an average american gut and big legs (former powerlifter)
Shirt sleeves 38-39
Shirt Neck 18 1/2-19
Weight 350lbs
Waist (jeans) 42-44
Inseam 36

I wear size 3XL Tall shirts, coats and jackets and all of Columbias gear fits me just right so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2015
I have had this jacket for over a year, and if I were to rate it on all performance up until yesterday, I would give this jacket a 5* rating, it is a great rain coat. However, yesterday, the metal holding the zipper tab broke from the jacket rendering it pretty much useless. According to Columbia's web site I may be able to get it repaired if I am willing to ship it (at my cost) to them for evaluation. I will likely opt to get it repaired locally as the repair cost are likely to be similar to the shipping costs.

TLDR; great jacket, 5* reduced down to 3* for cheap metal used on the zipper resulting in the zipper breaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2013
I'm 6'5'', not chubby and have pretty long arms. That's why I chose size X-Large/Tall.
It fits ideally for me.

I tested jacket in the bath room by taking a shower. I was pretty amazed watching how water drops bouncing off the material like rubber balls from concrete floor. Definitely, Omni-Tech is 100% waterproof.

On the other hand I didn't get sweat in it and felt no any other discomfort. Yeah, Omni-Tech is pretty breathable.

The last, but not the least, Omni-Tech feels like more light, soft and flexible comparing to Gore_Tex.
Not sure about durability, I didn't wear it enough to have an opinion.

I would strongly recommend Columbia, it's my favorite!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
I've tried a lot of jackets that are supposed to be light and breathable while being good raincoats. None of them were - but THIS one is.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
I have looked for a long time for a jacket that fits as well as this one. I have jackets which fit me well from three of the big outdoor fitters bought long ago so I thought I would not have a problem finding another. Was I wrong! After trying on three iterations from those companies, none of which fit anything like their older products, I was giving up hope. My daughter suggested Amazon and there on the Columbia page was a jacket that looked like it might fit the bill. And it did! I probably should buy three more but then I don't buy green bananas anymore being of an age so I will just wear this one out and sing the praises of Columbia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2014
this jacket is light weight and very well made. its just a little longer than I thought it would be but that's ok. there is also just enough room in it for layering if I need to. plus I also like how it will pack into its own (on the left inside of the jacket) pocket. the one thing I don't like about the jacket is how the hood is suppose to roll up inside the jacket when not in use, it just looks sloppy. I wish that the hood could have been made to fit into its own collar but then again that would have defeated the usability of the hood. I haven't had a chance to try it out in the rain or snow yet but I might get the chance this weekend, I will update when I do...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2014
Man I lucked out. I have slightly longer arms and I wanted the hem to go below my belt line for when I ride my bike in the rain. Ordering the tall was just the ticket. It fits really well and has enough room for a warm layer underneath, yet doesn't look weird over a t-shirt. It has done a good job of keeping me dry and I've owned it for a couple years now. It's worked as well as the Patagonia that cost cost twice as much, plus I like this one better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here