Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning LastTycoon LastTycoon LastTycoon  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,211 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,263 reviews
on June 25, 2011
I bought this item for the initial purpose of spending a week in June in the northern wilderness areas of Boundary Waters/Quetico. I've been making an annual trek for over 10 years and have been getting by using inexpensive rain jackets in the $30 range (Stearns, Sierra Designs). They worked OK, but were never great. I like quality gear, though I could never really justify the cost of high end brands such as Gore-Tex. Then I saw this jacket in a local store and, for the price, figured I couldn't go wrong trying it. I knew Amazon's customer service would allow a return if it didn't perform as advertised.

After a straight week of battle testing it, I came away incredibly impressed. The timing couldn't have been better since, for the first time in my own experience, it rained every day of my June trip and never got above 65 degrees. I literally never took this off.

In summary, I was 100%, unequivocally:

**DRY** Despite pervasive rain, it never leaked or did anything but shed water the way it was supposed to. The hood design was excellent keeping rain off my face.
**COMFORTABLE** I sweat a lot while portaging. The lightweight material breathes so well. A mesh lining prevents the clammy feeling that other jackets create.
**WARM** The conditions were very windy and cool. Wearing this jacket, in combination with layers underneath, I couldn't have been happier.
**STYLISH** I don't much care how I look in the wilderness. I'm pleased that this jacket would fit right in with my normal clothing back home.
22 comments| 313 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2013
Okay, so I just pulled it out of the packaging...and its on the large side.
I'm a 5'7" guy weighing in at about 200lbs.
I carry a lot of weight in my chest and shoulders. My chest measures about 43-44 inches and my waist at 36.
So, I got the large size based on my chest circumference which looked like the most limiting measurement for me.
Based on the actual fit, I'd say that I could have gone with a medium; easily.
They probably cut these a little larger for layering.
So, fit-wise, I'd say that these are significantly roomier than the size chart measurements.
I'll update the review once I get a chance to test the performance.

Updated 10/9/2013:

Okay, so the large size bothered me enough that I exchanged it for a medium and am very happy I did!
Despite my large chest, I still fits me very well. I can easily put a thick sweater or fleece under this without a problem. So, based on my experience, I'd say, get a size down, from your normal size. The only measurement that really followed Columbia's size chart was the sleeve length.

I've worn it in the rain a few times now and am really impressed with its ability to repel water and breath. It's probably the most comfortable/least clammy-feeling rain jacket I've ever owned.

The buttons on the storm flap hold a little too tight in my opinion, so you should be careful when opening them so you don't rip the material. Despite this, I'd say this is an excellent product.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2014
I can't give these five stars yet because we haven't used them. We had an absolutely horrible vacation last year in Key West. I am a native Floridian and I have never seen it rain anywhere in Florida for seven straight days, and have never seen that amount of rain in the Keys. Before we went on vacation this year I purchased these as extra insurance. We bought them big, one size up for both of us, so that we could keep them the rest of our lives. They were the best insurance we ever bought. We had a beautiful, rain-free vacation in Key West, and then dutifully packed them for our trip to North Carolina in August, where it had been very rainy. We had beautiful, rain-free weather there until the morning we left. So.............these jackets have done their jobs, and I'm sure we will use them one of these days as I know that all our vacations can't be rain-free. They compress into their own pouch (although it took us forever to figure out how to do it) to a nice, packable 5" x 5" by maybe 1/2" thick square, so that's a plus. I'm sure we'll get a chance to use these for years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2015
I was expecting to use the jacket much more than the use I have given to it, becuase in 2014 we didn't had as much rain as expected in Costa Rica.

However, I found out that this isn't something to use every time it rains. It is an outdoor kind of jacket, not for a city usage.

For example, when going to a restaurant or office, they usually have umbrella storage areas or coat hanging areas, but no place for this kind of rain jackets.

Also, if you go to the car in a parking lot, just taking this jacket off is a mess before entering the car.

So, I think this kind of jackets only works when your house is facing to the street (Because in an apartment or house building you will be dripping water all over the place) and when going to somewhere like a park or when hiking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
I bought this jacket in preparation for a trip to Ireland and Scotland. In doing research and I read that it rains ALL THE TIME over there, so this seemed like a smart purchase. And for the most part, it was:

PROS:
- The jacket is very lightweight, and scrunches up to a very small volume, so it's great for traveling light
- It retains heat, which is particular nice if it's on the chilly side
- It kept me totally dry
- The jacket has pockets all over the place...zipped outside pockets, interior netting pockets, the works

CONS:
- The elastic drawstring for the hood snapped after about ten uses of the jackets. Without it, the hood does not want to stay on. I have a fairly large head, but even so, with a little bit of wind the hood slides right off. That's kind of a big con for me...if you're head it wet, then the whole thing is compromised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
I am a classic medium build, which always seems to mean I have to order Large to get something to fit me. Generally if I order Medium, it is too tight in the chest. And when I order Large the sleeves are too long. Thanks to Amazon Prime's great return policy, I decided to go with Medium and return it if I needed Large.
It fit like a charm.
I do have one question/quibble: the hood, when it's not being used, just hangs there. There is a little strip of velcro on the back of the jacket; and I have a feeling it is meant to hold the hood out of the way. For the life of me, I cannot figure it out. If anyone knows what I'm talking about and has a solution, I'd appreciate hearing about it.
All in all: perfect. I am leaving the East Coast in two weeks to live in Berkeley/San Francisco/East Bay, California; and I have a feel this jacket will go everywhere with me due to the changeable nature of the weather in northern California.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2016
I ordered this rain jacket for work (I'm a videographer) after spending a whole day soaked to the bone on location for a documentary film shoot. I read a lot of positive reviews and this jacket ticked all the boxes for weight, style, and features at a good price point. It arrived in a timely manner and was packaged well with no rips or tears evident, but I was very disappointed as soon as I tried it on because for something that was supposed to keep me dry I was swimming in it (I'm so sorry, but I couldn't help myself). I wear a M in shirts, sweaters, jackets, you name it, and this thing fits like at best a L if not an XL. Perhaps because of that fact, the hood doesn't want to stay up and I am constantly having to pull it forward which is annoying and I find myself leaving it on the coat rack because this isn't 1994 anymore and I like my clothes to fit. Furthermore, I don't find it as breathable as others have in their reviews. Now, I should point out that I live in TN and the rainy season here overlaps with summer most years, but within ten minutes of having this moo moo on I am sweating profusely and can feel the humidity building up inside the coat. To add icing to the crap cake, the zipper started sticking horribly after just four months of infrequent wear! I tried to be frugal and not spend an arm and a leg on a rain jacket, but after this experience I'm just going to bite the bullet and save up for a Patagonia or Arc'teryx.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2013
I prefer rain jackets to umbrellas and I've owned several over the years. Previous jackets had problems - they were not very breathable of ventilated and they tended to feel clammy with short sleeve shirts. This jacket suffers from none of this. It's comfortable to wear for extended periods, feels good inside and out, and manages to be breathable and waterproof. An extra benefit is that it can be stuffed into the breast pocket and clipped to a messenger bag or backpack for carrying when rain is forecasted later in the day or in the afternoon after a morning rain. The only thing I wish it had is a double zipper (one that can unzip from the bottom for sitting). But since it has snaps as well as a zipper, you can always use them instead of the zipper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2014
I took this on a camping trip to the Boundary Waters. We only had light showers, but it held up nicely and packed well. One of my fellow campers has had this exact same rain jacket for a while, and he vouched for its ability to keep out rain.

It doesn't provide much in the way of warmth, but that's preferable. I'd rather layer on clothes under this, as opposed to have a hot rain jacket on a hot day. I was able to use this as a windbreaker as well.

Overall, it feels fairly durable and meets my needs. I don't see the point of buying a more expensive rain jacket after taking this one out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
Being a scouter, we're on outdoor adventures 10-12 times a year. I've carried this lightweight rain jacket with me on numerous backpacking trips and other scouting activities.

Storing: The inner pocket serves as a way to stuff the jacket and store it in roughly a 3x6x6 footprint. When stored in this fashion, a loop is made available that you could then to clip to a backpack or other item with a caribiner.

Breathability/Warmth: So as to not allow water in, there is little breathability - unlike PVC which provides none. If you have to wear it for a good length of time while being active, you will notice the warmth (because your body heat is trapped); however, you may be able to unzip it a bit to allow better air flow and/or lift and shake the bottom of the jacket to do the same. One nice thing is that if you packed light and forgot a coat, you could put this on at night for additional warmth (I had to do this a week back (late spring)when temps dropped 5-10 degrees below avg on one outing).

Rain Usage: I've had to pull out the jacket 6 times now (including use during one downpour). Not once has rain penetrated the jacket.

This jacket may be a bit more pricey than others out there, but the cost has been well worth it. I foresee many more adventures ahead using this jacket. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here