Shop Auto Winter Products Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Dot Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 24, 2013
New Balance doesn't make the style I used to wear, so I bought this one because it seemed to be the closest to what I used to have. I'm very disappointed with the shoe. I've been wearing them for a couple of weeks now, and I thought that would be enough time for the stiffness to work itself out. I was wrong. They're still as stiff as the day I took them out of the box. Also, there's not as much room in the toe as in previous models, so my pinkie toes always hurt by the end of the day. I won't give up on these shoes just yet though; I'm hoping they'll start to feel better soon.
77 comments| 149 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
I rejected these shoes because they were too small. Ordered the same size (13 4E) as I have in the past. NB said I needed to have my foot measured because it wasn't their quality control and sizing that was the reason for the shoe being too small. They went on to say if I had the same size in the past and the new shoe of that size didn't fit it was because the old shoe had stretched out. I did not believe them at the time and ultimately this turned out to be incorrect. The length does not stretch out and the shoe box is a fixed width, the shoe stretches in other ways but not in those areas.

Last week I ordered the MX608 and they fit fine.
22 comments| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2013
All right, this is coming from a guy whose 319 pounds, and climbs hills everyday to go to school, and I must say these shoes are amazing in regards to getting me from A to B in excellent comfort. I ordered these after wearing out my V1 623 shoes to the point where the toe part of the sole has started to separate, and I love the 623 for walking everyday, and for the fact that they actually fit (I have 4E width feet, and wear a size 15. Finding shoes that fit, much less be comfortable is rather difficult), so I decided to give the V2 a go. In this review, I opted for the navy blue shoes.

Shoes arrived on time, and tried em on right away. First thing I noticed was that they seemed lighter than the old V1's, and the second thing I noticed is they seem more rigid in the heel. Third thing I've noticed in the 4 days I've worn them is unlike the V1, which required a week of wear for them to break in properly, the V2s had little break in time (a bit for the toe part to widen a bit). The shoes feel like thay have more padding, are better ventilated, and as a result, I can wear these all day without my dogs barking. Overall, a solid improvement over the V1 623's, and well worth the price. Thanks again, New Balance!
11 comment| 77 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
Extremely disappointed. Bought a pair of these in 2012, and LOVED them. The insoles were finally wearing out so I came back and was so happy to go to my order history and see them still here. Immediately ordered again (May of 2015). Pulled them out of the box and could tell they were different, color was off. Fit was good though, so I started wearing them. Less than 6 months of occasional wearing, and they have started to fall apart. Soles still look new, rest of shoe looks new, but the right one is falling apart at the front like so many of your pictures show yours are doing. Included a pic of the outside of the shoe so you can see the wear on it is not even visible. Just that one spot on the inside front corner that has all of sudden just fallen apart. Very disappointed especially for what I paid for these.

VERY DISAPPOINTED!
review imagereview image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2013
New Balance makes different fits for different feet. The 600 series is good if you want a somewhat flexible sole with extra arch support that limits foot torsion. The tread is good for walking on uneven surfaces but not what I'd call "aggressive." Now, it's not perfect for any one sport, but it's still a great shoe for doing different activities at the gym. The word "Cross-training" is going out of style. *shrug*

The 8.5 2E is a little snugger than the MX623 in white on white. I suspect it's because the suede upper isn't as flexible as the usual leather uppers. All-in-all it's a great sneaker errrr athletic shoe and it has become my new favorite. Plus grey doesn't look as geeky with jeans. LOL!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2017
(I was miles!!) I'm using these as a cross training shoe for gym and walking. I've put a healthy set of hours/miles on these and they do not show any appreciable signs of tread wear or upper deterioration. Padded adequately and sufficient lateral support in the heal, coming from an ex runner.

6/22/17: Revising dramatically my review. The entire sole delaminated spontaneously. It was if there were no adhesive at all, between the upper and sole. I used windshield RTV sealer, to glue the shoe back together. I'm only doing this, because I use these shoes for gym equipment and casual walks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2014
I bought these shoes as my old, American-made New Balance cross trainers were wearing out after 6 years of use. My old shoes are a 10-1/2 W, so I bought the same size of this model. I can say for sure that the New Balance Men's MX623v2 Cross-Training Shoe is much, much tighter in the "toe-box" area, and the length is also much shorter, than my old pair, which fit perfectly out of the box. (I am normally a size 10 EE, when I get a proper fit.) If I had known that they'd be this tight, then I would have ordered an 11 W, a full size larger than what I normally wear. I am returning them, however, which Amazon has made quite easy to do, as I don't trust that the 11 W would fit in the toe box area either. I bought the brown and red, model, which was quite handsome in appearance, but I just couldn't suffer them any more after wearing them for more than an hour. I would only consider these if I had a narrow, flat foot and ordered at least a size larger. I'm quite disappointed with New Balance for selling these and not sizing them correctly.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
I've been wearing New Balance shoes for the past 25 years and they were always the same great shoes no matter which model you buy until now. I read the reviews and people complaining that the shoes look cheap but I didn't believe them based on my past experience. I BELIEVE THEM NOW!!! New Balance has changed I will never buy New Balance shoes again online. Only in a shoe store where I can see them and touch them. I still hard to believe that New Balance has gone this route. A cheap poor quality product.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2014
The new MX623’s from Indonesia are way too small for the marked size.
I have enjoyed both New Balance MX621’s and MX622’s in size 11D. I would rate the old 621 & 622 as 5 star walking sneakers. Both were made in China and lasted a fair amount of time with no real issues. The first thing to go was the linings would just wear out. I used to really liked them.
The new MX623’s are at least one size too small and I could not even start to wear them. Sad to see a pair of New Balance shoes so out of whack size wise.
(I have also just received a pair of New Balance MT710 in 11D and they are the old perfect New Balance fit.)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2015
I have been wearing New Balance for a long time and I must say I am disappointed. They have changed their sizing somehow because these are way too tight to be 10 1/2 4e. I bought these in anticipation of my previous pair wearing out so I did not open them for 3 months after receipt (my bad). Checking other reviews I find several people with the same size problem. They were a good price but I have moved on to another brand with a better fit. Next time I buy shoes through the mail I will try them on as soon as they get here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 39 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here