YED Best kids' books of February Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Beauty & Grooming Book House Cleaning GoldenGlobes GoldenGlobes GoldenGlobes  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Oscar Central in Movies & TV Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
Size: XX-Large|Color: Cinder / Slate Grey|Change
Price:$150.00
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on May 16, 2012
I'd been searching for a lightly insulated, waterproof hooded softshell for a while, and this Marmot model fit the bill exactly. Most of what I found online have the hoods as helmet-compatible which means it's too big and balloon-y over the head for a non-helmeted wearer. When I saw a vid of this being worn, I took the plunge. That was easy since it's at least half as pricey as similarly capable jacket from Arcteryx.

As described, it's fit is athletic. If you have a potbelly, it will nudge you to shed the fat to look good in this jacket and that cannot be a negative. It is about two to three inches longer down the hem than my other softshells and I appreciate that because you get the essential butt coverage that you usually get only from a down parka or long wool coat both of which are not as light or packable.

It shipped in a small box measuring 8x6x4" and was packed tight with no wiggle room which attest to its compressibility. It will occupy little space when stashed in your pack or even a messenger bag.

I haven't really tried it on in the cold since I got this at the tail end of spring and haven't verified earlier reviews of how incredibly warm it is. What I experimented on is its waterproofness, which I did by putting a sleeve under tap; water just beads off and there is no feeling of any moisture at all on the fabric when I touched it afterwards. Though I don't intend to use it as a full-pledged raincoat, there will probably come a time when all I have against sudden rain is this jacket and so I hope the stitches don't let in moisture too.

Overall this is an excellent purchase for me and I look forward to making it pay me back with comfort and security from inclement weather for many years.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2011
I purchased this jacket for a trip to Mt.Rainier that I am taking next month. My review is based on comfort of fit, functionality and quality. The jacket fits great. I am 242lbs and 6'2" and I purchased the Xlarge. When I am wearing the jacket there is enough comfortable space for a base layer and a mid layer. The cuffs are adjustable to seal the wind out and the waist line of the jacket has extra length and draw strings. I stood in the rain for an extended amount of time and this jacket repels water well but is not water proof. The fabric is amazingly comfortable and the jacket is very low weight. As for warmth levels I can't rate that until I take it on the mountain as I live in Texas and it is hot year round here. So far I feel that this jacket was a wise purchase.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
As soft shell jackets go, this one is very light and thin. That means good breathability, but little protection from the elements.

In heavy rain, this jacket leave you soaked to the bone within about 5 to 10 minutes. I had the displeasure of walking to a lecture in a downpour a while back. I was soaked when I arrived, which surprised me a little, because my last soft shell (a North Face Apex - thicker) did a great job with rain. No worries, I don't mind being wet. The problem was that I then froze in the air conditioning while my jacket cooled off next to me. When it was time to leave, I put on a cold wet jacket and was positively uncomfortable.

The breathability means it doesn't actually do the greatest job cutting the wind either. The thinner panels under the arms let a lot of cold air right through. Those panels were one of the reasons I talked myself into this jacket instead of insisting on pit zips as I had promised myself. I find them to be a compromise that isn't particularly great at fulfilling the function of weatherproofing or dumping heat.

Fit: I'm 6'2" and 180(ish) pounds. I ordered a large, and would have sent it back had I not been out of the country at the time. The nice thing is that the sleeves really are long enough and the fabric and cut stretchy and roomy enough to allow for full range of motion, which is rarely the case. That is what this jacket is named for and it fits. On me, the jacket is roomy enough in the torso for layers, but not really in the sleeves. I have a hooded zip fleece that I almost always wear with it. That and a short sleeve ice breaker shirt pretty much maxes it out. If I add in a long sleeve icebreaker shirt, I can stay warm, but the sleeves feel stuffed. My arms aren't exactly huge either, just long. Torso length is right for keeping everything covered while in 85% of bending and stretching.

My Apex was my everyday 3 1/2 season jacket in Seattle, and I loved it until I wore holes in the cuffs. I'm now a student on a budget, so I have to make this purchase last. When I give up and pick my next soft shell, I will go for something thicker, maybe even a hybrid hard shell, with pit zips and probably skip the hood. Maybe if you need a hood, you need a shell.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2012
I am very satisfied with this jacket. I ordered it in brick red and I love the way it looks. This coat has a very cozy fit and you can insolate your body pretty well; you can tighten it at the waist, wrists and neck.

One thing I should note, I wouldn't depend on the jacket alone to keep yourself warm under 35 degree weather, but it is rain/wind proof so it would be a great jacket for layering. Since the jacket has an athletic fit, you might want to buy a size up if you want to use it for layering. I bought a medium and it fits perfecty but there isn't much room for layering because the coat is so snug. I live in Alaska, so I kind of wish I bought a size large so I could layer up but the jacket does exactly as it's advertised and it looks fantastic so that's why I gave it five stars.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2012
Has to be the most multi functional jacket I have ever purchased it breathes well and insulates trapping warm air but allowing moisture to escape! I have tested it in many situations already except heavy rain which I guess you would have a rain shell for that purpose but I stand by the Rom for comfort, functionality, practicality and style it's a winner in my book of adventures!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2012
This is more of a late fall or early spring jacket, but my husband is warm-blooded and hates to be too hot, even in the dead of winter. This jacket fit the bill perfectly. Keeps HIM perfectly warm in temps of about 25 degrees and up (again, he's unusual...I would think for most people it would be upper 30's to low 40's). It's a huge improvement over fleece because it does a gread job of blocking the wind. And unlike other softshell jackets, it is flexible under the arms, and long enough to not ride up when he bends. Not to mention it fits his broad shoulders and long arms perfectly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2013
I saw this go on sale and couldn't resist the chance to buy a 2nd even though my original is only a year old. This jacket is light weight compared to a parka or a wool or leather jacket. It is windproof which means that it can take much colder weather than a traditional shell. I can walk the dogs in 20 degree weather and be happy with this jacket and its integral hood cinched tight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2012
This is the second ROM jacket I've bought, third Marmot jacket. I love the M2 shell. Keeps me warm and dry with just a little bit of breath-ability as well. If you want protection in a wet and windy environment this jacket is just right. Just put another layer inside if it gets real cold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
I chose the jacket because I was looking for a comfortable, warm and water-resist third layer for my trekking adventures. This Marmot jacket is a great option. Sure it keep you dry all the path. As always, the size is perfect!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2013
I bought this jacket for the colder backcountry ski days of Dec/Jan in intermtn Rockies. I wanted a little bit of warmth, not just windblock -- and lots of breathability. I was worried this somewhat heavy softshell/Gore Windstopper would be too sweaty but it has worked great backcountry skiing in temps 15-35f. It did not become sweat-loaded when hiking uphill carrying a pack, even on sunny days. I was surprised as generally I don't create enough body heat for Goretex "breathability" to work. I've used this jacket for 8 ski touring days now.

I am a 5-9 135 lb woman but I bought the Mens Small since wmns sizes are usually too short. The mens small fit great, covers the top of my hips and sleeves are just long enough to retract hands inside if I want to. I am long torso & neck size. The hood cinches nicely to add windblocking warmth when needed. Barely fits over a climbing helmet... probably would not fit well over a large ski helmet.

The jacket is also reasonably warm for the downhill portion of a backcountry ski day. It doesn't block wind completely but offers much more warmth than fleece only. Seems to be fine in wind as long as you are active and moving -- I would say down to 20F. Colder than that (like inactively sitting on a chairlift), I'd throw a puffy jacket over it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here